July 11 Isaiah 8,9,10; Hebrews 8

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Crazy thinking! | Nikki Metzger

S~ The Lord has given me a strong warning not to think like everyone else does. Isaiah 8:11 (NLT)

O~ Isaiah was warned by God to be different than his fellow people.

A~ Honestly, I feel like a crazy person when I talk most times.  I always feel the need to tell people that too.  Why?

Because when I hear the words that come out of my  mouth now and I compare them to what used to come out of my mouth – it sounds like a completely different person.

I blame God!  He has knocked some of my old thinking down and replaced it with truth.  I understand His character a little better and I’m blown away by Jesus.  I just cannot get enough of Him.

But, all of this has made me feel isolated at times.  In my home, at work, doing life, even at church.  But I think that’s ok.  I know what God says about confirming to the patterns of this world.  You let Him change your thinking first, so your words look different than everyone else’s.

So it’s ok if I feel out of place and like a crazy person when I talk to others.  He has warned me to not think like everyone else.  But I also can’t avoid others because He made us to be in relationship with others.  We are all family!

P~ God, thank You for reassuring me over and over!  I remember when I was saved, I was toe in and I told myself that I would NEVER be like those crazy Jesus-loving people who talk about You ALL the time.  Ha!!!!  I guess, never say never when it is in regards to You!  You = Everything.  I’m all in for You, Your Kingdom, getting as many Home as possible.  I love You and thank You for changing my thinking to differently from everyone else’s.

Close to You | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ The Lord said to me in the strongest terms: “Do not think like everyone else does.  Do not be afraid that some plan conceived behind closed doors will be the end of you.  Do not fear anything except the Lord Almighty.  He alone is the Holy One.  If you fear him, you need fear nothing else. “ Isaiah 8:11-13 (NLT)

O~ Here Isaiah shares the words God gave to him when Israel and Judah were going to fall in the hands of the Assyrians.

A~ I woke up feeling “off” today.  I have set some boundaries with a person in my life and it feels weird to me.  I have guilt feelings as if I should do more.  Thoughts of “how could I do this to that person” jump in and out of my mind. It’s almost as if I’m going through withdrawals from the toxic in our relationship.  Here God reminds me to stay close to Him.  To fear Him and nothing else.

P~ Thank you God for showing me peaceful ways.  Help me to stay close to you.  Keep me close.   Help my thoughts today.  I also pray for this person, bring their hearts rest.  Heal their body, and remind them of how much you love them.

What’s in a Name? | Kelley DeAses

S~ And he will be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.  Isaiah 9:6 (NIV)

O~ A book I just finished reading reminded me the name “Jesus” means “the Lord saves.”  This verse from Isaiah, predicting a coming Messiah, uses these four names. [Arguably, there are five names, as my Bible commentary suggests “Wonderful” here is a noun, not an adjective describing “Counselor”….. but I digress).  Surely no one but the Son of God could be given such names as these, and so many others we find sprinkled throughout Scripture.  Good Shepherd, Bread of Life, Living Water, Cornerstone, just to name a few.  But one thing we can glean from all these names ascribed to Jesus Christ is this: In Him, all our needs are met and all our deficiencies and shortcomings can be made whole and holy.

A~ I once learned one of the meanings for my name is “frequent churchgoer” (which is particularly appropriate now that I work at a church!)  I am forever facilitating a class, teaching kids at VBS, speaking at or attending a retreat, rocking babies in the nursery, enjoying fellowship at a ladies’ brunch, and on and on.  A typical Sunday for me is worshiping at two different churches, one in the morning and another one in the evening.

But when I am not at church or out among people being my extroverted self, in the quiet and the dark, I can have other names for myself: impatient, unforgiving, undisciplined, unloving, not good/thin/pretty/smart/kind enough.  But then God whispers to my heart that He knows these insecurities I have, He sees my successes and my failures, and He loves me anyway.  Enough to have sent His perfect, sinless Son to give His life for me.  And when He looks at me, He sees Jesus.

P~ Lord, Your name is above every other.  And still You call me Your child.

Ready for Better | Michelle Myers

S~ And the new agreement is based on promises of better things.  Hebrews 8:6 (NCV)

O~ Jesus came to do what the old agreement could not do….free us from sin and death.

A~ This verse gives me so much hope, as I am ready and eager for better things.

P~ Thank you Jesus for taking my place on the cross, so I can live free.  Please help me remember your promises, especially when I am having a rough day or having a conflict with someone.

Equipped | Robin Laney

S~ This is the covenant I will make with the house of Israel after that time, declares the Lord. I will put my laws in their minds and write them on their hearts. I will be their God and they will be my people. Hebrews 8:10 (NIV)

O~ God made covenants, agreements, with His people throughout history, covenants of works. Jesus’ death and resurrection is the new covenant, a covenant of grace. This new covenant included a helper, the Holy Spirit, who lives in us when we submit to Jesus as Lord.

A~ I have thought about this verse often today and now, at the end of the day, I am so aware and grateful for this covenant He has made with me.

I am easily distracted, easily influenced, prone to be driven by my emotions, and undisciplined about many things. I procrastinate and let time get away from me. Today, I considered how my life would look if my spiritual direction, faith, love, obedience and growth depended solely on me.  If I only had a written law to live by and it depended on me to know it and follow it by my own will I would be in huge trouble. There wouldn’t be enough spotless lambs to save me!

But God! Oh, He knows me. He knows us, as a people, and He provided a way that doesn’t leave us to our own devices. He gives us free will but also gives us His Spirit to live in us to guide us if we allow him.

He has written His laws in my mind and on my heart and by the Holy Spirit He speaks to me, nudges me, urges me, reminds me, and presses me. He teaches me and keeps me steady. He holds me up when I cannot stand and makes me lie down when I need to. He speaks through me and shuts my mouth when I let Him. His covenant will stand because of what He has done and what He does.

He is mine and I am His.

P~ Thank you, Father, for Your provision. I am nothing without You. Nothing good comes from me except what You have given. What a life I have in You and also the hope of eternity with You! Amazing Grace!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

 

Leave a comment