July 19 2 Kings 17; 2 Chronicles 28; Psalms 46; James 3

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Ready To Help | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ God is our refuge and strength, always ready to help in times of trouble. Psalms 46:1 (NLT)

O~ God is ready to help in times of trouble.  He doesn’t run away or hide his face.  He’s there to help.

A~ I need to be God’s vessel, and allow him to work through me.  Not be intimidated by the need.

P~ Dear Lord help me to remember to turn to you and let you work through me.  To not give in to fear.

Be Still My Heart | Kelley DeAses

S~  Be still, and know that I am God. Psalm 46:10 (NIV)

O~ The lyrics of Steven Curtis Chapman’s song, “Be Still and Know,” come to mind whenever I come across this verse.  I repeat that song (and this psalm) over and over like a mantra to myself when my mind starts to race.  Amid a flurry of summer activities, items on the to-do list, emails and text messages, errands to run, and nagging thoughts that I’m not doing any of it well enough, I try to tell myself, “Be still, Kelley, and know that He is God.”

A~  If I can know — really, fully grasp — He is God, Sovereign over all Creation yet knows my every thought, then I can relax my grip.  I can rest in knowing He is big enough, wise enough, capable enough, and strong enough to tackle what I cannot.  He’s got this, so I don’t need to.  I am only asked to take a breath, quiet my heart, and acknowledge He is who He says He is.

P~  Father, You are God. I am not. The end.

Watch My Tongue| Jill Terry

S~ With it we bless our Lord and Father, and with it we curse men, who have been made in the likeness of God; James 3:9 (NAS)

O~ James 3:5 says So also the tongue is a small part of the body, and yet it boasts of great things.

Our tongues are mighty weapons capable of bringing joy and happiness or harm and disillusionment in a flash. We can apologize for harmful words, but they never go away. The pain of hateful words can last a lifetime.

A~ Every single person is made in the image of God. If I use my tongue to be hateful or gossip, I am in essence saying those things about God. I am harming God with my words. I do NOT want to be that person. I know what it is like to have that happen to me. Why on earth would I do that to someone else?

P~ Lord, thank You for showing me how truly harmful my words can be. I’m sorry for using my tongue in a hateful and not a helpful manner. Amen

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

 

 

 

Posted on July 19, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

