July 1 Isaiah 1,2,3; Titus 3

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Creating My Own Misery | Michelle Myers

S~ Why should you continue to be punished?  Why do you continue to turn against him?  Your head is hurt, and your whole heart is sick.  There is no healthy spot from the bottom of your foot to the top of your head; your are covered with wounds, hurts, and open sores that are not cleaned and covered, and no medicine takes away the pain.  Your land is ruined; your cities have been burned with fire.  While you watch, your enemies are stealing everything from your land; it is ruined like a country destroyed by enemies.  Isaiah 1:5-7 (NCV)

O/A~ Well, those are pleasant versus…NOT!  The people of Israel have turned away from God.  They are sinning terribly.  The above versus describe the consequences they are suffering as a result of their sins.  Now, you would think, that whatever behavior, words, thoughts, or actions are bringing on the results (consequences) described above, would be unpleasant enough to make them change and start turning toward God.   I often would question, “What is wrong with these people in Israel?”…… ” Why would you put yourself through that?”……. “Why are you are creating your own misery?”

Then, you showed me God, that it is simple, but not easy.  For someone with an addiction, the body needs time away from whatever the substance is, that one is addicted to.  This is so the body can heal.  Also, so that the person’s behavior can change enough, to allow the brain to heal and develop new habits, this in turn creates new healthy pathways in the brain.  Sounds like a simple solution.  However, the temptation toward sin is often so overwhelming, that it is not that easy.

My husband and I just came out of another trigger cycle for me.  When this happens, I am not in the present moment.  I am not thinking rationally.  I want so badly to reign in the emotions and work through them in a healthy manner.  I have tools that I can use, and I know that if I can ward off my reaction to the emotions long enough, they will help me deal with the situation in a calmer, more rational manner.  Yet, more times than I would like, I give into the quick release of those emotions, and it is not pretty.  Even if what I am saying and the way I am feeling is valid, there is a better way to express myself, that does not leave a path of destruction behind for him, me, or my girls.

Certain situations and conditions make it harder to choose the right way (YOUR WAY), but not impossible.  When my hormones are off, I know that I really struggle with sweets and my appetite for them is limitless.  If I give in, I feel guilty and yucky afterwards.  When I was teaching and I was more tired than usual, it took more reliance on YOU to handle the kids in the right way.  If a kid was standing on his desk and my telling him to get down, resulted in a response from him, “F you B; come get me down!”  I had to rely more on you that day, to help me stay calm, present his choices and the resulting consequences of those choices.  Even though, at the time, I might have really wanted to say, “Look, you little moron, get your butt down NOW!”  In the end, that would not have been YOUR way.  The result would not have helped build a relationship with that student nor would it have de-escalated the situation.  It also probably would have gotten me written up.

I know that YOU have equipped me for what I face in life and the choices I have to make.  This seems so much harder with everything that has occurred.  The healing isn’t as quick as I would like.  I sometimes get frustrated with some of the misery I create for myself and my family.  I also know that this is part of the healing process.  Much of which, really involves knowing that I can’t do the right thing on my own; that I have to surrender and rely on YOU to help me.  Because I can TRY, TRY, and TRY with all of my might and REALLY, REALLY, REALLY want to do what is right; but time and time again on my own, I am unsuccessful.

P~ Thank you God for some clarity.  Thank you for my husband and family, who put up with me.  This healing process isn’t fun or easy for anyone.  Nor, it is as quick as any of us would like.  However, we are all growing and making progress.  For that, I am thankful for what has occurred.  If it wasn’t for the pain of the situation, and the pain of the healing process that we must go through; many opportunities to see YOUR power and glory, as well as, our own personal growth; would not have occurred.

How Do I Respond? | Kim Chipman

S~ Remind the believers to submit to the government and its officers. They should be obedient, always ready to do what is good. They must not slander anyone and must avoid quarreling. Instead, they should be gentle and show true humility to everyone. Titus 3:1-2 (NLT)

O/A~ Just a few days ago the Supreme Court ruled that the ban on same sex marriage violates the constitution, making it legal in all states.

The response from people has been varied, but this is pretty clear instruction about how believers are to respond. Submit, be obedient, do good, no slander, avoid quarreling, show true humility to everyone. It isn’t saying we have to agree with everything, but how I am to respond and conduct myself is clear.

Ultimately, I trust that You are in control. You allow things I don’t always understand, but You give me guidance through Your Word about how you want me to respond and treat people and when I meet You face to face that’s what I will be held accountable for. I want to hear those precious words, “Well done my good and faithful servant.”

P~ Lord, help me to live and love like Jesus – and to submit humbly to the authority You have put in place. I love You!

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on July 1, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. this is a great reminder of how we are to respond. With gentleness and humility.

  2. I wrote on the exact same thing, Kim.

Leave a Reply

