June 26 Jonah 1,2,3,4; 2 Timothy 2

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Choose to Follow You | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ But Jonah got up and went the opposite direction in order to get away from the Lord.  Jonah 1:3  (NLT)

O~ God told Jonah to go to Nineveh and announce his judgment against it and Jonah went the other way.

A~ I feel like I’m doing this right now.  I’m in this relationship that I feel I have built up walls of protection from this person.  I feel God tugging me toward this person, but I want to go the other way.

P~ Father, help me with this.  Thank you for your love for us.  Please forgive my stubborn heart.  Please break through.  I’m going to do what you show me to do and trust you!

Redeption| Tara Wiley

S~ Then the sailors picked Jonah up and threw him into the raging sea, and the storm stopped at once. The sailors were awestruck by the Lord’s great power, and they offered him sacrifice and vowed to serve him. Jonah 1:15-16 (NLT)

O~ God used even Jonah’s rebellion to draw people to Himself.

A~ “Mommy fail.” It’s a tongue-in-cheek self-deprecating Facebook post, usually about the small stuff (forgot to pack a lunch… that kind of thing). But the reality is sometimes we REALLY fail. Sometimes I really fail as a mom. Selfishness, laziness, quick-to-speak angry outbursts: all of those moments can be defined as rebellion – willful acts against God’s perfect plan. The GOOD news, shown once again in this passage in Jonah, is that He can use even my rebellion to point people (most importantly to me, my children) to Himself.

P~ Lord, I won’t ever make Your grace and Your ability to redeem an excuse for me to be sinful and lazy, but oh, I am so thankful that You CAN redeem even the effects of my sin. These sailors were filled with fear, and almost lost their lives – they could have blamed Jonah for a lot. But in the end, You used Jonah’s sin and even the consequences in their own lives to direct the sailors to You. Let me be a continual picture of redemption to my children, as I humbly admit my need for You as a mom. I pray that You’d continue to grow me up to be more like You, and that the transformation will be a testimony to my children as well, drawing them to to vow a lifetime of service to You, our great Redeemer.

It’s God’s Choice, Not Mine | Michelle Myers

S~ So I patiently accept all these troubles so that those whom God has chosen can have the salvation that is in Christ Jesus. 2 Timothy 2:10 (NCV)

O/A~ Today I started out by reading Jonah, and I could relate to him in so many ways.  He didn’t do what God wanted.  He ends up in the belly of a whale.  He turns to God.  God saves him, by having the whale spit him up.  He goes and does what God wants him to do.  People change their hearts and lives and turn to God as a result of it.  God shows them mercy.  Jonah gets upset, because he didn’t want these people to be given mercy.  They had not been kind to his people.  That is why he didn’t want to listen to God and go tell then anything, in the first place.

Oh, I have been there.  “God, you can’t expect me to be loving toward this person.”…..”They hurt me so bad.”…….”I have given them chance, after chance, after chance and it doesn’t change.”…..”No good God would ask me to do that for someone who has done me so wrong.”…..And there it is!…… Just like with Jonah, it becomes about me, my agenda, my hurt, my pride.  And really, who am I?  It isn’t like God can’t say the same things about me, or hasn’t done the same things for me.

Instead, it should be about what Paul says in 2 Timothy 2:10….”So that all those whom God has chosen can have the salvation that is in Christ Jesus.”  I often get it wrong, like Jonah did.  I often don’t patiently accept all my troubles.  I don’t always see beyond myself, and even when I do, I often struggle and wrestle with YOU.  Especially, when it involves interacting with someone who has hurt me.  And, like Jonah, I am essentially trying to dictate, “whom God has chosen can have the salvation that is in Christ Jesus”.  Itis not my place to dictate that.

I know this is much worse since my life was turned upside down.  I know I focus on myself in the wrong way.  I focus on my will, my agenda, my hurt, etc.  I should focus on myself in regards to how I am aligning myself and my life with your will.  I should focus on myself in regards to being the only person I can allow to be changed by you, and the only person I can control.  Regardless of what other people do or do not do, I need to “stay in my own lane” and “keep my side of the street clean”.  Until I do that, my personal growth will be stunted.  My joy will be diminished.  My life will not be one that brings glory to you.

P~ Thank you God for helping me start to get “unstuck” in some areas.  I know that, with your help, I can do this.  I have done it before.  I have patiently accepted troubles.  Mistakenly, I thought I had my fair share of troubles, and grew impatient and turned the focus on how it had affected me.  I lost sight of the fact that you had me covered.  I needed to focus on how I was glorifying YOU and being an example that lead people to YOU.  Please forgive me, and continue to help me heal, grow, and be the representative for YOU, that you would like for me to be…

He is faithful | Nikki Metzger

S~ If we are unfaithful, He remains faithful, for He cannot deny who He is.  2 Timothy 2:13 (NLT)

O~ Jesus is ALWAYS faithful, it’s just His character.

A~ Jesus will remain faithful, even when I’m not.  I had a divine appointment this past weekend while out on a walk.  It was so easy.  I just needed to have a conversation with an older woman who was lonely, not even about Jesus, just about life.

Because of my fears, I chose not to initiate the conversation like I felt God calling me to.  I missed being a part of His plan, I was unfaithful 😦

Yet, Jesus cannot be unfaithful!  This is who I want to be more like!  This is who I want to follow!  This is who I want my life to be lived for!  The One who CANNOT be unfaithful!

P~ Jesus, I am sorry that I didn’t show up for that conversation!  But You were still faithful to that woman, weren’t You?  She was comforted by You somehow, someway, because You cannot deny who You are!  I LOVE YOU!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

 

 

 

Posted on June 26, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Tara, I had almost the exact same soap note! I was thankful for the reminder that God used Jonah’s disobedient mess and He can use my hot mess, too! I hope others (but especially my family!) can see God’s power through my weaknesses. That’s where it’s perfect, right? 😉

Leave a Reply

