June 22 2 Kings 8,9; 2 Chronicles 21; 1 Timothy 4

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Spiritual Exercise | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ Physical exercise has some value, but spiritual exercise is much more important, for it promises a reward for this life and the next.  1 Timothy 4:8 (NLT)

O & A~ The time I spend in your word, with you, praying, memorizing scripture; is very important.  Physical exercise helps my body to keep from getting stiff and gives me energy.  Spiritual exercise is even more important.  I need to continuously exercise spiritually.

P~ Thank you, Father, for this time we have together,  and thank you that you are available all the time.  Thank you, Jesus for dying for me.  Thank you, Holy Spirit for loving and guiding me. ❤

Through Your Eyes | Michelle Myers

S~ Continue to do those things; give your life to doing them so your progress may be seen by everyone. 1 Timothy 4:15 (NCV)

O~ Paul is telling how to be a good servant.  Being a good servant, will make me a  good example for other believers, as well as non-believers.

A~ One of the tactics that the enemy has used against me, is to make me believe that I am not making any progress.  In some ways, I am not where I was prior to all of my husband’s junk coming out.  In other ways, I am a lot further along than I ever would have been, had none of the past yuk never happened.

I have had a few people recently say that they see the progress in me, just from a year ago.  After really look back on it, I have made progress.  When I believe the lies of the enemy, I get frustrated and this results in me taking  “a few days off” from the battle.  I did not realize how, during these times, I am doing exactly what the enemy wants me to do.  Also, how I am not really seeing YOU, for the loving, patient, merciful God that You are.  I somehow think or feel that you are disappointed in me, because I have not made the progress You expect of me.  Yet, what I am now realizing, is that it is not YOUR standards that I am not measuring up to, but my own impossible and unrealistic ones.  This is another tactic of the enemy……to convince me, that I will NEVER measure up, no matter what I do, no matter how hard I try, etc.

Fortunately, I am beginning to realize how my own worth and value of myself, was wrapped up in my job or title as a teacher and my home or my possessions.  That may be how the world measures my progress, but that is not how YOU are going to measure my progress.

What if I were to see myself and my circumstances through YOUR eyes?   What would I see?

Maybe someone who tried to honor YOU, by continually trying to keep their family together?  Maybe someone who was strong and courageous enough to step out of their comfort zone, and take risks and make sacrifices that honor YOU?  Maybe someone who may be confused at times, but has not stopped searching for YOUR will?  Maybe someone who gets frustrated some times,  but has not given up?  How much more powerful could I or would I be for the Kingdom, if I saw myself through YOUR eyes?

P~ Thank you God for YOUR grace and mercy.  Please help me see myself and my situations from YOUR perspective.  Please continue to give me wisdom and strength when it comes to fighting the spiritual battles.

Keep a Close Watch | Kim Chipman

S~ Keep a close watch on how you live and on your teaching. Stay true to what is right for the sake of your own salvation and the salvation of those who hear you. 1 Timothy 4:16 (NLT)

O~ Paul is writing to encourage Timothy and give him guidance in ministry and life.

A~ Keep a close watch – one thing You have been reminding me of lately is how important every little thing really is – every thought, every word, EVERYthing. Not in a guilt-ridden, shame-filled, paranoid way, but certainly in a “keep a close watch” way. Small compromises and drifting leads to more…all of a sudden I wonder how I got so far off track…but it’s one thought, one choice, however seemingly small…at a time. “It’s no big deal” is a LIE. It matters to You and on the journey to Your best for my life I need to remember – take every thought captive to Your obedience – keep a close watch.

I need to stay true to what is right – know Your Word and put it into practice – keep a close watch on how I live and what I teach – more is caught than taught anyway and a sea of world is watching – my kids are watching – I must stay true to what is right for my own heart AND for “the salvation of those who hear” me.

Life is short – it can be blotted out in an instant – keep a close watch, Kim. It all matters.

P~ Lord, I love You! Help me to stay true to what is right in all my life, especially my thoughts – everything starts as a thought! I love You!

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on June 22, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

