June 23 2 Kings 10; 2 Chronicles 22,23; 1 Timothy 5

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

One of my BIG questions to You | Nikki Metzger

S~ The Lord said to Jehu, “You have done well in following My instructions to destroy the family of Ahab.  Therefore, your descendants will be kings of Israel down to the fourth generation.”  But Jehu did not obey the Law of the Lord, the God of Israel, with all his heart.  He refused to turn from the sins that Jeroboam had led Israel to commit. 2 Kings 10:30, 31 (NLT)

O~ Here is my question to God.  Why do people refuse You in their heart and choose sin AFTER you bless them and have a relationship with them?

A~ Jehu talked to God!  Jehu did His work and did well.  God was giving Jehu’s family the kingdom for four generations!  Why did Jehu refuse to obey, refuse to follow after God with his whole heart, and refuse to give up his sin?  I just don’t understand!

My daughter and I had to have a tense conversation about something that she wanted, but I had deemed it unnecessary for her.  So she just stomped up the stairs and told me that I can’t force her to be what I want her to be.

She’s right, isn’t she?

I cannot make her become a certain way on the inside of herself.  I can force her actions to be a certain way, but that’s not real heart change, that’s just behavior modification.

Ugh….God gives us freedom with our hearts.  We can choose Him or not.  Jehu did not give God his whole heart.  But he had that choice.  My daughter?  Her story is still being written about her heart and her choices, as is mine.

P~ God, help us choose You, help us give You our whole hearts!  God, that my family and myself would desire You more than anything.  Thank You!  In Jesus’ Name I pray!

Finish Strong | Tara Wiley

S~ She must be well respected by everyone because of the good she has done. Has she brought up her children well? Has she been kind to strangers and served other believers humbly? Has she helped those who are in trouble? Has she always been ready to do good? 1 Timothy 5:10 (NLT)

O~ Oh boy. It’s another one of those- lists. You know the ones. Proverbs 31 immediately comes to mind. The ones that make you look at your own life and think, how can I ever live up to this?!

A~ I’m encouraged that in this instance, at least, Paul is describing a woman who has lived a long life of faith. She has walked with Jesus, and over the years, He has transformed and used her in multiple ways. She has become His image-bearer.

Well, the fact that she’s a mature woman used to encourage me. Now that I’m in the second half of my life, now that other women come to me for advice as the ‘older’ woman… oh yeah. This is hitting more squarely between the eyes. It’s still an aspiration, but I put a higher standard on myself, because truth be told, I have walked with Jesus for decades now. He should show up all over my life. I should live a life of deeper transformation with each passing day.

I am so grateful for journaling over the years. Reading back over those journals is a source of encouragement to me, because I can see that, although I have a long way to go, I have made it a long way already. I am grateful for what God has already managed to do in stubborn ol’ me. I am looking forward to what the next several decades will bring… and this verse motivates me like never before. I want to FINISH STRONG. I don’t want to be a woman who gets into her silver years and decides it’s time to sit back and let everyone else serve her. I want to love Jesus and love others and live out this God life to the very end. I want to KEEP ON growing, KEEP ON changing, KEEP ON transforming.

P~ Lord, thank You for never giving up on me! Thank You for the work You’ve already done in my life – nothing I’ve done, but only what YOU have done, God. Help me to continue to submit to Your refining work…. to never shut You out or shut down… to always be growing and learning and becoming. I want to be that woman who shines out Jesus in every aspect of my life. Help me get one step closer to that today.

Hidden Sin | Kim Chipman

S~ Remember, the sins of some people are obvious, leading them to certain judgment. But there are others whose sins will not be revealed until later. 1 Timothy 5:24 (NLT)

O/A~ It is so easy to judge, to come to conclusions about people based on what I see or perceive. The truth is, however, that I shouldn’t and can’t do that. Only You know the heart. And in mine, there is sin that no one knows about but You and me…but we both know it’s there. I’ve come to learn how empty the approval of people is…I can’t be after their approval and truly be Your servant (Gal 1:10). Who cares if my life looks great but it isn’t genuine? You want my whole heart. I have so much I hang on to and won’t give You…why do I do that? You want what’s best for me.

P~ I want to shine Your light and bring many to You. Help me to purify my heart and live a life purely sacrificial for You and Your glory…no hidden sin that could hinder Your love and Your light from shining through. Help me to remember my hidden sin so I can love others with greater compassion and less judgement. I love You!

Helping Others is Between God and Me | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ These verses are not from today’s reading. Today I was struggling with helping a person who I feel keeps taking and taking. So I googled verses on helping others and these are some of the ones that I found:

Do not neglect to do good and to share what you have, for such sacrifices are pleasing to God. Hebrews 13:16

Let each of you look not only to his own interests, but also to the interests of others. Philippians 2:4

Whoever is generous to the poor lends to the Lord, and he will repay him for his deed. Proverbs 19:17

Give to the one who begs from you, and do not refuse the one who would borrow from you. Matthew 5:42

O~ Helping others is not an issue between me and the other person; it is not dependent on whether I think they deserve it, or if I think they are taking advantage of me. But these verses seem to point out that helping others is between God and me.

A~ This has been on my mind lately, just struggling with helping a person in my life that when they ask me to do something one day turns into a list of things. I struggle with feeling taken advantage of and I feel God wants me to release that struggle and trust him. This person is just really needy and I think maybe the real problem is that I don’t feel like I should be the one filling all those needs. (I am throwing a little girl fit in a big girl body)

P~ Please forgive me dear God for my selfishness. Everything comes from you, all I have, all I am able to do. Please make it clear to me my part in this person’s life. Bring them closer to you where their heart will find peace and rest. Provide for this person, even when it means it is through me. Help me to have a generous attitude

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

 

 

 

Posted on June 23, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

