July 27 Isaiah 50,51,52; Psalms 92; 2 Peter 1

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Frustrated With My Own Fires | Michelle Myers

S~ But instead, some of you want to light your own fires, and make your own light.  So go, walk in the light of your fires, and trust your own light to guide you.  But this is what you will receive from me: You will lie down in a place of pain.” Isaiah 50:11 (NCV)

O~ When I don’t follow you, it will end in pain and nothing good will come out of it.  When I don’t follow you, I am being prideful.  This isn’t conducive to building a relationship with YOU.

A~ I can be pretty strong willed and stubborn.  You have had me lie down in places of pain….many times…..because it is what I needed to finally come to the end of myself and listen to YOU.  For me, the “place of pain” has been going around the same mountain year after year, with the same people, with myself and my own issues; and finally being so freaking frustrated that I couldn’t stand it anymore.

Once I finally give up on trying to “light my own fires”, and not only listen to YOU, but also obey what YOU say; much of what I was trying to do….sometimes for years….YOU bring about almost immediately.

I have tried for years to change certain behaviors, attitudes, and habits that I, myself, have. It has been totally unsuccessful and left me completely frustrated.  I started taking time to turn to YOU and meditate on YOUR word and YOUR truths, and BAM!, success.

I have tried for years to change certain aspects of my husband and my children. It has been totally unsuccessful and left me completely frustrated.  I throw my hands up.  I pray for them.  I give it to YOU, and BAM!, success.  I mean I give it up to the point, that I don’t even recognize the change or the success right away.  You have to point it out to me.

P~ Thank you God for never giving up on me.  I am totally not where I need to be when it comes to my control freak issues, but I have made a great deal of progress.  I don’t like the pain while I am going through it.  However, I pray that YOU never stop using it to teach me how much I need YOU in my life.

I AM the One | Kim Chipman

S~ I, yes I, am the one who comforts you.
    So why are you afraid of mere humans,
    who wither like the grass and disappear?
Yet you have forgotten the Lord, your Creator,
    the one who stretched out the sky like a canopy
    and laid the foundations of the earth.
Will you remain in constant dread of human oppressors?
    Will you continue to fear the anger of your enemies?
Where is their fury and anger now?
    It is gone! Isaiah 51:12-13 (NLT)

O~ The Lord is speaking to Israel throughout this section of Isaiah – trying to get them to stop worshiping idols and remember who God really is! Not only is there warning of judgement, but also reminders of His great mercy, compassion, and love for His people.

A~ So lately my struggle has been with people. I hear clearly what You want from me – You hate sin – You LOVE ME (and all of us) – You want my best – Your road is narrow – I must stay in Your Word daily – I must not only read it but DO what You show me – I need to dial all the way back to taking each thought captive to obey You – sort out the lies – focus on truth – TRUST YOU because swirling feelings and circumstances are not TRUTH. This walk with You can be boiled down to simple things…SIMPLE, just not easy…why?

Pride. Selfishness. Comfort. Path of least resistance. I don’t want struggle. Lazy? Fear. Longing for acceptance and validation…not only from You but from people…ugh.

Have I forgotten who You are? You stretched out the sky! You laid the foundations of the earth! YOU are the One who comforts me. YOU are my Audience of One! (Have I lost my mind! I know who I serve! How did I forget!? Why am I afraid? Sheesh.)

P~ Thank you for reminding me who I serve! I feel like I got a smack upside the head…the good kind…that snaps me back to reality. Why am I afraid? You are my comfort. You are my peace. You should be my focus. You are my God! Help me to remember! Help me to sort my feelings and check my thoughts…no lies, only truth…I love you~

My first thing in the morning!! | Nikki Metzger

S~ It is good to proclaim Your unfailing love in the morning ~Psalm 92:2a (NLT)

O~ Good Morning Lord!  I proclaim Your unfailing love today!  Thank You!

A~ Your love never, ever, ever fails.  One day I’m hoping to have a day of 100% peace.  Or a day filled with no problems, no sorrows, no hardships.  I’m starting to realize that this will just not happen ’till You come back or take me home.

I’m so thankful to proclaim that YOUR LOVE NEVER FAILS after a sorrowful day in our house yesterday.  Cody was really hurt and bullied at a birthday party and I was at a loss as to what to do.  My flesh wanted to call that other mama and say some words.  But how does more hate bring You glory?

You are good and strong and love our family!  I am just sitting in Your awesomeness and unfailing love this morning and that is the BEST PLACE to be!

P~ Father, thank You for this kid!  Thank You for picking me to be his mom – what a joy it is to parent him.  It’s a challenge too!  I proclaim Your UNFAILING LOVE this morning!  May Cody proclaim Your UNFAILING LOVE too!

Guaranteed Fruit | Tara Wiley

S~ So don’t lose a minute building on what you’ve been given, complementing your basic faith with good character, spiritual understanding, alert discipline, passionate patience, reverent wonder, warm friendliness, and generous love, each dimension fitting into and developing the others. With these qualities active and growing in your lives…no day will pass without its reward as you mature in your experience of our Master Jesus. 2 Peter 1:5-9 (MSG)

O/A~ During our reading today, we also landed on Psalm 92. The description in verses 12-14 of a God-follower who bears spiritual fruit even ‘in old age’ moved me to an often-repeated prayer: Lord, I never want to stop growing. I want to be more like You – to know You more – to do more in Your name with every passing year until You bring me home. Show me how to be continually fruitful for you.

Turning to 2 Peter 1, I found my answer. It’s a tough roadmap, but with the help of the Holy Spirit, who according to verse 3 will give me everything I need for life and godliness, I can spend the rest of my life building on what I’ve been given, adding:

-good character

-spiritual understanding

-alert discipline

-passionate patience

-reverent wonder

-warm friendliness, and

-generous love.

P~ Lord, when this path to long-lasting fruitfulness is listed out like this, it’s a daunting, overwhelming task! But I know with Your power I can do all things. So help me to step more fully into Your ways each day. Today, it’s alert discipline and passionate patience I desire most. Can you help me achieve more of this in my life?

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on July 27, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Kim, that was such a great post today. It’s so true, how can we fear when we consider the greatness of God? We know this, why do we always seem to go back to the same, selfish struggles that you mentioned?

    Thank you for, once again, being transparent and speaking TRUTH!!

Leave a Reply

