September 22 Daniel 9,10; Psalms 123; Luke 5

Check out our reading plans for easy ways to get started! Grab a friend or 2 and dig in!

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Attentively Watching | Luisa Penaherrera

S~  We look to the Lord our God for his mercy, just as servants keep their eyes on their master, as a slave girl watches her mistress for the slightest signal. Psalms 123:2 (NLT)

O~  The servant girl is watching attentively, expectantly to her mistress.  The psalmist uses this description to show how he is looking to God for his mercy.

A~  To be so in tuned to you, God, to your Holy Spirit’s leading is where I want to be.

P~  Dear Father, please remind me to be quiet before you, to be attentive and expectant of your voice.  Thank you for your love.

Depending on and Seeing Your Mercy | Michelle Myers

S~ Slaves depend on their masters, and a female servant depends on her mistress.  In the same way, we depend on the LORD our God; we wait for him to show us mercy. Psalm 123:2 (NCV)

O/A~ The other day, I was talking with a friend who is struggling with some chronic health issues and having a hard time getting everything she is used to getting done, done.  She believes that God will heal her.  I hope He does.  Just as I was getting ready to offer to help her with some things, I actually got this feeling that I was not supposed to help her.  I thought that it was odd, because doesn’t God want us to help and serve others?  Then, God showed me that this may or may not be for “just a season” in her life.  Either way, it wasn’t so much about the tasks she could or could not complete or even about her complete healing, but about accepting His plan, and depending on Him to get her and her family through it, in His way and on His terms.  It is about acceptance of His plan and Him being in control.

Oh, God, how many times have I struggled in the same manner with so many different things?  I thought that I knew what You wanted and how You were going to work some things out.  Some of it You did, 100% complete restoration and healing.  Most of it didn’t happen on my terms, in my timing, etc.; and because of that, it took me awhile to realize that You had completely healed it.  The fear and anxiety associated with it, just went away, because it had not been an issue for so long.  There are some other areas, in which You have made things better, more bearable, and shown me how to function; without them being completely healed. There are some things that you just completely left alone, left broken, or completely shut the door on.

I would have liked to see my relationship with my mother healed.  You shut the door on it.  After years of suffering from chronic sinus infections, I just accepted (not happily) that they would just be something I would have to live with. Testing showed multiple allergies.  Shots to the allergies after five years, proved to be of little help and I ended up on one antibiotic after another, time and time again.  Since I quit teaching, I have not had a sinus infection.  I still have allergies.  Yet, your mercy came in the form of getting me out of an environment that bred bacteria, so my immune system was always in overdrive trying to fight something off.  You showed me better ways to manage them.  Some days, Your mercy is a “symptom free day” and some days, it is a “still have a headache and am a little stuffy day”, but can I can function on some level, am not getting worse, and don’t need to take medication that eventually will leave me resistant to its healing power.  It has been the same with my back pain.  I have not been cured of it.  Some days are better than others.  You have shown me.  You have provided me with the resources to ease and manage the pain. It does not keep me from functioning on a day to day basis, like it did at one time.

I could go on and on about how I have often missed Your mercy, because I have expected it to come in the shape and form that I wanted it to.  Much of the time this involved complete healing, perfection, my chore list for the day, my spending plan and budget, my vacation plans, the image I had for my marriage, the vision I had for my children, etc.  I have found freedom in acceptance and surrender.  It has opened my eyes to Your mercy in various ways, shapes, and forms.  This “awakening” has brought about peace and gratitude.

P~ Thank you God for YOUR mercy.  Please continue to help me see it.  In a culture that values perfection over progress, outer beauty over inner beauty; and tells us we can have, should have, and deserve to have it all and do it all; it can sometimes be hard to see.  Please help my children see it.  Especially, my oldest daughter, who struggles with seeing the good in and about herself.  She isn’t built with a petite, small figure.  Her hair isn’t blond or straight.  We live in a very affluent area, and she doesn’t get some of the things she sees others getting.  I often find her struggling to want to do things that don’t fit in well with who You created her to be.  Help her see Your mercy, in what she does have physically, characteristically, and materialistically.  Because, even if we did have the resources for some things, our value system has changed and we wouldn’t necessarily be providing her with them.  Please help her accept and surrender to who You created her to be.  And, please shut the mouths of those, who are eagerly there to point out, who and what she is not and what she does not have.  Help her see, in a merciful way, the shallowness of their character and that it has nothing to do with the quality of hers.

Habitual Turning | Kelley Deases

S~ Jut as it is written in the Law of Moses, all this disaster has come upon us, yet we have not sought the favor of the Lord our God by turning from our sins and giving attention to your truth.  Daniel 9:13 (NIV)

O~  In Moses’ day, in Daniel’s day, and in ours.  Even in the face of calamity, we fail to seek God’s favor by turning from sin and turning to Your truth.  God has the anecdote to what ails us, yet we persist in digging in our heels and going it alone.

A~  I am just getting back into a more consistent routine of sitting with God every morning, reading His Word, and journaling about its application to my life. When I get out of that routine, I begin to listen to the wrong voices telling me what to do and how to live — my own, friends, TV commercials, political pundits.  How quickly and easily I can go astray.  The only way back to centeredness is by sitting with, digesting, mulling over and considering the application of God’s truth in my circumstance.

P~  Father, As I have prayed many times, sustain my habit of sitting with You daily.  More than that, give me such a hunger and thirst for Your Presence and Your guiding truth that I never want to neglect it.

Deeper | Kim Chipman

S~ When he had finished speaking, he said to Simon, “Now go out where it is deeper, and let down your nets to catch some fish.” Luke 5:4 (NLT)

O~ Jesus was preaching on the shore of the Sea of Galilee. The fishermen had come in, and hadn’t caught anything. Jesus told them to go out deeper.

A~ Deeper. Go out where it’s deeper. This is Your same request to me. Go out where it’s deeper. There are fish out there.

P~ Help me to not be afraid. Grow my trust. I love You.

My sin | Nikki Metzger

S~ When Simon Peter realized what had happened, he fell to his knees before Jesus and said, “Oh, Lord, please leave me – I’m too much of a sinner to be around You.” Luke 5:8 (NLT)

O~ This reminds me of Isaiah 6:5 when Isaiah saw the Lord on His throne:
Then I said, “It’s all over! I am doomed, for I am a sinful man.  I have filthy lips.  Yet I have seen the King, the Lord of Heaven’s Armies.”

A~ When both Peter and Isaiah meet the Lord for the first time, they have the same reaction.  Both are so aware of their sin in the presence of the Most High God. Most days I walk into the throne room of the Most High God, lay down my heart’s desires and leave.  I don’t even think twice about the sin that I bring in. Yet when Peter and Isaiah really saw Him, it was complete horror at their own sin.  I can honestly say that I don’t see my sin as grievous as Paul and Isaiah.  Which leads me to my next and very tough question.  Am I really walking into the Lord’s presence then?

P~ Father, please forgive me!  Unveil my eyes to see my sin as You do! In Jesus’ Name I pray!

Interested in guest posting? Email us at info@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on September 22, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

