September 29 Zechariah 4,5,6; Luke 12

Check out our reading plans for easy ways to get started! Grab a friend or 2 and dig in!

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Small beginnings | Nikki Metzger

S~ Do not despise these small beginnings, for the Lord rejoices to see the work begin, to see the plumb line in Zerubbabel’s hand. Zechariah 4:10 (NLT)

O~ This mighty work of rebuilding the Temple is in God’s hands.

A~ This is how the Temple will be rebuilt from Zechariah 4:6,7.  It is not by force nor by strength, but by My Spirit, says the Lord of Heaven’s Armies.  Nothing, not even a mighty mountain, will stand in Zerubbabel’s way.

OH.my.goodness.  Just what I need to hear today!  Because something like getting healthy to me is like a mountain that stands in my way.  Oh, and starting a women’s community group in my messy house, that’s a mountain too!  Well, if you couldn’t just make me throw up now.

Can’t I just live in my own little world and just have a bubble of me, my husband and kids?

And it’s hard to start something new….especially when I have failed so many times at these things before.

But the Lord says, ‘Do not despise these small beginnings, for the Lord REJOICES to see the work begin.’

Oh my goodness!  So everytime I started eating healthier, He rejoiced?  Could I not have a more loving and amazing Father?  I want this getting healthier journey and this community group – two new things – bring my Father glory!

I want EVERYONE to know how special He is!!!  How loved they are by Him!

P~ Dad, I want to please You so much, but You are already tickled pink by me even when I fail.  You already are so proud that nothing I do or don’t do won’t change that.  Right now, You are celebrating and rejoicing that I’m trying something new, even though it has small beginnings?  Like You are the loudest in my cheering section!  I LOVE YOU!!  Thank You!

Integrity | Kim Chipman

S~ The time is coming when everything that is covered up will be revealed, and all that is secret will be made known to all. Whatever you have said in the dark will be heard in the light, and what you have whispered behind closed doors will be shouted from the housetops for all to hear! Luke 12:2-3 (NLT)

O~ Jesus is speaking here. He is warning the crowds about hypocrisy.

A~ Living a life of integrity is clearly the goal walking with You. You want my heart. Ultimately, I answer to You for all of it. I can’t control how others respond and I’m not responsible for anyone else’s heart but my own. I must, however, take Your Word seriously. You hate sin. You hate hypocrisy. you hate pride. I know You see my heart and every secret thought. This can be both incredibly freeing and very sobering. It ALL matters. Not only what I do or don’t do, but why.

P~ I desire to live a life of integrity for You. Focused on You alone. Help me to take each thought captive to obey You (2Cor 10:5). Each thought! I love You!

Trusting And Obeying Extinguishes Fear of People | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ And I say to you, my friends, do not be afraid of those who kill the body, and after that have no more that they can do.  But I will show you whom you should fear: fear Him who, after He has killed, has power to cast into hell; yes, I say to you, fear Him!    Luke 12:4,5 (NKJV)

O~ Notes from my bible:  Fear of opposition or ridicule can weaken our witness for Christ.  Often we cling to peace and comfort, even at the cost of our walk with God.  Jesus reminds us here that we should fear God, who controls eternal, not merely temporal, consequences.  Don’t allow fear of a person or group to keep you from standing up for Christ.  (underlining mine)

A~ This is just another reminder for me to not fear people above God and let fear of conflict or whatever their reaction might be to keep me from saying and doing what God wants me to do or say.

P~ Dear Father, thank you for the reminder that I need to stand on what you show me.  I trust You.

 

His Delight = My Encouragement | Tara Wiley

S~ Don’t be afraid, little flock, because your Father delights to give you the kingdom. Luke 12:32

O~ The instructions in Luke 12 are overwhelmingly convicting. Fulfilling every instruction and, more importantly, the heart and intent behind each instruction, seems virtually impossible. Reading passages like this can make me feel defeated and discouraged if I don’t remember the heart of my Heavenly Father. He delights in giving good gifts to His children. His commands are not burdensome. I John 5:2-3

A~ I John 5:4-5 gives a clue on how to handle these commands that are difficult for us when we look at them from an earthly perspective and struggle not to view them as burdens: For every child of God defeats this evil world, and we achieve this victory through our faith.  And who can win this battle against the world? Only those who believe that Jesus is the Son of God.” This is what I need to remember when Satan tempts me to berate myself in unfruitful self-condemnation.  I will defeat this evil world. I will achieve victory! How? Through my faith. And my faith lies both in the power to become more like Christ through His ongoing work in my heart, and in the overwhelming gift of grace for the times I fail. I’m also given more fuel for this fight from the famous verse in our reading in Zechariah today: Not by might nor by power, but by my Spirit, says the Lord Almighty (Zech 4:6)

P~ Lord, once again I am humbled by just how far I have to go to become truly like You. I’m grateful for Your grace, and so thankful that I do not have to measure up to Your standard by my own power or will. Instead I have the gift of faith and YOUR Spirit to empower me to live beyond my own abilities, to be a little bit more like You each day, with each choice. Lord, help me to make the next right choice to be more Christ-minded in my love, my priorities, my actions. Thank You for giving these glimpses into what it means to love and live like You.

 

Interested in guest posting? Email us at info@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on September 29, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

