September 28 Zechariah 1,2,3; Luke 11

Check out our reading plans for easy ways to get started! Grab a friend or 2 and dig in!

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Too Far | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ But I am very angry with the other nations that enjoy peace and security.  I was only a little angry with my people, but the nations punished them far beyond my intentions.  Zechariah 1:15 (NLT)

O~ God used other nations in the punishment for the sins of his people, but they took it too far.

A~ I think this shows it’s really important when dealing with people and their sins to stay humble and remember our place, and remember God’s place.

P~ Dear Father thank you for your love and that you are watching over us.  Help me stay close to you and not go by my understanding alone when it comes to dealing with others who have sinned against me.  I’m sure I have the potential to take it too far because I’m human, but I don’t want to.  Have your way, Lord.

Just DO IT | Kim Chipman

S~ Jesus replied, “But even more blessed are all who hear the word of God and put it into practice.” Luke 11:28 (NLT)

O~ A woman in the crowd that Jesus was teaching called out “God bless your mother” My study Bible reminds: “Jesus was speaking to people who put extremely high value on family ties. Their genealogies were important guarantees that they were part of God’s chosen people. A man’s value came from his ancestors, and a woman’s value came from the sons she bore.”

A~ But more important than my place in my family? My ancestors? My parents? My children?

My obedience. Put Your Word into practice. Don’t just talk about it, learn it, know it…DO IT. This has nothing to do with anyone else. I can’t pass off blame, can’t ride anyone’s coat tails. I must put it into practice with a genuine, humble heart.

P~ Lord, help me to obey! I love You!

Interested in guest posting? Email us at info@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on September 28, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

