July 20 2 Chronicles 29,30,31; James 4

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

I’m going to get laughed at…..and it will be ok! | Nikki Metzger

S~ The runners went from town to town throughout Ephraim and Manasseh and as far as the territory of Zubulan.  But most of the people just laughed at the runners and made fun of them.  However, some people…humbled themselves and went to Jerusalem. 2 Chronicles 30:10, 11 (NLT)

O~ These runners had news.  The country was going to celebrate Passover late.  The new king was bringing the Lord back into the daily life of the people after His absence.  Those runner messengers didn’t encounter great excitement and joy with the message they brought.  They got laughed at and made fun of.

A~ You’re telling me….putting people in my life about this life saving truth of Jesus Christ.  I feel this next step of spreading the fame of Jesus.  Like a revival is coming and I get to be a part of it.  I’m scared to death.  Ill-equipped, never really shared the gospel outside of the church setting.  God….what?!?!  But Lord, I just want You most!  And to be a part of gathering Your people back to You!

OK!  I’m in!

I hear You say that I’m going to be made fun of and people will laugh at me.  That’s ok, I trust You!

P~ Father, thank You!  Get me over myself!  Give me a disregard for reputation!  Thank You for this heart prep!  I LOVE YOU!

Humbly Resist | Kim Chipman

S~ So humble yourselves before God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you. Come close to God, and God will come close to you. Wash your hands, you sinners; purify your hearts, for your loyalty is divided between God and the world. James 4:7-8 (NLT)

O/A~ I feel like I could journal on every single verse in James. Such daily life wisdom.

Why do we argue with each other? Pride. We want our own way. I want MY own way. I do. And when I don’t get it I scheme a way to get it. Ugh. I do that. Yep, I do.

You say my motives are wrong – I just want what gives me pleasure.

So, what to do? How can I change today? Resist temptation – You promise a way out – grace to stand against these desires and choose Your way. The answer…humility. Humble myself before You. I’m not always right, my way isn’t always right or best (although in my mind it sure seems like it to me!) Do I trust You? Yes. Help me to grow in trust, keep my heart soft, and stay close to You so I can hear You. I don’t want divided loyalty, my desire is to pursue You alone.

P~ Lord, help! I see things in me – in my heart and my actions and words and thoughts that I do NOT like! I am coming close – whisper to me the way to go, the way to think, the way to respond. Transform me – help me to reflect You. I feel impatient and irritable and I know that is not from You and I want that to change. Show me. I love You~

Pray, Not Criticize or Judge | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ Don’t speak evil against each other, my dear brothers and sisters.  If you criticize each other and condemn each other, then you are criticizing and condemning God’s law.  But you are not a judge who can decide whether the law is right or wrong.  Your job is to obey it.  God alone, who made the law, can rightly judge among us.  He alone has the power to save or to destroy.  So what right do you have to condemn your neighbor?  James 4:11-12  (NLT)

O~ I am not to pass judgment on people, it’s not my place, God is judge.

A~ I need to pray for people and their situation and ask God how he would want to use me in that person’s life and what he wants me to do.

P~ Dear Father, please forgive me for criticizing and judging.  I don’t like that for me, I am pretty sure no one does.  Please show me what you want me to do. I love you.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on July 20, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

