June 21 2 Kings 6,7; 2 Chronicles 20; 1 Timothy 3

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

The Battle is Real | Robin Laney

S~ And Elisha prayed, “O Lord, open his eyes so he may see.” Then the Lord opened the servant’s eyes, and he looked and saw the hills full of horses and chariots of fire all around Elisha. 2 Kings 6:17 (NIV)

O~ There is a spiritual world we cannot see. God and his heavenly armies are fighting around us and for us all of the time against an enemy who seeks to destroy us all of the time.

A~ Our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.

We are so duped when we see the evil in this world and turn against one another. We fall right into the enemy’s hands and plans as we argue with one another, blame one another, fight one another, and hate one another. We blame the evil on guns, mental illness, racism, fears, and many other things instead of recognizing it for what it is. We don’t join hands and go to God in prayer, we point fingers and change laws, we yell at one another and call each other names. We scream out for justice but from the wrong sources. We raise our fists at God and ask, “Why?”, instead of rightly placing the blame on a common enemy and joining forces against him.

A friend of mine wrote about Charleston and the horrible massacre there this week. She wrote, “I guess if we recognized it as demonic we would need a force greater than our beings to defeat it and that would allow room for Jesus.”

God is fighting for His people all of the time. We see carnage and it is horrible but we don’t see so much of what goes on all around us all of the time. I heard someone say, once, that if we could see the spiritual realm we would be huddled in a heap on the floor scared to death. I thank God that I cannot see all that goes on around me but I want to be aware that the battle is raging so that I don’t hold hatred and bitterness in my heart against those who do evil things. My heart is that I would see everyone as God sees them, praying that they would come to know Him as I know Him and even more. There is evil in this world but I refuse to become a pawn in Satan’s battle against humanity.

P~ Lord, open our hearts and minds to the spiritual battle around us. Let us not be fooled into hating one another but let us join with You and Your armies to fight the good fight so that all might be saved.

Take Your Positions | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ This is what the Lord says: Do not be afraid!  Don’t be discouraged by this mighty army, for the battle is not yours, but God’s.  Tomorrow march out against them.  But you will not even need to fight.  Take your positions; then stand still and watch the Lord’s victory.  He is with you. He is with you, O people of Judah and Jerusalem.  Do not be afraid or discouraged. Go out there tomorrow for the Lord is with you!  2 Chronicles 20:15-17  (NLT)

O~ The armies of Ammon, Moab, and Mount Seir were about to attack.  King Jehoshaphat cried out to God and this is what God answered through one of the Levites.  This stood out to me because even though God said it is his battle, he still wanted them to go out there and take their positions.  He also reminds them that He is with them, 3 times!

A~ My daughter is training to be a fighter and one of the tips she received was in order to stop being afraid of the punches she was going to have to take some.  I have this issue with feeling like I’m being taken advantage of, or manipulated into doing something for someone and I’ve been going back and forth in my mind with it, because I don’t like the thought of someone using manipulation and because of it, I feel like it hardens my heart toward that person and their needs because I see what they are doing.  So is this a battle God wants to have the say so in, and I’m trying to fight it on my own terms?  Do I need to take some punches in order for Satan not to have the upper hand here with my thoughts, or my heart? I can trust God to take care of me here and use this for good.

P~ Dear Father,  thank you for fighting for me.  Thank you for this person in my life that has caused all this to surface. Thank you that you want what’s best for this person and me.  I love you, too.

Help With Faith and Trust | Michelle Myers

S~ You won’t need to fight in this battle.  Just stand strong in your places, and you will see the LORD save you. 2 Chronicles 20:17 (NCV)

O~ The Spirit of the LORD entered Jahaziel, and through him, God told the people, “Don’t be afraid or discouraged because of this large army.  The battle is not your battle it is God’s.” 2 Chronicles 20:15 (NCV)  He then tells them where to find them and to go “fight” them tomorrow.  Yet, God’s way of having them fight, is to just show up and stand strong in their place.  He will do the rest.

A~ One of the reasons that I have long seasons of just absolute exhaustion in my life, is that I have spent way too much time fighting battles that God never intended for me to fight.  I am pretty sure He sometimes looks at me in my state, when I am completely just worn out and frustrated, and is asking me, “Are you done yet?”

I wish I could say that whenever I give up on a battle, I give up knowing that God has this and that all I have to do is stand strong in my place.  I am slowly learning to let go.  However, much of that comes from just being at the end of myself and too darn tired to fight the same battles anymore.

I know this is a lack of faith and trust.  I know that this comes, at times, from having a hard time accepting certain aspects of my life.  Even when I understand why things are the way they are, I can have a hard time letting go.  Even when I can see how some things have really worked out for the better, I struggle with accepting that things did not go the way I planned or thought that they would.

P~ Thank you God for your word.  I need help in the areas of faith and trust.  This help can only come from you, as there is nothing another person can say or do that is going to provide this for me.

The Valley of Battle=The Valley of Blessing | Tara Wiley

S~ On the fourth day they gathered in the Valley of Blessing, which got its name that day because the people praised and thanked the Lord there. It is still called the Valley of Blessing today. 2 Chronicles 20:26 (NLT)

O~ Days before, the Valley of Blessing was the Valley of the Shadow of Death. King Jehoshaphat and his army were certain they were about to be completely obliterated. The task in front of them seemed insurmountable. The future seemed bleak.

I’ve been there before.

And by God’s amazing grace and provision, I’ve been where they stood in this verse as well, in that place where God did the kind of miracle He does on a regular basis, if we just have eyes to see and a heart that’s willing to submit: the miracle of Redemption. The miracle of making broken things beautiful.

What I notice today in this passage is that the place is called the Valley of Blessing not because of the plunder they were gathering in the former verse. No, it was named that because the people praised and thanked the Lord there. This particular battle story resonates deeply with me in its instruction on how to handle crisis: with PRAYER and WORSHIP, from beginning to end. Their praise and thanksgiving began BEFORE the victory, and just kept on going afterwards. Their worship and submission paved the way to victory.

A/P~ Oh Lord God! You and I and 2 Chronicles 20 go way back, but You brought me a fresh verse today out of them all. I love that about Your word – it’s always fresh. Help me always remember this truth: when I am in the darkest valley, it is an opportunity for me to submit through prayer and praise so I can watch You do Your miraculous work of turning pain into a blessing.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

 

Posted on June 21, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thanks for sharing that today, Tara. I think the key is to begin the praise during the battle, before the victory. I’m so encouraged today by your verse.
    p.s. Miss you!!!

Leave a Reply

