September 23 Daniel 11,12; Luke 6

Check out our reading plans for easy ways to get started! Grab a friend or 2 and dig in!

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

True Knowledge and Knowledge of Truth | Michelle Myers

S~ Many people will go here and there to find true knowledge. Daniel 11:4 (NCV)

O~ God is my ONE source for true knowledge, and knowledge of the truth.

A~ I am learning to rely on and trust in Your guidance, in regards to who and what I should/should not be listening to, what I should and should not be doing, and what  the answers are, that You have for me, in regards to who You created me to be, the life You have given to me, and the circumstances You have placed in that life.  You are the only one who knows and sees it all.

P~ Thank you God for Your discernment and guidance.  Please continue to guide me toward true knowledge and knowledge of the truth.

Blessings and Curses | Robin Laney

S~ Looking at his disciples, he said:“Blessed are you who are poor, for yours is the kingdom of God…. “But woe to you who are rich, for you have already received your comfort.” Luke 6:20,24 (NIV)

O~ Jesus is speaking to his disciples and contrasting a life lived fully for Christ with one lived for self-fulfillment here on earth. One leads to joy and eternal rewards and one leads to death and separation from God.

A~ A bird in the hand is worth more than two in a bush. This world entices us with all it has to ‘offer.’ More of everything – more fun, more money, more love. Unfortunately, the offerings are oh, so temporary and empty. They give us immediate gratification, costing us way more than their worth in the here and now and costing us dearly for eternity. We are told that we have this one life to live and so we should grab from it as much as we can, YOLO!

What Jesus taught was that living fully for him would have eternal rewards and though in the world’s eyes it might seem that we are missing out, we are actually blessed. True happiness, contentment and joy come from living for the Lord. When we pour ourselves out for God and for others, there is abundant life now and forever in His presence. Living for the things of this world seem to comfort us, feed us, entertain us, and boost our egos but the feelings of security, fullness, and happiness are only an illusion. There is no true joy or peace or love that comes from anything this world has to offer. It is a counterfeit blessedness, a curse.

This life is not all there is. We have eternal life and it is either lived in God’s presence or out of it. There is no in between. This world is not my home and there is nothing created that satisfies like the Creator. The hardships and tragedies of this life can’t diminish the Hope I have in Jesus and the life to come that He has promised. I will fight hard so that the shiny things of this world do not take my focus off of the prize.

P~ Lord, thank you for Your promises and Your faithfulness. Take hold of my chin and turn my eyes back to You whenever they start to stray, distracted by the trappings of this world. Remind me constantly what really matters (the salvation of all) and give me an eternal perspective when the circumstances of this life start to drag me under. Remind me of the rewards that await me and how the ‘treasures’ of this world pale in comparison to Your glorious riches.

Identified With The Son of Man | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ God blesses you  who are hated and excluded and mocked and cursed because you are identified with the Son of Man.  When that happens, rejoice!  Yes, leap for joy!  For a great reward awaits you in heaven.  Luke 6:22, 23a  (NLT)

O & A~ I know I have learned to shy away and retreat, feeling bad when I am excluded or made fun of because of my faith.  I have learned to not talk about my faith around some people because of their possible reactions.   But just as I learned that, I ask that you help me learn this way instead.  You say to rejoice and leap for joy. ☺

P~ Heavenly Father, help me in this area.  Help me learn to leave it with you, and not be afraid to share my faith because of people’s reactions.  Please forgive me for the times I was more concerned with what others think of me than what you think of me.  Thank you for your love.  I love you.

Every Single One of Us | Jill Terry

S~ But love your enemies, and do good, and lend, expecting nothing in return; and your reward will be great, and you will be sons of the Most High; for He Himself is kind to ungrateful and evil men. Luke 6:35 (NAS)

O~ The Beatitudes, the list of Christian qualities I strive to attain. I fail miserably most of the time. But this verse shows me that Jesus loved even those who cursed and belittled Him. I must do the same. I have to show Jesus even or maybe especially to those who don’t like me or like my beliefs.

A~ I have two relationships in my life that I greatly struggle with showing Christ’s love to them. Jesus loves them even though they are difficult and may not believe in Him. If Jesus loves them, than I must show His love to them through our interactions with each other.

One of these people, I have learned I must pray continuously while in interaction with her and the many prayers have helped tremendously. I still slip up, but it’s better than just a few months ago. The other person is much more difficult to love, more difficult to be nice too and I must constantly remind myself to show the love of Jesus to him. I struggle so much with this one person. I just have to keep reminding myself Jesus loves this person so very much. Jesus died for him too even though he doesn’t believe the truth of the gospel (yet).

P~ Lord Jesus, please help me to show Your love through my interactions with these two people in my life and with anyone else I encounter. In Your name I pray, Amen.

I Need to Talk my Walk! | Joni Tyner

S~ What you say flows from what is in your heart.  Luke 6:45 (NLT)

O~ Jesus is teaching about our behavior. Many Christians will use the term “fruit”—the tangible results of a professing Christian. In Luke 6:43, He says, “A good tree can’t produce bad fruit, and a bad tree can’t produce good fruit.” And (v. 44)  “A tree is identified by its fruit.”

A~ The application to this scripture is simple. My words are a reflection of the condition of my heart.  Period.   And I have loooooots of words come out of my mouth.  I’ve said to my kids before, “Is there a filter between your brain and your mouth?”  Well, honestly, I would hope I wouldn’t need a “filter”. I would hope that genuine compassion would flow from my mouth.  I need to have a constant check that my heart stays aligned with Jesus and that I live and SPEAK consistent with that standard.  Specifically, I need to

-not gossip!!

-eliminate profanity

– decrease criticism

-verbally thank others

-Practice forgiveness

-have humility and apologize quickly.

P~ Dear Lord, I do love You and have a compassionate heart for people. I pray my words reflect that belief.  I pray I am the same person with everyone, whether I be at work, out with friends or serving at church. Please help me to grow in this area.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on September 23, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. That is really what motivates me, knowing He loves me, not because I’m suppose to follow a bunch of rules. Thanks for sharing today.

  2. Joni, I have a ‘should’ for your list and it’s the one that makes all of the others come easily:

    – know and believe and accept and know and know and know, deep in my heart,
    how deeply and
    fully and
    extravagantly and
    graciously and
    mercifully
    God loves me. No matter what. 🙂

    Love you!

Leave a Reply

