August 5 2 Kings 23; 2 Chronicles 35; John 7

Check out our resources page and our reading plans for easy ways to get started! Grab a friend or 2 and dig in!

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Public conversation | Nikki Metzger

S~ But no one had the courage to speak favorable about Him in public, for they were afraid of getting in trouble with the Jewish leaders. John 7:13 (NLT)

O~ I’m not sure when this is during Jesus’ three years of ministry.  The Jewish leaders want Him dead, His brother’s think He is  joke, and the people are wishy-washy about Him.

A~ This verse reminds me of today.  Today, as in, the days we are living right now.  Except the Jewish leaders could be replaced with the media or anyone who disagrees with another person.  There are a lot of things happening in our world in regards to race, sexuality, personal beliefs, etc. and we all have opinions.

I admit that I have been afraid to say things for fear of intense hatred of others that could come back to me.  So I just don’t say anything to anybody about anything.

But I wonder if all the things that I want to say are about specific events, laws, or decisions???  Maybe I’m not focusing on what the conversation should really, REALLY be about.  Maybe I need to speak favorable about my Lord and Savior in public?  That is probably it!

Seriously, I’m not wise enough to have the answers about the specific events that are happening all over our country – so I don’t need to engage in those conversations.  I need to stick with what I know when I’m speaking/writing in public: Jesus saved me….and He loves me….and everything that is good in my life is from Him!

P~ Father, You are good!  Thank You!  I never EVER need to defend You, do I?  You work it out in people’s heads and hearts!  God, please give me courage to speak favorable about Jesus in public!  Remove any fear about getting in trouble with man.  I love You and pray this in Jesus’ Name!

Just You | Luisa Penaherrera

S~  So Jesus told them, “I’m not teaching my own ideas, but those of God who sent me.  John 7:16  (NLT)

O~  Jesus was brave, courageous, did not focus on people or their reactions, but on what God wanted him to do and say.

A~  I get stuck on what I think people might think, might say, might do that it holds me back from sharing what God has done in my life.  Today I did the opposite; I shared with someone my struggle with anxiety and how I turn to God for help.  I shared a verse that has helped me and also how having supportive people around has helped. It was at first a little scary, thoughts of what if they just think I’m coo coo?  What if they laugh at me? What if, what if… but then I thought what if this is what they need to hear?  Jesus has helped me—he could help them.  That felt right!

P~  Father, thank you for showing me how much I need you and how you help me.  Thank you for the courage to share.

His Glory | Jill Terry

S~ He who speaks from himself seeks his own glory; but He who is seeking the glory of the One who sent Him, He is true, and there is no unrighteousness in Him. John 7:18 (NAS)

O/A~ If I speak or write or do something to make myself look good than I am not glorifying God. I am being prideful, even if it looks like I am honoring God by word, action or deed. Pride is something I struggle with because I truly desire to honor Jesus with the things I do, with the way I conduct myself and with my life. I struggle with knowing when it stops being God honoring and when it starts being prideful.

I believe God is asking me to step out of my comfort zone to lead a Bible study. This is not something I am good at or even feel comfortable doing. I am a behind the scenes person, not a leader. Then, I instantly have the thought of how proud I am of myself for doing something completely out of my comfort zone. I immediately feel convicted of my pride. I want my life to be one of seeking God’s glory not one of patting myself on the back for being such a good Christian.

How do I know where honoring God’s purpose and plan for my life ends and where my pride begins? The more I pray and ponder this, I realize if my intentions are in the right place, I am doing it for God and not for me. I just need to be certain that anything I do is for God’s glory and not mine before I begin.

P~ Lord Jesus, please help me glorify You in all I do. Please forgive my prideful thinking. In Your name I pray. Amen

Knowable God | Kelley DeAses

S~ You do not know him, but I know him because I am from him and he sent me.  John 7:28-29 (NIV)

O~  The very idea of God — our Heavenly Father, Creator of all things, omnipresent, omniscient, without beginning and without end, the One who gives and takes away, Sovereign Lord over all yet concerned with the details of my life — how can I begin to comprehend such a thing?  What Jesus says here while teaching in the temple is basically that these people do not know God.  They have formulated rules and traditions to govern behavior, but are blind to God’s heart for His people and His master plan to redeem the world by sending His Son. But Jesus assures them, and us, that He does know the Father because He came from Him and was sent by Him.  And what Jesus offers, through his teachings and his very life, is the chance for us to begin to wrap our minds around who God is.  Because He, like we, walked around on this earth, faced temptation, endured hardship, related to people.  A God who could physically touch and be touched. He so perfectly bridges the gap between the Infinite and the infinitesimal.

A~ I am so enjoying watching the progression of faith I see in my little one, just seven years old.  Kids are not bothered by not knowing everything about God, but they can run with what they do know. Just yesterday, after attending a VBS program at another church, he came home and said, “God told me in my heart to read the Bible.  Since we learned Genesis 1:1 in my class, I think I’ll start there.” He ran and found his Bible, decorated with duct tape, and said “I’d better sit in this chair where you read your Bible.”  He reads his Bible with a highlighter, coloring every single word as he reads it. When we’re in the car, we try to recall verses we know by heart (thank you Cornerstone Christian School!) and he looks them up and highlights them.  He is the first of any of us, when we face a stressful problem or a health concern, to suggest we pray. So I circle round to this: I don’t know all there is to know about God, but through His Word I am learning more and more.  In the meantime, I am content to delight in seeing His hand at work in my life and in the lives of those I love.

P~ Father, I am so grateful even in the tension between You being so vast and beyond comprehension and the notion that You want me to seek You and find You.  Help me to be faithful to continue searching You out, as You reveal Yourself more day by day.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on August 5, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

