June 20 2 Kings 4,5; Psalms 83; 1 Timothy 2

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Enough Faith and Peace to Say, “Everything is All Right” | Michelle Myers

S~ Then she saddled the donkey and said to her servant, ‘Lead on.  Don’t slow down for me unless I tell you.’ So she went to Elisha, the man of God, at Mount Carmel.  When he saw her coming from far away, he said to his servant Gehazi, ‘Look, there’s the Shunammite woman!  Run to meet her and ask, ‘Are you all right?  Is your husband all right?  Is the boy all right?’  She answered, ‘Everything is all right.’  2 Kings 4:24-27 (NCV)

O~ Um, everything was not all right.  Her son was dead.  She was calm and peaceful.  She had faith that everything would be all right.  Her son is eventually brought back to life.

A~ I want that kind of peace and faith, even when things don’t work out the way I thought they would.  I want to trust in YOU, and even when things aren’t clear or going the way I would like, I want to KNOW….I mean really KNOW in my heart, that YOU have a better plan for my life.  I want to be able to say and really know, “Everything is all right”.

P~ Thank you God for your patience with me.  Help strengthen my faith.  Help me let go of some things that I am holding onto, and that YOU are telling me to let go of.  Help me be able to say and know in my heart, “Everything is all right.”  Even when relationships and situations have not turned out the way I imagined they would.

Answer Me | Jill Terry

S~ O God, do not remain quiet; Do not be silent and, O God, do not be still. Psalm 83:1 (NAS)

O~ Asaph, the write of this Psalm is imploring God to speak to him.

A~ I don’t know how many times, I have begged God to answer me, to show Himself to me in a very real and tangible way. I have begged God to help me understand why things happen. Why, why why do these things happen? God, please answer me!
It is only when I sit back , be quiet and allow God to speak over the noise of my life that I hear Him. (Be still and know that I am God. Psalm 46:10)

Sometimes, God is audible and sometimes, God just gives me peace. (And the peace of God that surpasses all understanding. Phillipians 4:7)

Either way, I know God is in control and will work things out according to His will, not mine. I have learned that I hear God speak to me when I give up the control over my life and allow Him to just be in charge.

P~ Lord, thank you for the answers and the peace only You can provide! Amen

Pray for Everyone! – Robin Laney

S~ The first thing I want you to do is pray. Pray every way you know how, for everyone you know. Pray especially for rulers and their governments to rule well so we can be quietly about our business of living simply, in humble contemplation. This is the way our Savior God wants us to live.  He wants not only us but everyone saved, you know, everyone to get to know the truth we’ve learned… 1 Timothy 2:1-4 (MSG)

O~ Paul was giving Timothy instructions for the Church. The first thing he wanted them to do was pray, especially for the government and all those in authority. He didn’t tell them to rally or petition, protest or march, sue or boycott, hate or wish ill will. He told them to pray and do it fervently, seeking God’s will as they plead for His intervention, asking God from the deepest places in their hearts for His hand to move in the hearts of those who ruled them while expressing their gratitude for His great grace. The New International Version reads, “that petitions, prayers, intercession and thanksgiving be made.” They were to pray every way they knew how.

The government, at the time, sought to destroy Christians. Paul reminds them that it is God’s will that everyone be saved; not just the people they loved and the ‘good’ people in their lives but the tyrants who sought to destroy them.

A~ What a hard thing it is to pray for those who cause harm. Our hurt causes us to want to hurt back. Righteous anger screams out when innocents are abused, neglected or killed. A heart of revenge blasts through all of our sensibilities when we see evil at work around us. Everything in us wants the perpetrators to pay for what they have done. But God…

His heart’s desire is that everyone be saved, that every person created turn to Him and follow Christ. He offers hope for every person, even the ones who are the most evil in our eyes. Even the ones we see as hopeless and undeserving, the ones who commit the most heinous crimes and cause unimaginable pain. He knows that if those people, who hurt others and those who rule poorly, catch a glimpse of Him and surrender to Him then they will be changed, which is not only good for them personally but also for all of those around them.

He asks us to pray for all those who don’t know Him so that they will be saved and also so that our hearts will be healed and not be filled with bitterness. He asks us to live humbly, knowing that we were once lost and now we are found. He asks us to live simply, praying for all those who do not yet know God’s great grace and love. He asks us to simply and humbly pray. For everyone.

P~ Lord, this world is full of evil. It is so hard to see people suffering at the hands of men and women filled with hate and still have compassion on them as fellow human beings in need of a savior. Give me Your eyes to see them as Your lost children, captives of an enemy, and not deserving of the worst punishments. When my heart starts to hate, remind me that the battle is not against flesh and blood but against the powers of evil. Let me see people who do evil as prisoners of a formidable foe who seeks to destroy them. Fill my heart with hope for them that no one is beyond Your reach and help me to pray fervently for their hearts to turn to You.

Pray for people!! | Nikki Metzger

S~ I urge you, first of all, to pray for all people.  Ask God to help them; intercede on their behalf, and give thanks for them. 1 Timothy 2:1 (NLT)

O~ Paul’s instruction to Timothy…..pray for them and give thanks for them.  It’s for ALL people, not just believers.

A ~ Yesterday was such a privilege and honor to do God’s work.  He gave me one on one time with precious people who have some deep pain and hurts.  I’ll be honest…..sometimes I get real uncomfortable when I heart their hearts being poured out.  Maybe uncomfortable isn’t the right word.  I feel straight up helpless.  I can do nothing to help or heal.

But as Paul instructs Tim, so He instructs me.  I can pray for them and intercede for them and give thanks for them.  And you know what…praying is SOMETHING.  It’s not nothing!!

P~ Lord, thank You for the conversations yesterday!  I lift up each individual to You.  Lord, please speak to their heart and fill them with hope, light, love!  God, I don’t know what else to do but pray!  In Jesus’ Name I pray!

Quiet and Listening | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ Women should listen and learn quietly and submissively.  1 Timothy 2:11 (NLT)

O~ This verse stood out to me.  I used to think I should be quiet and do what I’m told, no questions asked.  This is wrong.  I think this verse is speaking more of the attitude of my heart.  I think the only one that is trustworthy of me being quiet; doing what I’m told and not question is God.  I have given people this privilege and it doesn’t work.  But even through those hurts, I am learning.  I don’t have to be ashamed of going through that. I don’t have to beat myself up for ‘falling for it’.  Those situations taught me better and I learned from them. God is helping me learn and we’re making progress. 🙂

P~  Thank you, Father for teaching me.  Help me have a teachable spirit that yields freely to you.  Please give me discernment in life.  I love you.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on June 20, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

