July 12 Isaiah 11,12,13,14; Hebrews 9

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Make me like Jesus, Lord! | Nikki Metzger

S~ He will delight in obeying the Lord.  He will not judge by appearance nor make a decision based on hearsay. Isaiah 11:3 (NLT)

O~ Isaiah is prophesying about Jesus in this verse.

A~ My goal always (or should be) is to be more like Jesus.  To delight in obeying God, to not judge by appearance, or to make a decision on what others say, according to this verse.

Honestly, sometimes I don’t delight in obedience to God……..well, probably most of the time I don’t do that.  I judge others on appearance, and sometimes I make a decision based on what others say.

P~ Father, forgive me those times I’ve sinned!  I just want to look more like Jesus.  Please help me to delight in obedience to You, to not judge by appearance or make decisions on hearsay.  I pray this in Jesus’ Name!

Grace | Jill Terry

S~ But when Christ appeared as a high priest of the good things to come, He entered through the greater and more perfect tabernacle, not made with hands, that is to say, not of this creation; and not through the blood of goats and calves, but through His own blood, He entered the holy place once for all, having obtained eternal redemption. Hebrews 9:11-12

O~ Jesus entered into the greatest tabernacle, the heavenly realm of God. It was not made by human hands; such as earthly tabernacles were but brought into existence by God so that Jesus could fulfill prophecy. Jesus came so we would longer have to sacrifice animals or keep the Old Testament law. Jesus made the ultimate sacrifice for us.

A~ Sometimes, grace just seems to easy. I feel like I should have to do something difficult to secure my place in Heaven but I don’t. I feel so blessed to live in a time where all I need is my faith in Jesus and the belief of His grace and mercy as demonstrated by his ultimate sacrifice.

P~ Thank You Jesus for giving your all to save me. I feel so unworthy. Amen

The Real Deal | Michelle Myers

S~ Christ did not go into the Most Holy Place made by humans, which is only a copy of the real one.  He went into heaven itself and is there now before God to help us.  Hebrews 9:24 (NCV)

O~ Christ is in the REAL place.  He is sitting by the REAL God.  He is there to REALLY help me.

A~ Anything of this world, made by humans is flawed.  It brings me comfort to know that YOU are not of this world or in this world.  It brings me comfort to know that YOU are there to help me.  You have no hidden agenda, aren’t going to use lies and manipulation to get what you want, and that YOU are the REAL deal.

P~ Thank you Christ for being my helper and advocate.  Please  help me remember to keep my eyes on you when the things of this world are trying to divert my attention.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

 

Posted on July 12, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Nikki, I’m with you! This is an area I need to actively work on. When I think of not judging on appearances or what others say, I think of the counter action, which is viewing all things through the eyes of Christ. To do that, for me, I think I need to do three things, actively draw closer to Christ regularly, daily confess my sins and ask God to purify my heart (Ps. 19:12-14), and be diligent in taking my thoughts captive and making them obedient to Christ. Thanks for the reminder today!

Leave a Reply

