July 17 Isaiah 29,30,31; James 1

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

I Need a Hero! | Tara Wiley

S~ I, the Lord of Heaven’s Armies, will act for you with thunder and earthquake and great noise, with whirlwind and storm and consuming fire. Isaiah 29:6 (NLT)

O~ The Lord of Heaven’s Armies will act for ME. Whoa.

In our New Testament grace-focused theology, so often we forget that God is gracious and compassionate, but He is also POWERFUL. Awe-inspiring. He puts any imagined superhero to shame.

A~ One day we will see His power on magnificent display as He destroys this broken earth and creates a perfect one.

But today I can know His power in my life. And I need it! I need this kind of supernatural deliverance. I want Him to come in with the flame of a devouring fire, to consume those things that threaten to enslave and cripple me. My strongholds are tumbleweed in the face of His power. He has the ability to purify and transform and heal me today.

P~ Lord, You are so powerful! You are the Mighty Deliverer, and You rise to action for me! That’s exactly what I need. When I am tempted to feel powerless, remind me of the power within me through Your Holy Spirit. Rush in, consume the enemy, and purify me for Your work. I want to be effective and powerful for You! Oh thank You, Lord, that nothing is impossible with You.

Compassion | Jill Terry

S~ Therefore the LORD longs to be gracious to you, And therefore He waits on high to have compassion on you. For the LORD is a God of justice; How blessed are all those who long for Him. Isaiah 30: 18 (NAS)

O/A~ God is merciful and compassionate. He desires to have an intimate relationship with every single one of us. Those who believe in Him are so richly blessed due to our longing for and trust in Him. Compassion, just, worthy and fair. What an awesome God I serve!

P~ Thank You Lord for Your graciousness. Amen

Troubles, testing, and temptation | Nikki Metzger

S~ God blesses those who patiently endure testing and temptation. James 1:12 (NLT)

O~ Troubles WILL come my way (James 1:2) and it’s an opportunity for my faith to grow.  Testing and temptation should be expected too.  Troubles, testing, and temptation are a part of life, but as a believer, they can help me.

A~ So basically, I want to write all of James 1 down.  James 1:14,15 says that:  Temptation comes from our own desires, which entice us and drag us away.  These desires give birth to sinful actions.  And when sin is allowed to grow, it gives birth to death.

I am never going to get away from troubles, testing, and temptation.

It’s a part of life, believers and non-believers.  But if I can get through this…..God promises me His blessings!!

P~ Father, thank You for Your Word…..some days the troubles, testing, temptation are too much, I just want to crawl into bed and watch Netflix.  I just don’t know what to do!

Every good gift | Kelley DeAses

S~ Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows.  James 1:17 (NIV)

O~  Almost ten years ago now, my husband and I were helping host college kids serving as YoungLife leaders by opening our home a couple times a month, serving dinner, and letting them use our living room for worship, brainstorming, teaching, and planning sessions.  During this season, I had occasion to attend a leader’s retreat out of town.  I remember learning a new (to me) worship song using the words to this verse from James.  When I had my second baby shortly thereafter, I would sing it to him as a lullaby.  The sweet memory of rocking my newborn son is where my mind goes when I read, “Every good and perfect gift is from above…”

A~ This morning, my husband, who had just come off a 12-hour overnight shift, surprised me by bringing up coffee, just the way I like it, to my bedroom while I got ready for work. It set the tone for a good day for me and for us.  Even a small gesture such as this, which did not cost him anything, was meaningful beyond delivering my dose of morning caffeine.

God lavishes on me all the time; I just need to have eyes to see it and a heart to receive it.  When I have a grumbling and complaining spirit, I imagine My Father is disappointed in my choice to overlook my blessings to focus on my problems instead.  And that really only hurts me in the end.  He is the Giver of good gifts and unchanging in His nature. I am the one who is all over the map based on moods and circumstance.

P~ Father, Thank You for Your goodness and Your good gifts to me, to include my husband and my two sons.  Help me receive well Your gifts , and take my eyes off the things I lack.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on July 17, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Yes, Susan, I SO feel the struggle! Sometimes it feels impossible to have victory.

  2. “Religion that God our Father accepts as pure and faultless is this: to look after orphans and widows in their distress and to keep oneself from being polluted by the world.” James 1:27

    How do we keep from being polluted by the world? How do I live in the world and not be corrupted without putting myself in a bubble and losing touch? Does anyone else feel that struggle? I guess one of the main ways is persevering in the word of God.

    Thanks for all you shared today.

Leave a Reply

