July 10 Micah 5,6,7; Hebrews 7

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Walk With You | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ No, O people, the Lord has already told you what is good, and this is what he requires: to do what is right, to love mercy, and to walk humbly with your God.  Micah 6:8  (NLT)

O~ Mercy—compassion or forgiveness shown toward someone whom it is within one’s power to punish or harm.

A & P~ Thank you for the work you’re doing in my life, in my heart.  For the things that I don’t like but you allow in order to bring out or to teach me what is right.  Please forgive me for being stubborn, for having a hard heart.  Please don’t give up on me, Lord.  Soften my heart, help me rest in you.  Show me what it means to walk with you, show me how, and help me to embrace what you have for me.

John, My Beloved | Kelley DeAses

S~ He has showed you, O man, what is good.  And what does the Lord require of you? To act justly, and to love mercy, and to walk humbly with your God.  Micah 6:8 (NIV)

O~ These words, couched within this tiny book at the back of the Old Testament, can be found on many a poster, bookmark, or decorative plate at any Christian bookstore.  It makes a great life verse for a graduating high school senior.  A former pastor of mine used to say he’d have this verse at the ready for nearly every “What should I do?” question tearfully posed to him in a closed-door counseling session.  But what does this really look like, living out these lofty goals of acting justly, loving mercy, and humbly walking with God?

A~ Sometimes it’s in the little things.  I was able to see this play out beautifully in my husband yesterday, and it blessed me.  The day before, after a long day of post-July 4th weekend driving, John took offense at a comment someone had made around the dinner table, proceeded to let it fester to the point he lashed at me, acted sulky and rude to our hosts, and ended our vacation on a really sour note.  But here’s the amazing part.  The recovery.  In his anger and angst, he ultimately retreated to the basement and opened His Bible.  He ascended the stairs a couple hours later with a heartfelt apology and some perspective on how he had gotten sucked in (almost against his will) on a downward spiral which led him to a dark place emotionally.  Even though he and I had some serious tension for several hours, what an amazing man of God to go to Scripture until his attitude lined up with His attitude and then to show such great humility in asking my forgiveness.  (My own pride will scarcely let me show that kind of contrite ownership of my sins; I am one who tends to just let things blow over and not speak of them again, especially when I am in the wrong.)

P~ Father, Thank You for my husband.  He is not only a gift to me, but an example to me of how You want me to live in relationship with others and in my walk with You.

All He Really Wants | Michelle Myers

S~ The LORD has told you, human, what is good; he has told you what he wants from you: to do what is right to other people, love being kind to others, and live humbly, obeying your God. Micah 6:8 (NCV)

O~ Prior to this verse, God is talking about how people want to know what will please Him….burnt offerings, sacrificing their first child for the evil they have done, etc.?……What is it?    God has made clear, what is good and what He wants from me.

A~ I am making progress in the “do what is right to other people, love being kind, living humbly and obediently” areas; but as You know, I fail a lot.  The other day, failed miserably while grocery shopping.  Not as miserably as I would have in the past, but more than I normally do anymore.  And I know, that it is because I did not listen to You.  You told me I had, had enough; but I wanted to get it all done.  I didn’t want to have to come back later in the week (still didn’t remember everything, so that plan of mine, failed anyway).  I was more concerned with my plan, my will, etc. than my internal peace and spiritual righteousness.  Consequently, my heart wasn’t right.  As a result, I was not as patient with other shoppers as I should have been.  Nothing over the top, but I think there were a few times my tone wasn’t as loving as it should have been or my body language didn’t give off a warm, loving, kind vibe.  Then my kids got the brunt of it.  While doing their best to help me, there was nothing patient or loving about my tone or body language while checking out.  It was apparent to everyone that I was beyond my limit.  I had to repent.  I had to apologize.  I also had to remember the frustration I felt with both my kids and my husband the week before, for them behaving in a similar manner after returning from vacation.  I guess we ALL have our limits.  That is why it is important that I humbly obey you, and why I quickly forgive others when they surpass theirs.  Point taken, God.

P~ Thank you God for Your grace and mercy, while teaching me, about grace and mercy.  I apologize for not being the best representative for You.  I apologize for not being humbly obedient.  Please just continue to speak to my heart and show me where I am not in alignment with YOU.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on July 10, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

