August 21 Jeremiah 21,24,27; Psalms 118; 1 John 2

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Not Afraid | Jill Terry

S~ The LORD is for me; I will not fear; What can man do to me? Psalm 118:6 (NAS)

O/A~ God is on my side! Nobody has the ability to harm me in anything other than a temporary matter. In the end, only my belief in Jesus matters. Hate, pain, bullies, and any other painful thing that comes into my life is not worth worrying about. If I love Jesus and He is on my side, the rest of it is really not worth being concerned about. Life is truly just a very short amount of time compared to eternity and for that I am eternally grateful.

P~ Thank you Lord for always being on my side. Amen

When I Look to You | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ The Lord is for me, so I will not be afraid.  What can mere mortals do to me?

Yes, the Lord is for me; he will help me.

I will look in triumph at those who hate me.

It is better to trust the Lord than to put confidence in people.  Psalms 118:6-8 (NLT)

O~ These verses remind me to look at you, to turn to you.

A~ I have been stewing in thoughts of what this person did to me.  The more I think and talk about it, the more I re-live it and this person becomes big in my mind.  This morning, these verses remind me that you are the one I need to turn to for help and not try to figure out how to handle this.  Also not to give into feelings of defeat, because you are for me, and you will help me.

P~ Dear Father, thank you for your peace.  When I look to you I find comfort and peace and the fear of others disappear.  Thank you. I love you.

Trust God, Love People | Kim Chipman

S~ It is better to take refuge in the Lord than to trust in people. Psalm 118:8 (NLT)

O/A~ People are fickle. Shoot, I am fickle! My feelings sometimes get to be such a mess and I react and respond to things in ways I regret and wish I could rewind and re-do. I can’t be the only one who feels this way.

Several years ago I watched a sermon online by Pastor Wayne Cordeiro and he talked about trusting God, but loving people. Many people leave the fellowship of the church because people let them down. They sin. They blow it. Then feelings get hurt and they throw out the baby with the bathwater and quit pursuing You because people have hurt them.

Trust God. Love people. You never change, never mess up, never have a bad day, never need a re-do. Love people…get so filled up with Your mercy and grace and love that it spills out all over the place. Even at dinnertime when everything seems to fall apart at my house. Even to my eye-rolling all full of sass little one that is testing me these days. Even when I’m misunderstood and someone is upset with me…or better yet when they understand and don’t like me anyway. Even when they don’t deserve it…especially when they don’t deserve it. Love them when they blow it. Love them all…all the sinful, broken, messed up and hurting people…people just like me. We are pursuing You but we AREN’T God. We are a hospital for broken people. We can get healthy and whole together by Your power.

P~ Lord, I need You. I need YOU to fill my needs, to be my Savior, to heal my broken places. You are the only One who can do that. “It is better to take refuge in the Lord than to trust in people.” Trust God, Love People. I love You! Help me to love others well.

Live Life Like Jesus | Joni Tyner

S~ Those who say they live in God should live their lives as Jesus did. 1 John 2:6 (NLT)

O~ John, one of the original disciples of Jesus, wrote the book for 1 John.  He knew Jesus first hand.  He ate with Him, they traveled together, they did life together.  He spent several  years being close to Jesus, John knew that Jesus was God’s perfect son and he knew how He lived His life.

A~ As I think about Jesus “living life”,  I think about Him being out with the people.  He talked to people at the well and on the hillside. He ate meals with them. He served others. He sought out those who were on the outside perimeter looking in.  (remember Zacchaeus in the tree?, How about the bleeding woman who dared to touch the hem of his robe?)   Jesus lived His life loving people into the Kingdom.  His example was to be a servant, to be compassionate for the poor, the outcast, and the person who doesn’t have life together. I don’t see many examples, (any?) of Jesus hanging out at the synagogue. In fact,  He actually criticizes their showy attitudes of pride and religious hype.

Plain and simple: When I read,  “live my life like Jesus did”, I think Jesus is clearing telling me to love other people, just like Him.

Someday in Heaven, I would rather error on the side of being told, “hey, remember that one person you poured love and life into? Well, they didn’t make it…you wasted your time.”   I certainly would hate to hear,  “See that person there?  The one you knew decades?  Yea, that one.  Did you not once try to reach out in kindness or friendship? Did you not show compassion when they were struggling?  I’m sorry, but you were their only opportunity to know Me.”   Yes…I want to choose love.  I want to choose relationships and then build Truth on that foundation.

I saw this link the other day on Facebook, I thought it was a great read and applicable to this verse.  The article is , “3 ways Christians turn people away from church.

P~ Dear Lord,  pour energy and passion into me to love like You do.  Everything else falls after that.  Thank you for Your perfect example and choosing me to be a child of Yours.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Posted on August 21, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Great wisdom today ladies. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

