July 4 2 Kings 15,16; Hosea 1; Hebrews 1

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Recommitting | Kim Chipman

S~ But he did not destroy the pagan shrines, and the people still offered sacrifices and burned incense there. 2 Kings 15:4 (NLT)

O~ Both King Uzziah and his son Jotham (v35) “did what was pleasing in the Lord’s sight” except destroy the pagan shrines. The rulers that followed them did NOT do what was pleasing to the Lord, they slid back to pagan worship and practices. Even King Uzziah, at the end, was destroyed by pride.

A~ Today is July 4, Independence Day. Last year this verse stood out to me and here it is again. The reason is that one of my high places is alcohol. I know You want me to STOP drinking it ENTIRELY. You want me to be set apart in this area. I know You do. Last year I gave it up…declared this day my day of dependence on You. Then it crept back in. Started at the holidays (just a little celebration won’t hurt, right?) and I justified it here and there and next thing you know it’s more often. Do I get drunk? No. But I know you asked me to STOP. I’m embarrassed that I backslid, but I know confessing (to myself and others) will bring my junk into the light which is the first step to healing.

I’m not giving up! Once again this year I am declaring my dependence on You today. I’m recommitting to obey You in this area. I know You want Your best in my life. I know it is sin for me because You asked me to stop. I also see the generational struggle from Uzziah to Jotham…I don’t want my kids to have any struggle that is my leftovers!

P~ Give me strength! I know there is always a way out of temptation, You promise that. Help me to not justify my desires in the moment as “no big deal. Disobedience is a big deal. Help me to remember Your promises and walk in obedience instead of picking temporary, momentary comfort and enjoyment. You are best! I love You!

God Has My Best in Mind | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ The Lord struck the king with leprosy, which lasted until the day of his death; he lived in a house by himself.  2 Kings 15:5  (NLT)

O~ This verse stood out to me because of the quick reaction I had to get mad at God.  To blame him and fear him for doing something like that.

A & P~ Do I really trust that you have my best interest at heart? That you know what you are doing when you allow bad things to happen?  I do, Lord, when I am quiet and still, I know deep in my heart I do, but I can see that in my heart there is still fear, there is still doubt.  Please forgive me.  I look at my life and when I think of some of the things I remember as bad things—I grew through those things.  I came out hurt, but I learned.  There is still a small part that hangs on to the idea that I have to look out for myself because no one else will, but that’s a lie.  Thank you, Father for looking out for me.  Thank you for wanting to do so.

Jeremiah 29:11  “For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord.  “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.  (NLT)

“For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, “ saith the Lord, “thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end.”  (KJV)

Lost My Focus | Michelle Myers

S~ The son reflects the glory of God and shows exactly what God is like. Hebrews 1:3 (NCV)

O~ To truly know God, I have to know Jesus.

A~ There are many characteristics of You that I am still along way from perfecting. I have made progress with some, and am so thankful for that. Yet, there is one that is so far out of alignment with Jesus. More than anything, I want to have Jesus’ emotional stability. If I can remain emotionally stable, regardless of my external circumstances, my internal yuk for the day, or other people’s words or actions in regards to anything and everything; much of the other characteristics of Jesus will fall into place. Regardless of where my hormones are on any given day……regardless of how demanding my kids are on any given day…….no matter how grumpy my husband is on any given day…..no matter what happens, if I can remain emotionally stable, I am much more likely to be loving, kind, patient, etc. and glorify YOU.

I know I can do it. I know that it is a choice. I have chosen it before, in many different circumstances; when people have been anything but loving, kind, and patient toward me. I was able to do this, because I kept my focus on YOU. When the people closest to me got worse instead of better, and my circumstances seemed to defeat me rather than bring about any kind of victory; I got worn out and frustrated. I took my eyes off of YOU. I closed my ears to YOUR truths. I tried to make sense of and rationalize with the confusion in my head, instead of following what YOU were saying to my heart. Thus, taking me farther and farther, out of alignment with YOU.

P~ Thank you God for your wisdom. Please help me to choose better. Please help me stay focused on YOU. In turn, this will help me stay more emotionally stable, and be a better representative of YOUR character.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Posted on July 4, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Michelle Myers

    …OR the new French bakery just opened up and I should support local business. I will exercise it off tonight. We’ll take the kids and make it a “family thing”. UGH!!! So many excuses that I struggle with.

  2. Kim, I’ve failed in this area too. I believe that He has called me to this obedience, yet I started making little excuses like, “it’s vacation” or , i’ve had a tough day” or “it doesn’t affect anything”- all of which is true. Still, I felt that, for me, I needed to do what I say and feel good about it. That was another thing, people start noticing when you decline alcohol and want to know why. I would try and explain and they would give me a weird look, I shouldn’t care what others think.. I just know that obedience is always hard, yet I know it will be worth it.

    thanks for sharing and being so transparent. 🙂

    • Here’s the verse I’ve chosen to help redirect my thoughts when I’m tempted…So, my dear brothers and sisters, be strong and immovable. Always work enthusiastically for the Lord, for you know that nothing you do for the Lord is ever useless. (‭1 Corinthians‬ ‭15‬:‭58‬ NLT) I feel like that will help the whispers of ‘it’s no big deal’ in my head. Nothing I do for the Lord is useless. Nothing. It matters. He sees.

  3. Ditto, Jill.

  4. Thank you all for being so real today.

Leave a Reply

