August 29 Ezekiel 4,5,6,7; Revelation 3

Check out our reading plans for easy ways to get started! Grab a friend or 2 and dig in!

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

God is Serious | Kim Chipman

S~ They will know that I alone am the Lord and that I was serious when I said I would bring this calamity on them. Ezekiel 6:10 (NLT)

O~ God is giving messages for the Israelites to Ezekiel. In this section He is telling of the judgement/punishment that is coming. Destruction and defeat were coming, but God would spare a small group, a remnant. My study Bible says, “The phrase ‘then they will know that I am the Lord’ (or a variation of this phrase) occurs 65 times in the book of Ezekiel. The purpose of all God’s punishment was not to take revenge, but to impress upon the people the truth that the Lord is the only true and living God. People in Ezekiel’s day were worshiping human-made idols and calling them gods. Today money, sex, and power have become idols for many. Punishment will come upon all who put other things ahead of God. It is easy to forget that the Lord alone is God, the supreme authority and the only source of eternal love and life. Remember that God may use the difficulties of your life to teach you that He alone is God.”

A~ You are serious. You are also patient with me, but You are God and you are just. Sometimes it feels like I can do my own thing without consequence but that is not true. Every choice has a consequence. Ultimately, You want me to see You and know that You are God. You are MY God. You alone. And You are serious about sin.

P~ Lord, help me to not become complacent about sin. You hate it and I need to hate it, too, not justify it. Every choice has a consequence (even if delayed!). I love You!

Sin Allowed Only Gets Worse | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ No hope remains, for I will unleash my anger against you.  I will call you to account for your disgusting behavior.  I will turn my eyes away and show no pity, repaying you in full for all your evil.  Then you will know that I am the Lord!    Ezekiel 7:3,4 (NLT)

O~ Israel’s punishment is on its way.  The people became evil, and they didn’t even recognize how bad they were.

A~  Is there sin in my life that I am allowing to hang around? That is subtly taking over, meanwhile I’m thinking, “it’s ok, it’s not that big of a deal?”

P~  Please show me Holy Spirit any sin in my life that I am tolerating and being stubborn about.   Help me to recognize it and deal with it.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Posted on August 29, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

