August 20 Jeremiah 48,49; Psalms 67; 1 John 1

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

All Nations Praise You! | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ May God be merciful and bless us.

May his face shine with favor upon us.

May your ways be known throughout the earth, your saving power among people everywhere.

May the nations praise you, O God.

Yes, may all the nations praise you.  Psalms 67:1-3  (NLT)

O~ When I read these verses, my heart felt full of hope.  Hope that I can call out to you and you see and hear me. Hope of your favor, of you being known, your saving power reaching people and one day of all nations praising you. One day, one day.

A~ This encouraged my heart.  Reminds me that God is there and working among us.  I need to be doing my part that God has for me.

P~ Dear Father, as I wait for your return, help me keep busy with the work you have for me.  Thank you for the hope that you have given us.

Perfect Provision | Tara Wiley

S~ The Lord spread a cloud above them as a covering and gave them a great fire to light the darkness. Psalm 105:39 (NLT) [from yesterday’s reading…but it spoke to me today!]

O/A~ The Israelites were in the wilderness, and God provided just what they needed: Direction. Protection. Light. Warmth.

When I’ve thought of the ‘cloud by day’ and ‘fire by night’ I’ve always pictured pillars that led them. Here, the Hebrew term clearly indicates the spreading out of a cloud, like a blanket of protection. I wonder if, when the sun beat hot on the heads of His children, God spread out His cloud like a canopy of shade… like the plant He gave to Jonah. He is such a tender Father, to provide and protect.

And the fire to light the darkness… in the wilderness seasons, in the warfare seasons, in the seasons when darkness is so thick we can feel it, He provides fire-light. His Word lights our path. He, Jesus, is the light. His Spirit is within us, a holy flame.

P~ Lord, I love this word picture, one verse describing 80 years of Your loving care for Your people in the wilderness. I know You do the same for me, seeing what I need and providing for and covering me in ways I do not even fully comprehend. Like last week: You knew a fiery test was coming that would cause me to doubt myself in such deep ways… and so You sent Your affirmation ahead of time, I am so in love with you, Tara, a word You gave to a friend to speak directly over me from You. It sustained me in that severe test, knowing You love me like that. Your love was my cloud and fire.  Thank You for proving Your faithfulness to provide, just as You did for Your children.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Posted on August 20, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

