July 26 Isaiah 46,47,48,49; 1 Peter 5

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

I Am | Jill Terry

S~ Remember the former things long past, For I am God, and there is no other; I am God, and there is no one like Me. Isaiah 46:9 (NAS)

O/A~ The Alpha and the Omega. He alone is God. I saw a meme on Facebook the other day and it just struck me. I absolutely loved it. It said “ Other religions or paths say this is the way. Only God says, “I am the way.”

My oldest is searching so desperately for something to believe in, for a purpose for his life. If only he would believe in the ONE who is the only way to fulfillment, happiness, joy and true peace. Who else but the Prince of Peace can offer peace? Who else but the One who says “I am the way” will be able to guide my son?

P~ Lord, thank you for your utter faithfulness. Please show him who You are and help him to find true peace. Amen

HUMBLE myself | Kim Chipman

S~ In the same way, you who are younger must accept the authority of the elders. And all of you, dress yourselves in humility as you relate to one another, for “God opposes the proud but gives grace to the humble.” 1 Peter 5:5 (NLT)

O/A~ How would my world change if I chose to “dress in humility as I relate to one another”? “Dressing” in humility. I always have clothes on….humility that is always there, present, visible…I generally don’t undress as I go through my day…what if humility were like my clothing?

The promise? You will give grace to the humble. Seems like an awesome deal to me.

P~ Show me today, prick my heart, help me to see where prideful attitudes and thoughts are sneaking in. I want to “dress in humility” as I relate to others, so they can see You. I love You!

Humility brings Grace | Robin Laney

S~ All of you, clothe yourselves in humility toward one another, because, “God opposes the proud but gives grace to the humble.” 1 Peter 5:5 (NIV)

O~ Pride puts us into a fighting stance with God while humility allows His grace to flow over us.

A~ My pride causes conflict in my marriage. My loving and gracious husband, when he’s at his best, laughs it off as me being sassy or bossy. When he is tired or irritable, he very quickly goes on the defense and then fights back and I don’t blame him. I hate when I do this. Where does it come from? This superior attitude, these harsh words? They can come out of nowhere and turn a peaceful moment into chaos in the speaking of one word. It is so hard to turn things around once I go down that path, both for him and for me. It sometimes can turn into an all-out battle over something really silly. Pride.

To be proud is to set oneself above another, to look on others with disdain. In Scripture, the word for proud (in this verse) is always used in a negative sense. When we are proud, in this way, we are inviting a fight, whether that be with our spouse or God, Himself. A prideful attitude is offensive to others and does not merit any grace. When we take this stance, we are unteachable, immovable, and just plain unbearable. It is really hard to offer grace to someone who is arrogant.

On the other hand, it is very easy to deal with a humble person. When I think others better than myself, I am open to their opinions, I invite their ideas, and I consider their feelings before mine. I am teachable, moldable, and peaceable. I invite grace instead of opposition. It is no different with God. How can we expect Him to offer us with grace when we are arrogant before Him?

He, alone, is Creator. He created and sustains the whole universe. I have never done nor will I ever do such amazing things.

He, alone, saves us through the sacrifice of His Son. I have no power to save myself, let alone anyone else.

He is supreme and therefore I have no business being prideful before Him or any human, for that matter, as we are all in the same boat when it comes to being at His mercy.

He is wonderfully and amazingly gracious and I have no reason not to be humble before Him and others.

P~ Father, humble me so that I can receive Your grace. Humble me so that I can be at peace with You and those around me. I want to be teachable and at peace, lifting others up not tearing them down with my arrogant attitudes. Let me give grace freely from a humble and thankful heart.

My worries to You | Nikki Metzger

S~ Give all your worries and cares to God, for He cares about you.  1 Peter 5:7 (NLT)

O~ Many of my worries and cares jump around my head.  Not all of them make it out of my mouth.  And I don’t give them all to God.

A~ Yesterday I was blindsided with a migraine and all those nasty side effects that go with it.  As I was reflecting about my days leading up to migraine day – there was a pattern.  I would get disheartening news, deal with it.  I would get more responsibility at work, deal with it.  Have a really tough talk with a child, deal with it.  Do you see a pattern?

My body cannot handle all of these extra stressors topped onto everyday life.  I am ill-equipped to handle it all!  My God, He cares about me.  He wants me to give ALL my worries and cares to Him.  He wants to carry them.

P~ Father, thank You for Your word.  This reminder that You are the one who actually wants our worries and cares because You care so much about us.  I adore You!!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

 

 

 

Posted on July 26, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Robin, Thanks for some new insights about humility and grace. Thanks to everyone for sharing your heart.

Leave a Reply

