September 3 Ezekiel 20,21; Psalms 111; Revelation 8

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Actively Seeking the Great Things | Michelle Myers

S~ The LORD does great things; those who enjoy them seek them. Psalms 111:2 (NCV)

O~ Seek is a verb.  It is an action.  It is something I have to do.  Enjoy is a verb.  It is an action.  It is something I get to do.  I will not have the benefit, of the action of enjoying the great things God does, if I don’t actively take the time to seek them.

A~ This verse stood out to me, because I have not been very good at seeking the great things You do, nor have I been very trusting of the things You do.  A summer of constant minor medical issues has not only left me in physical discomfort; it has also left me with some financial discomfort.  These circumstances, along with a much needed, much anticipated move in the spring, into a bigger place has also messed with my financial comfort.  I have been focusing a lot on ALL the discomfort, and life has not been that enjoyable.

I have the discomfort of my circumstances, which I can easily magnify and make into way bigger issues than they really are.  This only leads to less enjoyment, and prevents me from even seeing anything good.  You are also telling me here, that like with my thoughts, I can not just be passive about what I am seeking.

P~ Thank you God for the good.  When I seek, please give me opportunities to see the great things You do.  Please help me focus on that, so I can enjoy my life, in spite of the physical pain, the lack of sleep, and the financial uncertainty.  Please help me seek out the great things You have done and are doing in regards to my family. Please help me see the successes.  Please help me trust in YOUR big picture.

Remember | Nikki Metzger

S~ He causes us to remember His wonderful works.  How gracious and merciful is our Lord! Psalm 111:4 (NLT)

O~ According the Word, God causes us (me) to remember His works.  I don’t do the remember, He makes me remember.

A~ In my day to day walk of trying to live and love like Jesus, I find remembering the awesomeness of our God the most difficult.  When I first started reading the Bible, I couldn’t believe the Israelites when they were leaving Egypt and wandering for 40 years.

They literally walked on the bottom of the sea, because it was parted!  They saw water come from a rock in the desert.  They got food (bread and meat) delivered daily.  Their clothes didn’t wear out.  And, they saw God as fire at night and pillar of smoke during the day.

And they complained, they wanted to go back to captivity, and they made idols for themselves.  Those silly Israelites!

When I read that part of Scripture, I told God I would never do that; I would never worship an idol (anything that’s not God), I wouldn’t complain, and I would never go back to what has held me captive.

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahaha!  Hahahahaha!

I’m so much like a complaining, forgetful, idol worshiping Israelite – it’s really not even funny.  And I realize my problem isn’t a lack of love for God, I forget about God as life happens.

So I try harder to remember Him and do those things He says: pray always, give thanks in all things, etc.  It’s good to do those things!!  But this psalm says that He CAUSES me to remember!  And once again I’m blown away by His grace!

In His goodness, He is the One who puts the remembrance in my heart.  I am separate from that.  I can take no credit for a single good thing in my life – it’s ALL Him!

P~ I don’t have words for how I feel about You……..thank You for this gift of causing us to remember!  I LOVE YOU!

Find Life | Kim Chipman

S~ There I gave them my decrees and regulations so they could find life by keeping them. Ezekiel 20:11 (NLT)

O~ This message to some of the leaders of Israel is a review of the history of the Israelite people – of their rebellion and God’s pursuit of them from Egypt to present time. Joseph ruled Egypt 1720BC and Ezekiel became a prophet in 593BC so He is reviewing a very long span of time. God is relatively patient, I’d say. All the destruction in Ezekiel is a bit daunting, but when I think that it has been around 1200 years it seems a little more reasonable.

A~ The reminder from the very beginning is that You gave them regulations so they could find LIFE by keeping them. Often I know You are asking me to do something and I justify all sorts of reasons to not do it. I don’t FEEL like it, it’s really not a big deal, maybe that wasn’t You asking (even though I know Your voice full well), it isn’t really a PROBLEM so why should I…and on and on. I can justify doing things my own way masterfully. The deal is, though, that You ask me to do things (or not do things) so I CAN FIND LIFE. Left to my own limited vision and wisdom I can’t find it on my own. If I choose what makes sense to me I end up drifting off course quickly! I need You to guide me which means I may not always understand shy, but I need to trust You.

TRUST

P~ Lord, help my unbelief! Help me see areas where I am not fully trusting You. If I trust I will follow wherever You lead. Help me to remember my need. You are leading me to FIND LIFE! I love You!

Interested in guest posting? Email us at info@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on September 3, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

