June 27 2 Kings 13,14; 2 Chronicles 25; 2 Timothy 3

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

They are Watching | Robin Laney 

S~ Don’t be naive. There are difficult times ahead. As the end approaches, people are going to be self-absorbed, money-hungry, self-promoting, stuck-up, profane, contemptuous of parents, crude, coarse, dog-eat-dog, unbending, slanderers, impulsively wild, savage, cynical, treacherous, ruthless, bloated windbags, addicted to lust, and allergic to God. They’ll make a show of religion, but behind the scenes they’re animals. Stay clear of these people. 2 Timothy 3:1-5 (MSG)

O~ Paul is warning Timothy of Godlessness in the last days. He is speaking of people who have a form of godliness but who deny the power of God. They claim to follow Christ and they might follow Christian traditions, they have Biblical knowledge and they speak fluent Christianese but their hearts are far from God. They lead others astray with their skewed ideas, their lack of faith and their poor judgment. Paul says to stay away from them.

A~ I cannot tell you how many people I know who tell me of people who claim to follow Christ who act anything but Godly. Some of those people have been turned off by Christianity and doubt God because of the actions of these people. I had a friend ask me recently why it is that people she knows who claim to be Christians post rants and other ungodly things along with memes about loving God on social media.

Now, I know that each person’s walk is an individual journey and that God is transforming them the same way He is constantly transforming me – in some cases I catch on quickly and in others I am a bit slow on the uptake. I also know that being a Christian is about following Christ, not other Christians. However, my conversations with these beloved people in my life who seek to know the Truth are watching those of us who claim to follow Christ. They are looking to see if he is worthy to follow by assessing our lives, whether we like it or not and whether it is right or not.

I fight all the time not to fall into the patterns of this world, to abide in Him, to view the world and the people in it through His eyes instead of my own, to try my best to have my actions and words match up with my claim of being a Christ follower. We are Christ’s ambassadors to a hurting world. We can’t look just like the world and expect people to believe Jesus offers something better. We aren’t saved just for the sake of our eternal security. We are saved for His sake, to glorify Him and show people the hope we have and that it’s available to them. We are to be set apart for Him so that others will see and praise Him.

P~ Lord, you have saved me and set me apart for Your purposes. Let me live in a way that brings glory to You and hope to the lost and hurting. Show me those ways in me that need to be changed and, by Your Holy Spirit, change me. Lord, shut my mouth when harm might be done to my witness and open my mouth boldly when You seek to speak through me. Make me ever mindful that others are watching me and judging You based on my actions. Let me speak Truth in Love and with Wisdom always.

My Character, His Power | Michelle Myers

S~ and will act as if they serve God but will not have his power. 2 Timothy 3:5 (NCV)

O/A-Paul is describing to Timothy how there will be many troubles in the last days.  He says that it will be this way, because of PEOPLE!  He says they will…..

–love themselves

–love money

–brag

–be proud

–say evil things against others

–not obey their parents

–not be thankful or the kind of people God wants

–not love others

–refuse to forgive

–gossip

–not control themselves

–be cruel

–hate what is good

–turn against their friends

–do foolish things without thinking

–be conceited

–love pleasure instead of God

–act as if they serve God but will not have his power

As an English teacher, these are not words that I would find appealing in a character from a novel.  These are not words that I want used, when someone is describing me.  Yet, in my sinful nature, I can honestly say at some level or to some degree, I struggle with many of these things.

I can easily minimize it, because I don’t want a BIG house, a FANCY car, an EXTRAVAGANT vacation, or a PERFECT husband; I just want a COMFORTABLE house, a RELIABLE car, a SIMPLE GET-A-WAY, a NON-ADDICTED husband.  And when I don’t get them, my words, actions, and attitude result in me showing my true character.  But when I truly, authentically just surrender all of my own personal YUK, as well as the YUK in my circumstances and other in other people, YOU give me YOUR power.  At that point, I am no longer just “acting” as if I serve YOU, but am really serving YOU.

You show me this is so many different ways.  Ways that I don’t think even really matter or are doing any good.  Last night was one of those ways.  I didn’t really feel like going to my meeting.  It had been a long day.  I was tired.  Yet, my oldest was in a foul mood, and I needed to get away from her for my own peace.  So, I went.  And in it, a lady who started the program, way before I did and who was much older than me, commented on how something I said over a month ago, has helped her change her perspective of a situation.  She used to struggle when she would see her estranged husband going to church.  She would obsess about how he is a hypocrite and he has everyone fooled, because he is still very active in his addiction.  My words helped her perspective change, and see it as God giving him another opportunity to change his heart, his life, repent, and make amends.  This has brought peace to her life.  That wasn’t my power, that was YOUR power, working through me.  When I try and do things in my own power, they are forced and usually end in frustration and disaster.

P~ Thank you God for my grouchy daughter, who prompted me to go to the meeting last night.  That was also your power.  In my power, I would have snapped at her, “Change your attitude!”.  Which adds more fuel to the fire, puts her in more of a funk, and frustrates me.  Please continue to help me see the characteristics in me, that I don’t want to be part of my character.  Then, with your power, help me change them.  The end result is, that you are able to use your power, through me, to help other people.  This glorifies you.

Your Word | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ All Scripture is inspired by God and is useful to teach us what is true and to make us realize what is wrong in our lives.  It straightens us out and teaches us to do what is right.  It is God’s way of preparing us in every way, fully equipped for every good thing God wants us to do.  2 Timothy 3:16, 17  (NLT)

O & A~  Amen to that!

P~ Thank you for your word, dear Father, for your guidance.  Please open my mind to understand your word clearly and wisely.

Only One Answer | Jill Terry

S~ always learning and never able to come to the knowledge of the truth. 2 Timothy 3:7 (NIV)

O/A~ This chapter of Timothy is referring to difficult times ahead for Christians and the hardships they will all face.

More and more, people are searching for answers from a variety of sources; an array of pastors, friends, books, the internet or somewhere else. But the truth will never be found until they open a Bible and start reading and learning the only truth that truly matters.

It’s not about me and what I write, it’s not about the other women who write for this website. It is about Jesus and every single person needing to pick up a Bible and letting the Word of God speak into their lives.

P~ Lord, please help those who are searching to learn from You and the truth You alone offer in Your Word. Amen

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

 

 

 

Posted on June 27, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

