September 10 Lamentations 3,4,5; Revelation 15

Check out our reading plans for easy ways to get started! Grab a friend or 2 and dig in!

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

New Every Morning | Tara Wiley

S~ Yet this I call to mind and therefore I have hope: Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. I say to myself: “The Lord is my portion; therefore I will wait for him.” Lamentations 3:21-24

O/A~ Every morning I read a devotional with the kids from “Thoughts to Make Your Heart Sing” by Sally Lloyd Jones. In a recent entry on the creativity of God she stated, “Fifty thousand cells in your body will die and be replaced all while you read this sentence.”

50,000 new cells: new cytoplasm, new nuclei with new DNA and RNA, new mitochondria… fresh and strong and empowered for work. 50,000 new compassions of our creative God. Do I ever pause to consider what a miracle it is, this single moment of life, with 50,000 opportunities for cancer or death instead being 50,000 offers of new creation?

He is showing me His great love on a grand and microscopic scale right now if I am willing to consider and accept it.

So I am compelled to respond as Jeremiah did: The Lord is my portion; therefore I will wait for Him.

P~ Lord, I’ve had a lot of waiting recently, and it hasn’t been pleasant. Waiting for appointments. Waiting for surgeries. Waiting for pathology reports. Waiting for healing. Yuck. And while I have determined in my mind to trust You, my emotions haven’t always been cooperative. How grateful I am that even when I feel so fragile, You are faithful. While I worry about these few wayward cells, you are faithfully constructing 50,000 new demonstrations of Your love, compassion, and steadfastness – every moment, again and again. Lord, You are my portion, and that portion is so superabundant. Today, as I receive good-news mercies from one doctor and wait for more tests and results from others, I am so encouraged to remember Your moment-by moment faithfulness to me. Truly, you are my portion. I do not need to wait for doctors. I need only to wait for You. Thank You for being a never failing God, regardless of how my circumstances appear or what crazy leaps my emotions take on a daily basis. I.trust.You.

My Hope Is In Him | Jill Terry

S~  But this I call to mind, and therefore I have hope:The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases; his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. “The Lord is my portion,” says my soul, “therefore I will hope in him.” Lamentations 3:21-24 (ESV)

O~ I can always remember the hope I have in Christ. The everlasting goodness of God. Every single day, God is with me. He restores my soul and fills me with hope.

A~ Hope. Sometimes, it seems so futile and so far away. Why did my 7 month old nephew have to die? Why do my sister in law and her husband have to suffer in such a way? Why does my eldest son lead a lifestyle that takes him so far away from God? Why God why? I just do not understand.

But, then I remember that You are always with me even during these times when life just does not make any sense. You offer me hope and assurance that You alone are in utter control. I am trying so hard to remember that in the midst of all of these trials.

P~ Lord, Comfort my soul. I am so weary. Thank you for being my portion and my strength.

We Are Not Consumed | Kelley DeAses

S~ Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail.  They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.  I say to myself, “The Lord is my portion; therefore I will wait for him.”  Lamentations 3:22-24 (NIV)

O/A~ Twice in recent months this passage has been brought to the forefront for me.  Back in February, a former camp counselor and youth leader of mine from years ago, who now, along with his wife, serve as missionaries in Egypt and throughout the Middle East, cited these verses in a message they delivered when they were stateside recently and spoke at our church in Omaha.  When this passage is held up against the real and present threats faced by Christians in that part of the globe, Jeremiah’s words take on an even more profound meaning.  To recognize God’s compassion in the middle of such a hostile region takes great faith indeed.

And then just a couple weeks ago, while teaching SOAP in an adult Sunday school class at church, I asked everyone what their favorite Scripture verse was.  One married couple responded by saying they recite these verses from Lamentations together every evening at the dinner table.  I love the picture of the two of them united in speaking God’s truth, especially this passage which speaks of hope amid desperate times.  That picture became even sweeter in my mind when I later learned this couple had suffered through losing a son in a car accident some years ago.  But still they find their God faithful and full of compassion.  Still they wait upon the Lord.

P~ Thank You, Lord, for giving me these and so many other examples of what it looks like to really walk out this journey of faith.  It is not a road free of pain and suffering, but it is a place where we can find unexplainable hope and peace even while we are in the thick of it.

Wonderfully Good | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ The Lord is wonderfully good to those who wait for him and seek him. Lamentations 3:25 (NLT)

O & A~  This verse reminds me to continue waiting on you and seeking you.  I am praying about a certain situation: what is my role, how does God want me to help, praying for my heart and attitude.  I have been getting bits and pieces from people that I’ve asked for guidance.  I am assured here that you will answer, that waiting on you and seeking you is right where I need to be.

P~  Heavenly Father, thank you for this reminder.  Thank you for being there, for how much you care about the details in our lives. Please give me discernment and guidance in this situation.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at info@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on September 10, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thank you Jill for being open about asking “why”? I don’t always understand what God does, and sometimes my asking, has been taken as less than faithful or negative by other believers.

    Tara, I am praying for you. Again, thank you for being honest about the struggle with your emotions, even though you have determined to trust God in it. That doesn’t mean we slap a smile on our face and breeze through everyday with no struggle, or that your faith is less than. Your pointing out where you see God in the middle of the yuk….the renewing of the cells, His character, and the good news you got from one Dr,…. is so important in truly glorifying Him. It is authentic in both the struggle and the hope.

Leave a Reply

