July 28 Isaiah 53,54,55,56; 2 Peter 2

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Don’t Miss Him! | Robin Laney

S~ Who believes what we’ve heard and seen? Who would have thought God’s saving power would look like this? The servant grew up before God—a scrawny seedling, a scrubby plant in a parched field. There was nothing attractive about him, nothing to cause us to take a second look. He was looked down on and passed over, a man who suffered, who knew pain firsthand. One look at him and people turned away. We looked down on him, thought he was scum. Isaiah 53:1-3 (MSG)

O~ Almost 700 years before Jesus was born, Isaiah the prophet foretold of his coming. He was certainly nothing special in appearance, in career, or in abilities. His strengths were not what the people were looking for to save them. They were looking for a warrior to throw off their oppressors but he was a humble suffering servant. They missed him.

A~ I often think about whether I would have followed Jesus had I been alive when he walked the earth. Would I have ignored him because, outwardly, he didn’t really seem to have any redeeming qualities? Could I have assumed he was crazy when He said He was the Son of God? Maybe I would have thought he was very wise with his words and kind with his actions, really nice guy, perhaps a great teacher. Would I have been able to consider him through the lens of prophetic Scripture and see him as the Messiah who had been promised since the Fall? I just don’t know. I would like to think I would not have missed him.

Now, looking back , we can clearly see how his life, death and resurrection were clearly foretold in mind boggling detail throughout the Old Testament. Some scholars number these prophecies at over 300. Professor Emeritus of Science at Westmont College, Peter Stoner, along with about 600 university students worked to calculate the probability of one man fulfilling the major prophecies made concerning the Messiah. One of their calculations used only 48 of these prophecies and conservatively estimated that the chance of one man fulfilling them is the number 10^157. That’s the number 10 followed by 157 zeros. And that’s only 48!

With those statistics backing him up, one would think no one could deny Jesus as the Christ yet, still, so many do. In our world today, he has too much competition for our attentions. He asks too much of us and our imaginations aren’t big enough to allow us to see that he has more for us than we could ever get for ourselves. He isn’t flashy or showy. He doesn’t flaunt or sell himself to hook us. He doesn’t satisfy our insatiable desire to be entertained. He isn’t rich or beautiful. Or is he all of those things? And we, like God’s very own people, the Jews of 2,000 years ago, miss him because our own ideas of what we think a savior should look like don’t match what we know about Jesus.

He is who he says he is. Don’t miss him!

P~ Lord, You make Yourself known through Your Creation, through Your Word, and through Your Spirit. You alone are the Famous One! May our eyes be opened and our hearts recognize You as the One True God, the Messiah, our Salvation, our Lord and the lover of our souls!

We All Stray Away | Kim Chipman

S~ All of us, like sheep, have strayed away.
    We have left God’s paths to follow our own.
Yet the Lord laid on him
    the sins of us all. Isaiah 53:6 (NLT)

O~ This time trough Isaiah I was surprised by this prophecy of Jesus. In this book God warns of judgement, pleads with His people to return to Him, reminds them of His mercy, then warns them some more, then BAM! – prophecy of Jesus Christ. It almost seems out of place. Again, though, it describes brutality and judgement for sin – ALL our sin – placed on our blameless Savior – and the HOPE and LOVE and MERCY in it…it will “make it possible for many to be counted righteous, for he will bear all their sins.” (v11)

A~ The thing that’s easy to forget is that we ALL have strayed away, me included, perpetually. It’s easier to see someone else’s “straying” than to see mine at times – which is pride. You have been reminding me often lately how important it is to stay humble. This is a key ingredient in that for me – remembering. Remembering it was MY sin that was laid on You. I leave Your path to follow my own. When I examine my own heart, my own sin, my own need for saving, my own…ugh. That would keep my heart humble – remembering. It’s not some big, abstract issue…it’s MY issue…MY sin…MY straying

You were treated harshly, beaten, whipped…unfairly, unjustly, for ME. The more that sinks in, the more I digest Your amazing grace, the more I can deliver that grace to others. I don’t deserve it, showing it to others only when they deserve it does NOT make a life of living and loving like You – and that’s what I want my life to look like!

P~ Thank You for this reminder today! I love You!

Tight-lipped | Kelley DeAses

S~ He was oppressed and afflicted, yet he did not open his mouth; he was led like a lamb to the slaughter, and as a sheep before her shearers is silent, so he did not open his mouth.  Isaiah 53:7 (NIV)

O~  Every time I encounter the life of Jesus — through Scripture, on a movie screen, in a study, in a sermon — I am more and more amazed at His perfect holiness in the face of others’ confusion, betrayal, double-mindedness, frailty, cowardice, and out and out hatred.  It further strikes me how different my reactions would be to nearly every situation Jesus faced in His time on earth:  where He was bold, I would have been timid; where He showed compassion, I would have been quick to judge; where He endured horrific pain and torture, I would have run and hid and scrapped God’s Divine Plan, thinking only of myself.  And, as this verse discusses, He “did not open his mouth.”  Not to set the record straight.  Not to defend himself.  Not to call upon legions of angels to come to His aid.  He quietly bore the cross He’d been given.

A~  My “crosses” are so much lighter and easier, and yet boy can I complain!  When things don’t go my way, when I feel an injustice has been done to me or I have not received a fair shake, my reaction is to tell anyone who will listen to my tale of woe so as to glean their sympathy and understanding.  But this was not Christ’s way at all.  He bore so much more, had every right to protest and complain, yet He stayed silent.

P~  Father, You have shown me where I have failed to follow Your Son’s example, in general and in specific.  I confess and repent of opening my mouth in an instance where I should have kept quiet.  Please forgive me and help me show greater discretion going forward.

Big Mac or Gourmet Meal? | Tara Wiley

S~ Why spend your money on food that does not give you strength?

Why pay for food that does you no good?

Listen to me, and you will eat what is good.

You will enjoy the finest food.

 

Come to me with your ears wide open.

Listen, and you will find life.

I will make an everlasting covenant with you.

I will give you all the unfailing love I promised to David.

Isaiah 55:2-3 (NLT)

O~ This was one of those days of Bible reading that was so rich it was difficult to find one verse to focus on! I just kept on highlighting… And had to return to this passage because it says exactly how I felt about the day’s reading: it was like a multiple course gourmet meal.

Coming into God’s presence, taking the time to set aside distractions (no good! No strength there!) and feeding on His Word brings life and promise and love.

A~ What a powerful reminder: I get to choose what I will invest my time in. Just recently our pastor prompted us once again to be intentional about growing our faith, both through removing the things that hinder and through spending time growing in God’s Word personally and in small groups. These are the investments that reap more than I could ever sow. Just a few less moments of useless distraction replaced by a few moments with Jesus have the power to completely change my day. It’s the difference between a Big Mac and a gourmet meal.

P~ Lord, today I am so grateful for Your amazing Word, Your presence, and Your promises. It never ceases to amaze me how easily I am distracted by the fast food this world offers when I have the finest of fare waiting for me when I choose to fill my time learning about You, loving You, talking with You, and serving You in the way I live. Remind me, Holy Spirit, of this passage when I’m tempted to be numbed by the distractions of the world instead of intentionally living out this God-following life. I want to make my life count for you. I want to feast with You today.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

 

Posted on July 28, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

