June 30 Amos 7,8,9; Psalms 104; Titus 2

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Not a Final Verdict | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ In my vision the locusts ate everything in sight that was green.   Then I said, “O Sovereign Lord, please forgive your people!  Unless you relent, Israel will not survive, for we are only a small nation. “  So the Lord relented and did not fulfill the vision.  “I won’t do it, “ he said.   Amos 7:2,3  (NLT)

O~ The Lord showed Amos a vision of what he had planned for punishment for Israel.  Amos asked God not to do it.

A~ There are times with my children that I get a glimpse of what’s ahead if they continue on the path of choices they are making and it doesn’t look good, and I just worry, because I figure it’s hopeless. I figure it is a final verdict.  It is not hopeless though.  Here this verse reminds me of God’s compassion.  Yes, he is trying to deal with the sin but here I’m reminded to persevere in prayer, to plead to God for my people (my children, my family, my friends, etc.) It is not final.

P~ Thank you Father for your heart of compassion.  Help me to persevere in prayer.

End the Famine | Kim Chipman

S~ “The time is surely coming,” says the Sovereign Lord“when I will send a famine on the land—not a famine of bread or water but of hearing the words of the Lord. Amos 8:11 (NLT)

O~ The Lord is speaking to Amos about the coming judgement against Israel.

A~ I often feel that our world (at least the part I can see) is in a famine like this right now. Parts of me can understand why actually…having the discipline of sitting with you in Your Word every day is just that…a discipline. It bears amazing fruit of peace BUT I have been in a place that when I’m going to do it I am so. unbelievably. distracted. I can’t focus, my mind is all over the place. I have had the habit of sitting with You with my coffee in the morning for a number of years now…this is my 9th time through the Bible actually. And there are times I go through this and it just drives me crazy. I know how much I need You, but it has really been a S-T-R-U-G-G-L-E.

I’m keeping up the fight, though…not giving up…praying this passes soon. It does require intentional effort to remain connected to You, but remaining is so important. It is the life giving daily bread for my soul. When I don’t do it I’m pretty miserable, cranky, irritable, annoyed.

It seems that even in the church the discipline of reading the Word for personal instruction is quite uncommon…in my experience anyway. Barna did a study that which discovered 28% of those surveyed never read the bible outside of church.  NEVER. Of those surveyed about 28% ready daily to several times a week. So really that means that 72% do not read on much of a regular basis…once a week or less. Access isn’t an issue really…the average Bibles per home is 4.4 and you can get free apps for your phone or look it up online for free.

I guess one thing about a famine is that it is usually not a choice…food is just not available. In this case we are choosing not to eat all the manna that is available for us each day.

P~ Lord, show me how I can reach more people with the message that the discipline of daily Bible reading is SO worth it! It has to be an intentional discipline but the rewards are priceless. I love You! Thank You for Your Word.

Train up the next group of ladies! | Nikki Metzger

S~ These older women must train the younger women to love their husbands and their children. Titus 2:4 (NLT)

O~ Oh my goodness, I knew it!! This loving of our husbands and children isn’t natural or instinctive – we must be trained! And as I reflect on this, I’m probably considered one of the ‘older’ women.

A~ I remember going on family vacation to Disney in Florida, my twins were two (enough said). The boys went golfing and my mom and I had the kids at one of the parks. One of them had a temper tantrum in a line in front of every single person that was at Disney that day (probably not true, but it felt like it.)

I remember thinking that I just wanted to walk away, to leave it all and be done with this parenting thing. I told my mom, “I’m done with this!”

I stuck it out, but those days of parenting littles was SOOOO exhausting! They need to eat three times a day, they need you to wipe their bottoms, you still have to bathe them, oh how my back would hurt. Then once they were in bed (thank You Jesus!), I was so exhausted I fell asleep or went into zombie mode watching tv.

I wish I had connected more with a wiser woman when my kids were little!

