August 31 Ezekiel 12,13,14; Revelation 5

Check out our reading plans for easy ways to get started! Grab a friend or 2 and dig in!

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Rebellion | Jill Terry

S~ Son of man, you live in the midst of the rebellious house, who have eyes to see but do not see, ears to hear but do not hear; for they are a rebellious house. Ezekiel 12:2 (NAS)

O~ Chaos, strife and rebellion against God was rampant. People had access to the truth of the Lord; however, they were choosing not to see, hear or believe in God. It all seems so similar. Thousands of years have passed and yet so many people are choosing not to see, hear or believe the absolute truth of the gospel. Oh, so many people in direct rebellion to Jesus.

A~ Two things have happened to my adult son’s girlfriend (let’s call her Jane) in the last few days that emphasize the difference of believing and living the gospel in everyday life and rebellion against God. Jane was getting ready to move into her college dorm room. Jane’s family (who does not attend church) and my son all went with her to help her move which they figured would take most of the day. They arrived at the college and began to unload her things. A large number of people from a nearby church was at the college to assist those who were moving in that day. This group of Christians started grabbing Jane’s things and in one trip everything was unloaded and moved into her dorm room. Jane’s father was so surprised and impressed that a church would do this for people they didn’t even know. Jane’s dad had my son find the website of the church so that he could email them his thanks. This act of service provided by the church was such a simple yet wonderful way to show Christ’s love.

Two days later, Jane started classes. She brought her bicycle to school to help her get across campus faster. She parked and locked her bike and went into her first class. After class was out for the day, Jane came out to find her chain cut and her bike stolen. This theft was the exact opposite of what she experienced the other day she moved on campus. The thief who stole Jane’s bike is a perfect example of someone who is in direct rebellion to Jesus and is choosing not to see, hear or believe the Gospel. The church members on the other hand offered the perfect example of a body of Bible believing Christians whom were choosing to live out the gospel.

I am so grateful that I am no longer in rebellion to Jesus. At one time, my life was much more like the Jane’s bike thief than like the people who helped Jane move. Now, I am choosing to listen, hear, see and believe in the truth and the beauty of the Gospel. The only good thing to come out of this theft is Jane got a very personal look at true Christ followers.

P~ Jesus, thank you for my faith and showing me the truth of Your sacrifice. Amen

Un-embrace Sin | Luisa Penaherrera

S~  Son of man, these leaders have set up idols in their hearts.  They have embraced things that lead them into sin.  Why should I let them ask me anything.  Ezekiel 14:3 (NLT)

O~  These leaders had allowed other things to become more important than God.

The notes in my bible: God condemned the elders for setting up idols in their hearts and then daring to come to God’s prophet for advice.  On the outside they appeared to worship God, making regular visits to the Temple to offer sacrifices.  But they were not sincere.  It is easy for us to criticize the Israelites for worshipping idols when they clearly needed God instead.  But we have idols in our hearts when we pursue reputation, acceptance, wealth, or sensual pleasure with the intensity and commitment that should be reserved for serving God.

A~  I feel like God has been showing me how the fear of others (what they might think of me, say about me, rejection from them, etc) has a big part of my heart.  I need help in this area because it is something I have become used to.  God has been helping me and I have been taking baby steps, but making progress.  I was not being honest with a person for fear of the person’s reaction. But then I would end up doing things so that I don’t disappoint the person, even if I felt I shouldn’t do those things.

P~  Dear Father, thank you for Jesus.  Thank you for his courage and that he conquered sin!  Thank you that this Jesus lives in me and helps me to conquer sin! Thank you for loving me so.

Worthy | Kim Chipman

S~ But one of the twenty-four elders said to me, “Stop weeping! Look, the Lion of the tribe of Judah, the heir to David’s throne, has won the victory. He is worthy to open the scroll and its seven seals.” Revelation 5:5 (NLT)

O/A~ I don’t grasp Revelation very well, but here’s what I get about this…the scroll with the 7 seals are the events of history – how things will unfold in the end times – and only Jesus is able/worthy to open it. Only Jesus holds the future. Things often feel very random, chaotic and out of control, but Jesus HAS WON THE VICTORY and IS IN CONTROL. Life may get ugly, but we know how this ends up! Jesus is in control!

P~ Thank You for this reminder! You alone are worthy to break the seals and open the scroll, and You have the victory! Help me to fight well while I’m here for Your glory!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Posted on August 31, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. This past weekend I was at Women of Faith. On Friday night Sandi Patty and some of her family sang in such a way, I made the comment that one step up would be like the angels in heaven. Rev 5:11 says “Then I looked and heard the voice of many angels,numbering thousands upon thousands, and ten thousand times ten thousand…” I don’t think in our human bodies that we could even bear to hear such glory! I can’t imagine what that will be like! Glory!

Leave a Reply

