September 27 Haggai 1,2; Psalms 129; Luke 10

Check out our reading plans for easy ways to get started! Grab a friend or 2 and dig in!

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Sparked Enthusiasm | Tara Wiley

S~ So the Lord sparked the enthusiasm of Zerubbabel son of Shealtiel, governor of Judah, and the enthusiasm of Jeshua son of Jehozadak, the high priest, and the enthusiasm of the whole remnant of God’s people. They began to work on the house of their God, the Lord of Heaven’s Armies. Haggai 1:14

O~ I love that one of God’s character traits is Encourager. I love the phrase the translators chose here: He sparked their enthusiasm. When God calls His people to action, He stirs us up inside, lights a fire in us, and we cannot keep still!

If I look at this verse by itself I’m tempted to think of a great coach inspiring his team to action, with a strong motivational speech delivered against a powerful soundtrack, exciting his team to action by recounting all of their strengths. But God’s way was so different. He didn’t puff up His people with platitudes and motivational speeches about their strength and their ability. In fact, in classic upside-down form, He did quite the opposite:

  1. He confronted His people and made them see their sin and its consequences (vv 1-6).
  2. He challenged them to ‘give careful thought to their ways’ and show true repentance through life-changing perspective and action (vv 7-11).
  3. He responded to their confession and change of heart by empowering them to a new, productive way of life with the promise of His presence (vv 13-15).

What a picture of what Christ does when He comes in and redeems a life! God’s perfect plan, woven through all of Scripture from beginning to end: Salvation. Redemption. New Life. Fruitfulness for His Glory.

A~ When I do not resist the Holy Spirit, He leads me into a place of profound spiritual productivity. The things He’s stirred up in me are impossible to do on my own but with God’s perspective and motivation I can accomplish the impossible on His behalf! Not because I am so capable, but because of all He has done for me. In humility, I can recognize where I have been and where He has taken me through His saving grace. Humanism says I can do anything. Christ-centered thinking says, He has done everything, and He gives me the power to do great things! What a better motivation, for my own strengths are limited, but His are limitless.

P~ Oh, I love it when You peel back the curtain in the middle of obscure little texts to show off Your perfect plan. You show up right here in Haggai, offering a picture of what You do now in us through Christ. May I never forget what You have saved me from! May I always be sensitive to Your Spirit. Spark enthusiasm in me, Lord, for what You have called me to do. You called these people in this passage to a specific task, and united them in purpose from the highest leader to the commoner. Show me the specific task You have for me in this season, and keep me in the center of Your will.

Child of God | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ But don’t rejoice just because evil spirits obey you; rejoice because your names are registered as citizens of heavens.  Luke 10:20 (NLT)

O~ The disciples were casting out demons and they joyfully reported to Jesus what they had done in his name.  Jesus reminded them that, even though this is great that they have this authority, their citizenship in heaven is even greater.

A~ This verse encouraged me today.  I needed this reminder to not be so caught up in what I’m doing for God that I forget I’m his child and he loves me SO MUCH! I needed this reminder that he loves me because he loves me!

P~ Dear Father, thank you. ❤

Have Mercy! | Kelley Deases

S~ “Which of these three do you think was a neighbor to the man who fell into the hands of robbers?” The expert in the law replied, “The one who had mercy on him.”  Jesus told him, “Go and do likewise.”  Luke 10:36-37 (NIV)

O~ Jesus challenged the expectations of this so-called “expert in the law” by lauding the character in the story he would have naturally looked down upon and by chiding the ones with position and status in the church.  In God’s estimation, it is not the job we hold, the family we are born into, or the esteem the world gives a person (just look at some of our “heroes” coming out of Hollywood?!?), but it is about the heart and what we do when presented with someone else’s need.

A~ I take my son’s friend and classmate along with us to kids church on Wednesday nights and part of our afternoon routine is working on their memory verse.  The one I helped them with last night was one I have been working on memorizing for myself.  “And do not forget to do good and to share with others, for with such sacrifice God is pleased.”  Hebrews 13:16.

I was surprised by what I encountered at church last night.  But at the same time I was heartened to realize how God had begun to prepare me for it.  Yesterday morning, on my way to work, I listened to Family Life Today on the radio, and they were discussing the issue of domestic violence.  Later that same day, at kids church, I came face to face with the issue, literally.  I serve as the “prayer partner,” which means, while the leaders are busy teaching their classes and trying to get through their curriculum for the evening, I make myself available to the students (and even sometimes grownups) who may need to talk privately with someone over a concern on their heart.  This is how I came to speak to a little girl in the third grade, who shared with me how her daddy had gone to jail (again!) because he threw her stepmom down the stairs.  After hearing this heart-wrenching account and praying with this sweet little one, I began to process through just the general idea of what I had just heard with a fellow volunteer. This prompted her to open up and share with me about a decade-long abusive relationship she had been in and ultimately escaped from.  All I could do, with either young lady who had shared her pain with me, was listen, pray, and show mercy.

P~ Father, I am once again reminded we live in a fallen and broken world full of fallen and broken people.  Help me carry Your light into dark spots, even if that only means to listen without judgment, give a warm hug and lift their circumstance before Your throne.  Give each of these sweet girls comfort, Lord, and help her to know she is precious in Your sight!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on September 27, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Kelley, i heard that same broadcast, it really was powerful. I also chime in with Kim, I loved what you wrote today, Tara, that is so cool that God shows up in ALL the books of the Bible, that is one of the reasons this reading plan is so powerful, it stretches us to read and see God in scripture that we might miss if we just we were just hanging out in the 4 gospels.

  2. Tara, thank you! Spoke to my heart today…

Leave a Reply