P~ Father, parenting is hard! Most days I feel so ill-equipped. Is there anyone You would like me to encourage in the training and loving your husband and kids? I LOVE YOU!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

 

Posted on June 30, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Thanks for posting Lisa!! I loved that movie too. So encouraging. Keep up with the SOAP journaling, it really makes the Bible come alive and personal to what is going on in your life.

  2. Michelle Myers

    Luisa, I also struggle with the same thoughts about how it is always going to be this way.. In fact, after an argument with my husband a few days ago, in which he had already apologized and I was not being very forgiving, I texted Kim. My text said, “Today is one of those days that I just don’t want to be married anymore.” One of her responses in texting back and forth was, “I would encourage you to think about what you are thinking about, though. Don’t stay with the ‘This is the same old thing.’ ‘This will never be better.’ rolling around for too long. Find some promises from God you can focus your thoughts on.” That made a huge difference in eventually being able to pin point why I was struggling so much and communicate more effectively with him. And honestly, it wasn’t the same as old thing. Apologies, from him, used to be rare and unauthentic to non-existent. My mind was preventing me from seeing the change.

    Nikki, I had many of those parenting moments myself when my girls were young and my husband was out…physically, emotionally, or both You have my admiration. Having them two years apart was hard enough, I couldn’t imagine having twins. Marriage and parenting is sooo challenging. The challenges just seem to change with the different seasons of life. I REALLY DO love my family, but some days I just feel like opening a cat farm somewhere and becoming a crazy cat lady. Some days, dealing with 25 cats seems like it would be easier than dealing with 1 husband and 2 kids. 🙂

  3. Michelle Myers

    Lisa,
    Thank you for sharing your SOAP. I am so glad that something as simple as being in The Word and journaling about our common, everyday messes and struggles, is able to help others and glorify God.

  4. S. Titus 2:8 Teach the truth so that your teaching can’t be criticized. Then those who oppose us will be ashamed and have nothing bad to say about us.

    O. Paul is encouraging Titus. Of all things to choose to teach, choose truth. There are choices and results. No one can criticize the the truth and we know God’s Word will not return void. It will have an impact…eternally.

    A. Last night we watched “God’s Not Dead” on Netflix. A college freshman, on his first day of philosophy class, refused to conform to the professor’s first assignment: to write “God is dead” on a piece of paper, sign it and turn it in. Once there was a unanimous profession and agreement, they would not have to deal with any religious topic or writings, and could focus on atheist “teaching”. The whole class was “punished” and would have to “endure” the topic and defense of God’s existence by this one faith-convicted student.

    This was probably ~thee~ best Christian movie I’ve ever seen. The kids were actively engaged and watching it too, and saw the whole story unfold…there were several families and friendships and chance encounters weaving truth, choices, and results, and we saw how we are all intertwined and affected by each other’s beliefs.

    I was reminded another truth in life… “when the student is ready, the teacher appears” . The college freshman became the teacher in this case, and he taught truth to those who were ready to be students, including me and my kids. What we watch, what we do, what we talk about – with or in front of a group of people, or even a one-on-one conversation overheard by someone else – has impact, one way or another. We never know when we will be the teacher to a student who is ready for Truth.

    Thank you Louisa, Kim, and Nikki, and all the other bloggers, for weaving the truths of Jesus’ impact in your life into your reader’s lives. This is better than a movie…we get into God’s Word with a simple tap “here” and see how it has an effect “there”. And then, we can refocus our own heart on Him and impact those little peeps around us.

    P. thank you Jesus, for these girlfriends and your Word, and the way You and Your truth affect us all. You said it best in John 14:12: “Truly, truly, I say to you, he who believes in Me, the works that I do, he will do also; and greater works than these he will do; because I go to the Father.” You spoke truth, You spoke love. Bless these believers as they impact others in sometimes unknown but always powerful ways. Help me do the same today and every day.

Leave a Reply

