June 24 2 Kings 11,12; 2 Chronicles 24; 1 Timothy 6

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Contentment| Jill Terry

S~ But godliness actually is a means of great gain when accompanied by contentment. 1 Timothy 6:6 (NAS)

O~ We gain more as we grow in Christ and we are satisfied with our lot in life.

A~ In May of 1997, we were doing pretty good financially. We had bought our first house and my husband had a fantastic job. I was a full time college student. We were on an upward trajectory in our lives. But, we were not Christians. My husband (who was 30) had a stroke at work one night and in an instant life as we knew it was over.

We ended up moving across the country to be near family. We had no money, no jobs and four kids. To put it mildly, it was a very trying time for us. It was there in the deep south on the night before Halloween in 1999, I became a Christian. My life changed again.

But, I had not learned contentment yet. Contentment took almost 15 years for me. I finally accepted last fall that although our financial life is way different than we ever anticipated or expected, we had so much to be grateful for. We had our faith and we had each other. We know now, it is only by the grace of God, we make it every month. We know it is only by the grace of God that my husband is still alive.

We have so much more than so many people. A big turning point for me in learning to be content was a sermon our pastor gave last fall. He directed us to a website called www.globalrichlist.com. I went to the site when we got home from church that Sunday and I learned something remarkable. Even though, by American standards, we are considered to be living in poverty, by worldwide standards we are in the top 2% of the richest people in the entire world! Learning that changed something in me. For the first time in my life, I am content. I know without a shadow of a doubt that God is always with us and He will not let us down.

P~ Thank you Jesus for always being there with us even when we didn’t realize it. I can look back and see Your hand through it all. Amen

The Life That Is Truly Life | Kelley DeAses

S~ Command them to do good, to be rich in good deeds, and to be generous and willing to share.  In this way they will lay up treasure for themselves as a firm foundation for the coming age, so that they may take hold of the life that is truly life.  1 Timothy 6:18-19 (NIV)

O~ In Paul’s instruction to his spiritual son Timothy, he charges him to drive home these principles to the church at Ephesus on having a right perspective on wealth and generosity.  He begins with a reminder not to put our hope in wealth, but in God, the true Supplier of every good thing.  He emphasizes good deeds, generosity, and sharing, so that we might have giving hearts which lay up eternal treasures and grab hold of “the life that is truly life.”

A~ I don’t recall this phrase from my previous readings of this passage, but it resonated with me today.  When I take my eyes off of My Provider and onto my bank account or my stuff, I am tempted to value my life by what I see, whether we are riding high and feeling financial momentum or we’re feeling cash-strapped and can’t seem to get ahead.  It leads me to think, “Is this all there is to life?”  Paul reminds me true life is experienced when we do good and give generously.  I have experienced it!

My husband and I have faced some financial hits in the past couple weeks, from a broken air conditioning unit  to major car repairs to the impending necessity of further home repairs.  My go-to reaction is to tense up and get worried.  But yet I have seen God provide for us again and again.  When I take a different view, I can be grateful we have air conditioning and we only needed a new battery, and that our auto mechanic is an honest and fair fellow believer who charges a fair price and stands behind his work.  We can enjoy those blessings, continue to be grateful and, in turn, be generous with others, and not forfeit our lasting joy over petty matters.  True life is so much more than my account balance or the condition of my material goods. It is found in my right standing before God which I have through Christ, and the relationships I enjoy with those He has given me.

P~ Father, You offer “true life” and it is so much sweeter than the lesser existence I create for myself.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Posted on June 24, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

