August 22 Jeremiah 28,29,30; 1 John 3

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Seeking | Michelle Myers

S~ You will search for me. And when you search for me with all your heart, you will find me! Jeremiah 29:13 (NCV)

O/A~ I have been searching for You God.  I have spent a lot of time searching for You over the last couple of weeks.  I stopped reading Jeremiah.  The destruction was too depressing.  Yet, last night as I was listening to a sermon on-line, the pastor quoted a hopeful verse from Jeremiah.  It was today’s reading, and it was full of hope and Your goodness.

As I have been seeking You, little by little, You are showing me things,  You are showing me where my thinking is not right, and what Your truth is.  You are giving me strength to press on.  You are showing me more and more of You, and this is giving me hope.  “I say this because I know what I am planning for you,” says the LORD. “I have good plans for you, not plans to hurt you.  I will give you hope and a good future.” Jeremiah 29:11 (NCV)

I have not had a clear vision for the future in along time, and what I did have, was not a good one.  This was not a place I had been before.  My vision and hope for the future had always kept me going.  It is what helped me get through my childhood.  I don’t know when my circumstances will change.  I know that besides continually seeking You, Your truths, and submitting to Your will; there is nothing more I can do.  The rest, is all up to You.

P~ Thank you God for the things that You are showing me.  I pray that healing can continue to occur.  I pray for your strength and courage.  I pray for restoration in regards to what the enemy has taken from me.

The Perfect Witness | Tara Wiley

S~ For they have done outrageous things: they have committed adultery with their neighbor’s wives, and in my name, they have uttered lies – which I did not authorize. I know it and am a witness to it. Jeremiah 29:23 (NIV)

O~ He knows.

When we are assaulted.

When we are deceived by the ones we should be able to trust.

When we are shocked by the evil in this world.

When everything seems to be crashing down and we ask, “Where are You, God?”

He sees and reminds us – This evil running rampant was not My plan for My creation. But you are not alone.

I’m watching.

I know.

I am witness to it.

And we can be sure our God of justice will set the record straight one day.

A~ What hope this offers to the victims of this world. Those horrifying secret moments of hell were witnessed by God Himself and He is their advocate.

I think it’s only this assurance that can give a person the freedom to forgive without retribution (this, and remembering the grace we each need and receive). God’s got this, even when it looks like He doesn’t.

P~ Lord, I pray for my friends who have viscerally experienced the sin listed in this verse. Heal them, Lord, with Your presence and Your promise. You are just, God, and You will prevail with perfect justice. Help my friends trust You to do just that, so they can let go of their bitterness and move into freedom.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Posted on August 22, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

