August 24 Jeremiah 33,34; Psalms 74; 1 John 5

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Every Season | Tara Wiley

S~ Both day and night belong to you; you made the starlight and the sun.

You set the boundaries of the earth, and you make both summer and winter.

Psalm 74:16-17 (NLT)

O~ Asaph is recognizing God’s sovereignty over every season in life. Jerusalem is under siege, and terror is all around, but Asaph declares his hope in God to restore. He remembers who God was in the past and looks forward to God answering his prayers for future restoration. Even though he doesn’t understand, and God seems silent, he steadies himself with faith and remembrance.

A~ These are tools for every believer to learn and use regularly: to declare God’s faithfulness in every season, and to remember Him when life gets hard.

As I write this morning, a storm is rolling in, and the skies are dark, even though the sun has risen. It reminds me of the darkness of the far-North winter that is coming, and I already resent the loss of light and warmth. I have to fight against that resentment by remembering the goodness of every season. The same is true spiritually. There is goodness in every season because God is there, and He is good. Video HERE if not below

P~ Lord, as I consider what spiritual truths I want to focus on teaching my children this fall, what Scripture we will memorize, what aspect of Your character we will dive into, I want to teach them this overarching truth: You are good and You are God in every season. The truths they learn can become swords and shields in times of terror, blankets of comfort against the cold. Hard times are inevitable, but You remain faithful in every season. I praise You, faithful God!

You Will Tell Me | Kim Chipman

S~ Ask me and I will tell you remarkable secrets you do not know about things to come. Jeremiah 33:3 (NLT)

O~ The Lord is speaking to Jeremiah while he was “confined in the courtyard of the guard”.

A~ I believe this message is for me today, too. When I take time to sit with You and listen, You guide me. You show my heart where to focus. You prepare me ahead of time for things that happen. You absolutely tell me secrets that I do not know about things to come.

I don’t always understand what You are showing me or where You are taking me, but I’m sure Jeremiah didn’t, either. That’s why I need You. My understanding and wisdom is SO limited.

P~ Thank You for Your promises! You promise to tell me if I ask. Help my spiritual ears to be sensitive to what You are saying. I need You. I love You!

Don’t Give Up! | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ Go to King Zedekiah of Judah, and tell him, ‘This is what the Lord, the God of Israel says: I am about to hand this city over to the king of Babylon, and he will burn it.’  Jeremiah 34:2  (NLT)

O~ What I’m learning as I read Jeremiah is:  1. The words or messages given came to pass.  2. The messages came to pass much later.

A~ This reminds me to trust you, not give up when things don’t seem to be getting better.

P~ Dear Father, your word will come to pass.  Help me to trust you are there working.  Help me not give up turning to you and trusting you.  Help my faith to grow.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on August 24, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. thanks Tara, what a great song. I enjoyed that.

Leave a Reply

