July 9 Micah 1,2,3,4; Hebrews 6

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Knowing Who To Listen To | Michelle Myers

S~ But you people want a false prophet who will tell you nothing but lies. You want one who promises to prophesy good things for you if you give him wine and beer. He’s just the prophet for you. Micah 2:11 (NCV)

O~ Micah was different than the other prophets, because he told the people what they did not want to hear. He pointed out how worthless their idols were and how pointless it was to worship them. The people responded by telling him to be quiet.

A~ My pride has often kept me from hearing things that I really needed to hear. It has also elicited a defensive response many times, when I am told things by people, given advice from people, etc. A lot of this has to do with the fact that for many years, the people close to me didn’t have my best interest in mind, and there was no positive purpose to their words, criticism, etc.

Yet, the more secure I become in YOU, the more secure I become in who YOU created me to be, and the more willing I am to listen to the people, YOU tell me I should listen to. I am much more aware of people’s motives. I have even had many of my own blinders removed, and I am able to see the blinders others have, that prevent them from seeing clearly.

P~ Thank you God for your wisdom. The “wisdom” from people has often lead me down some bad paths. It has caused me a lot of pain. It has been destructive. It has been selfishly motivated. Please just continue to show me, give me wisdom, give me strength, and give me courage.

It’s All His | Luisa Penaherrera

S~  …the Lord of all the earth.  Micah 4:13  (NLT)

O~  God through Micah is telling the people what is going to take place because of their disobedience.  Then he speaks of the nations that come to attack Jerusalem, how they gather together eager to gloat over Jerusalem’s destruction.  And still speaking of the nations that attack Jerusalem, verses 12, 13 say: But they do not know the Lord’s thoughts or understand his plan.  These nations don’t know that he is gathering them together to be beaten and trampled like bundles of grain on a threshing floor.  “Rise up and destroy the nations, O Jerusalem!” says the Lord.  “For I will give you iron horns and bronze hooves, so you can trample many nations to pieces.  Then you will give all the wealth they acquired as offerings to me, the Lord of all the earth.”

A~  This stood out to me because it was such a majestic statement, and it reminds me that He is just that!  It is all His, all of it, the earth and everything in it.  Things go on around us that I might not understand, but I am his and he looks after his children.  He is in control even when it seems everything is out of control.

P~  Thank you, God, help me remember this.  Keep me humble before you.  I love you.

Following the Faithful | Kelley DeAses

S~ We do not want you to become lazy, but to imitate those who through faith and patience inherit what has been promised.  Hebrews 6:12 (NIV)

O~ I am so grateful to serve a Savior to whom I have direct access.  I can speak to Him, hear from Him, and spend time fostering a relationship with Him.  But what a blessing it is to have mentors in the faith to spur me on and demonstrate what it means to walk with God.

A~ I have some amazing spiritual mentors, including some who have already passed into eternity with the Lord.  When I get discouraged and weary, I can remember these role models in the faith and the good works they have done in Your name.

P~ Father, Thank You for the sweet saints You have placed in my life along the way.  And help me to likewise be an encouragement to others who may look at my life as an example. (Heaven help them! … and me.)

Struggling with Patience | Joni Tyner

S~ Then Abraham waited patiently, and he received what God had promised. Hebrews 6:15 (NLT)

O~ Hebrews was written to encourage Hebrew-Christians in their faith. They were often persecuted and my study Bible states they may have struggled with understanding some Biblical truths.

A~ Patience isn’t one of my strengths. It’s actually a weakness, big time!!! I think to get things done and see results so when God’s timing is not Joni’s timing, well… I start to question things. I don’t want to have weak faith but sometimes it’s hard to see good when life isn’t so good—just being transparent. 😦

P~ Dear Lord, please feel my heart with patience and a spirit of joy and contentment when my circumstances aren’t what I would choose. Help me to embrace the journey of faith and enjoy the process. Please protect my thoughts from wandering to places that feed my discontentment (aaa….this would be comparison to others) I want to focus on all the good things I have; I really want to grow up and quit having these little temper tantrums with You because things aren’t happening fast enough. I’m sorry!!- Pease forgive me and help me replace all this grumbling with gratitude.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

 

 

 

Posted on July 9, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

