July 31 Isaiah 63,64; Psalms 107; John 2

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Tell Your Story | Tara Wiley

S~ Let the redeemed of the Lord tell their story – those he redeemed from the hand of the foe. Psalm 107:2 (NIV)

O~ God taught through story in His Word. Story after story of rebellion and redemption, of crisis and rescue, of love and mercy and grace, with word pictures and parables and real-life tales. He is the ultimate Author of stories, and He still uses stories –our stories –  to tell the world about His redeeming love.

A~ Am I telling my story? Am I telling my story to my children, my friends, my neighbors? Am I letting His glory shine through my story? In different seasons, He has called me to share my story in different ways. I feel the beginning of a new season of storytelling coming. May I be faithful!

P~ Lord, thank You for the stories in Your Word. I love Psalm 107 because it so beautifully retells so many of Your stories with all Your glory mixed in.I am Your redeemed one. I have a story. Help me be faithful to bring  You glory by never forgetting what You’ve done in my life – and by never missing an opportunity to share my story in whatever form that takes.

Cry to the Lord | Kelley DeAses

S~ Then they cried to the Lord in their trouble, and he saved them from their distress.  Ps. 107:6 (13, 19, 28) NIV

Whoever is wise, let him heed these things and consider the great love of the Lord.  Psalm 107:43 (NIV)

O~ I love the repeated refrain in this song.  It reminds us our God stands at the ready to respond to us, if only we would cry out to Him.  In these verses, some of the people found themselves wandering aimlessly, others in darkness and gloom, others in foolish rebellion, and still others awed by God’s mighty hand in a terrifying storm.  But God took action to save them all when they cried out from their state of need.  To underscore this principle, the final words of this psalm instruct that if we are wise, we will heed such an example and know God’s great love for His people.

A~ The most beautiful part of these beautiful verses is to know that God’s hand of deliverance is not just available to the innocent victim but to the foolish rebel just the same.  Three families acquainted with our family have been rocked and divided by child molestation.  Unthinkable. Heartbreaking. But not beyond God’s reach.  He can meet those sweet children in the midst of their sadness and pain and confusion and acting out in destructive ways. But He can also seek and save those souls who are themselves so hurting and lost that they would hurt a vulnerable young life.  If only they would cry out for rescue from that tortured place, He will hear and has the power to bring them out.

P~ Father, My heart is shattered to hear such painful, awful news… and about people we know.  Move me not to simply grieve, but to help where I can and pray for Your deliverance when my scarce resources run out.

Jesus’ consuming passion for the church | Nikki Metzger

S~ Then His disciples remembered this prophecy from the Scriptures: “Passion for God’s house will consume me.” John 2:17 (NLT)

O~ Psalm 69:9a says: Passion for Your house has consumed me.

A~ You know, sometimes I say mean things about the church.  But if I would dig deeper, I realize it’s the people in the church that frustrate me.  Arrogance, hypocrisy, and people who do no self reflection in light of the Cross drive me CRAZY!! Especially if it’s leadership!  Church people can REALLY stink!

Ugh….I’m a church person!  I know that I have hurt others because of my sinful attitude, and for that I am so sorry!

But the thing is: Jesus is passionate about God’s house, so much so, that it consumes Him!  If I claim to be as crazy for Jesus as I say I am, shouldn’t I be passionate about God’s house?

P~ Thank You Father for planting me in Your house!  Please grow in me a consuming passion for it!

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on July 31, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. “Dear Lord, I pray you will be with these families that Kelley has lifted up to you this morning. Lord, I pray for comfort to those who cry and feel betrayed, Infuse in them peace and forgiveness. I pray that what the Enemy intended to destroy through such a perverted, evil act, You would somehow make a story that shows forgiveness and redemption. I too am thankful that you hear me when I cry out to You, that in my foolishness, You forgive and restore me. Dear Lord, let Your mighty power heal these families. Amen”

Leave a Reply

