July 2 Isaiah 4,5; Psalms 115,116; Jude

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Not Understanding | Michelle Myers

S~ How terrible it will be for people who call good things bad and bad things good, who think darkness is light and light is darkness, who think sour is sweet and sweet is sour.  Isaiah 5:20 (NCV)

O~ God’s way is not the world’s way.

A~ I have made a great deal of progress when it comes to recognizing what the world says is important, is really not that important.  That doesn’t mean that it is always easy to give up some of my fleshly desires.  Nor, am I where I want to be in this area, but I have made progress.

One area, where I feel that I struggle with, even more than I have in the past, is in regards to forgiveness and people.  I understand, one aspect that I was missing, was the need for boundaries.  I have made progress in this area; however, it is often a confusing process in trying to figure out where to draw the line or how to do different.  I understand that forgiveness is for my benefit.  However, when you have had a slew of people that have been repeatedly forgiven, with or without apologies from them, but continue to repeatedly participate in the same destructive and hurtful behavior; it doesn’t seem like there is any benefit in forgiveness of these people.  I know that there are aspects of this, from your point of view, God, that I am not understanding.

P~ Thank you God for your guidance.  Please help me with boundaries, forgiveness, and understanding.

His Wisdom, Not Mine | Robin Laney

S~Woe to those who are wise in their own eyes and clever in their own sight. Isaiah 5:21 (NIV)

O~ God’s people had exchanged their faith in Him for other pursuits. They had set aside all they knew of Him, all He had done and commanded, and had gone their own way. They thought they knew better than God and saw themselves as wise and able to discern between good and evil and right and wrong on their own. They had gotten a bit above their raisin’.

A~ I think things about stuff. Sometimes, I feel certain that I am right and I am. Other times, I am not. I read a lot and, while most times, I measure what I read against God’s word, either discarding it as untrue or being enlightened with new information, sometimes I respond emotionally without weighing it out and adopt the thoughts and ideas as my own and feel all the wiser for it. Then, I regurgitate it not taking the time to really discern if it is true or not. Most, if not all times, God will show me where I am off track in my thinking. He is so faithful to show me the truth and remind me that I can be easily misguided in my thinking. It is very humbling but also very comforting to know that God doesn’t expect me to do it right on my own but has given me the Holy Spirit, who shows me the truth and keeps me humble so as not to become wise in my own eyes, but instead to always look to Him for understanding and Wisdom.

P~ Lord, thank you that you impart your Wisdom by the Holy Spirit and through your Word. Thank You that You have given us a written source that enables us to know You and Your heart and to show us Your ways. Help me to always look to You for the Truth and not to become wise in my own eyes, to stay humble, and to remain focused on You so as not to be swayed with the ideas of the world but, instead, to be clear about what is right and wrong in Your eyes. Lord, give me Your Wisdom.

He Hears | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ I love the Lord because he hears and answers my prayers.  Because he bends down and listens, I will pray as long as I have breath!  Psalms 116:1,2 (NLT)

O & A~ This reminds me that God sees me, us.  What we say to him is important and he is listening.

P~ Thank you, dear God, that you see me, hear me, love me and answer me.  I love you, too. ❤

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

 

 

 

Posted on July 2, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

