September 14 Ezekiel 36,37; Psalms 110; Revelation 19

Check out our reading plans for easy ways to get started! Grab a friend or 2 and dig in!

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Restoration | Michelle Myers

S~ Then those nations still around you will know that I, the LORD, have rebuilt what was destroyed and have planted what was empty.  I, the LORD, have spoken, and I will do it. Ezekiel 36:36 (NCV)

O/A~ I love a good come back story.  Nothing shows YOUR power, greatness, or love more than watching YOU restore something that has been destroyed, change someone who has been written off as hopeless, or coming through in a situation that seemed too great to conquer.

The fleeing refugees (Christian or not), the persecuted Christians, the innocent children, the sex trafficked young girls…..all the people…….who have suffered one way or another as a result of the evil perpetrated by ISIS, has been on my mind and weighing heavily on my heart.  I don’t have ANY answers.  The problem seems way beyond my limited capacity to make any significant impact.  Yet, I see YOU in the there, working through wealthy and much more capable business men and other governments trying to do what they can to help those poor people.  One even talked about and reached out to other governments in regards to buying an island, and getting them re-established with jobs, building infrastructure, etc.

Whatever my part is, whether it be contributing funding to the organization helping the sex trafficked Yazidi women or donating supplies or money to those organizations trying to help provide some sort of basic needs and stabilization for the refugees; please show me.  I understand that we fight evil with good.  Please show me what little part of good I am to do, in what seems to be this overwhelming toxic pool of evil.

P~ Thank you God for the country that I live in.  It is not perfect.  I don’t always agree with the government or the politics.  However, I do recognize that even with all of its imperfections, it could be a lot worse.  It is by YOUR grace, that I don’t have to worry about my husband being beheaded, my children becoming brides and raped at the ages of 12 and 14, or fleeing my home to save my life.  I am no more deserving of these blessings than the next person.  It is very humbling.  Please help me remember, when I am struggling to see beyond this country’s materialistic, greedy, self-entitled, and holier-than-thou culture.  Please help me keep MY perspective, when others have lost theirs.

My Faith in Jesus | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ Then I fell down at his feet to worship him, but he said, “No, don’t worship me. I am a servant of God, just like you and your brothers and sisters who testify about their faith in Jesus.  Worship only God.  For the essence of prophecy is to give a clear witness for Jesus.” Revelation 19:10  (NLT)

O~ Testify about my faith in Jesus…give a clear witness for Jesus.

Testify-serve as evidence or proof of something existing or being the case; confirm, prove, corroborate, substantiate, show, demonstrate, bear witness to

-to talk about or say (something) in an honest and confident way

-to show that something is true or real; to give proof of something

Witness- a person who is present at an event and can say that it happened.

A~ How can I give a clear witness for Jesus? I complicate it, but I think it is by sharing what Jesus has done for me!

P~ Heavenly Father, help me to share what Jesus has done for me.

The Knight in Shining Armour | Joni Tyner

S~ Then I saw heaven opened, and a white horse was standing there. Its rider was named Faithful and True, for he judges fairly and wages a righteous war. Revelation 19:11 (NLT)

O~ John is the writer of Revelation and is having a vision about Heaven.  If you’ve been reading through Revelation the past two weeks, you’ll know that there has been lots battle between good (God) and evil (Satan and his demons).   Revelation 19 shifts direction and talks about God’s victory! Jesus is the rider of this white horse.  Yea!!!!  He has appeared and is going to save the day. (Faithful).  He is going to wage a battle AND WIN against all evil, (I assume past, current and present)

A~ I practically cheered when I got to this part of Revelation!   I was not enjoying reading about the evil of the beast and God’s wrath.  I find it extremely comforting to think of Jesus as an all-powerful, mighty warrior that is going to fight for all of His children.  He is there for the broken people who have struggled with addictions, depression and difficult life circumstances.  He is there for those who have been passed over because they didn’t quite make the cut by worldly standards.   He is there for the disabled and the sick.   And, because He is a personal savior, He is my savior, He is riding to victory for meFor Joni.  He has been faithful to me and now I am going to see all that He has seen and how He will make it right.

I think about some of the movies I’ve watched where in the last scene the good guy comes in and saves the day. The main character is usually tear stained and near hopelessness and looks up and everything changes.  The scripture reminds me of that!! I look up and see that Jesus is there to pick me up and I get to ride with him on that beautiful white horse.  He fights for me!!!   What an absolute thrill to be identified as the precious child of this King and Warrior.  I know this because I have accepted Him as my Lord and I am sealed by Him.  I will have eternity with Him.

P~ Dear Lord,  Thank you for saving me. Thank you for being faithful and caring about all that happens in my life.  I eagerly anticipate the day when we ride together , when I see every wrong in this life made right by Your standard.  Oh, what a glorious day!!

Interested in guest posting? Email us at info@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on September 14, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

