June 17 1 Kings 20,21; 2 Chronicles 17; Colossians 3

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

God’s Perfect Outfit | Joni Tyner

S~ Since God chose you to be the holy people he loves, you must clothe yourselves with tenderhearted mercy, kindness, humility, gentleness, and patience. Make allowance for each other’s faults, and forgive anyone who offends you. Remember, the Lord forgave you, so you must forgive others. Above all, clothe yourselves with love, which binds us all together in perfect harmony. And let the peace that comes from Christ rule in your hearts. For as members of one body you are called to live in peace. And always be thankful. Colossians 12-15 (NLT)

O~ This scripture from Paul is so powerful. I believe this is at the heartbeat of what Jesus wants for his children. I first “found” these verses over 27 years ago when we were looking for scriptures for our wedding. My heart swells with joy as I write this journal entry this evening…

A~ Our daughter called last night with news that she is engaged!! As we’ve had several conversations in the past 24 hours about wedding details, I am reminded to embrace Paul’s words about why we are even planning a wedding in the first place. Here is a peek into my mother’s heart and a prayer for my daughter Paige and her soon to be husband, Ben.

First:

God has passionately loved you before you even had a heartbeat. The Creator of the universe has watched and intimately known every detail of your lives. He has wept with you through life’s struggles and disappointments. He has seen each moment of joy and what makes your heart sing. And, He also knew the exact person that would complete you and has perfectly orchestrated your lives to intersect and to become one. He has chosen each of you for the other. How amazing is that?

Second:

Embrace the actions of love in verse 12. Practice kindness and patience and be determined to have mercy be the unwavering standard in your marriage. By choosing to reflect Christ’s example of humility and forgiveness, you will have peace and contentment that this world does not understand. Humility in action means there are lots of times you might actually be right but choose to set that aside. Humility is saying, “I could have done that differently” and “what’s your opinion on this?” and, “I’m sorry, I didn’t consider your side of it”. When there is a choice between proving you are right and or offering forgiveness, Choose forgiveness Every. Single. Time. — Marriage is not about keeping score and remember all the wrongs. It’s about selfless living—and actually being okay with it.

Lastly:

Have a thankful heart!!!! As you settle into married life and time marches on, it’s easy to begin to feel a seed of discontentment. It may be a friend with a new car or a better apartment. Perhaps some you know posts pictures on social media of all the fun and romance they are having. The Enemy will constantly tempt you to compare what you have, (or don’t) by planting seeds of discontentment. Fight the tendency to compare by choosing to be grateful for all of the blessings in your life. Choose to choose each other even when you don’t feel like it.

P~ Dear Lord, thank you for choosing me before I even cared about being a child of yours. Thank you for choosing my husband to be my life partner before I even knew him! I pray for Paige and Ben, that You would perfectly bind their hearts and souls to love each other with the love you teach us in this scripture. Infuse their marriage with humility and patience. I also pray they would embrace forgiveness as a daily attitude because daily life can really get challenging. Finally, may they choose to be grateful for the life you have given them. We love these kids!! I pray that as their parents they would see our love and be encouraged to grow in their relationship with each other and You.

Your Ways are Higher | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ Since God chose you to be the holy people whom he loves, you must clothe yourselves with tenderhearted mercy, kindness, humility, gentleness, and patience.  You must make allowance for each other’s faults and forgive the person who offends you.  Remember, the Lord forgave you, so you must forgive others. Colossians 3:12,13  (NLT)

O~ When I read these verses something inside me just feels right.  This is living; this is loving.  I want to be this way.  I can be this way with God’s help.  I’m reading this book called Switch On Your Brain.  In the book the author writes about how powerful God made our minds to be.  This is a quote from the book: “The dictionary defines stress as a condition typically characterized by symptoms of mental and physical tension or strain, as depression or hypertension, that can result from a reaction to a situation in which a person feels threatened, pressured, etc.  Symptoms for stress include anxiety, nervousness, fear, tenseness, and restlessness.  Reaction is the key word here.  You cannot control the events or circumstances of your life, but you can control your reactions.  And controlling those reactions is the difference between healthy minds and bodies and sick minds and bodies.” (Underlining, mine)

A~ God gives me a way out of feeling like I am being taken advantage of, fearing what will happen next,  getting frustrated, upset and taking offense at what someone does to me.  He wants me to forgive and make allowance for other’s faults.  He wants me to be tenderhearted and have mercy, to be kind, to be humble, to be gentle, to be patient.

P~ Heavenly Father,  thank you for how you made me.  You wouldn’t ask me to do these things if I wasn’t able to. I know I will not always get this right, and I will probably still react to things, so I will need your help.  It’s only with your help that I can. Help me to let go of my ways of thinking about these things and renew my mind.  I love you, too.

Making the Connection | Michelle Myers

S~ Let the peace that Christ gives control your thinking, because you were all called together in one body to have peace. Colossians 3:15 (NCV)

O~ Prior to this verse, Paul is telling people to put evil out of their lives, and live the new life, that Jesus died for them to have.  He talks about not conforming to human rules or the law.  That Christ came and died, so that we would be free.

A~ YOUR peace, or the lack of it, has become the BIG tell all for me.  When I am out of alignment with YOUR will, my life is a mess.  At first, I may not know that I am struggling with something.  Then, it may take me awhile to understand what exactly it is.  I have found that there many possible reasons as to why my thinking is a jumbled, hot mess.   Maybe I am trying to make something happen, that only you can make happen.  Maybe it is me trying to conform to some human or worldly idea, that YOU have not told me to conform to.  Maybe it is me, trying to conform to some silly rule I have made up in my own head, falsely thinking that it will make life easier, more productive, or more fulfilling,  Maybe it is that I have treated somebody unkindly, been unloving, or became self righteous, when I interacted with them.  Maybe it is that I am overwhelmed and tired, and YOU have told me to rest, but I am having a hard time putting the task down and letting it be.

I do know, that once my thinking starts heading in the wrong direction, my emotions are quick to follow.  Shortly after the emotions go, my attitude and behavior usually head in the same direction.  The key, really is to be connected with YOU and let the peace YOU give me, in my heart, be the driving force behind my thinking.  If what I am thinking isn’t bringing peace to my heart, it isn’t YOUR way for ME.

P~ Thank you God for YOUR peace.  It is so much more simple and rewarding than the peace the world promises, but falls short on providing.  Please help me remember that my thinking and peace are connected.  It helps me know when I am out of alignment with YOUR will, and that means, it isn’t going to work, it isn’t righteous, and can be very destructive.

Every Single Thing | Jill Terry

S~ Whatever you do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks through Him to God the Father. Colossians 3:17 (NAS)

O~ Every single thing. We are to praise God for every single thing, good, bad and in between in all we do and in all we say.

A~ I wish I could say I praised God in all the storms of life. It is easy to praise God in the good, but it is much harder to praise Him through the difficult seasons in life. I try really hard. I am more aware of myself when I am not grateful and when I don’t praise God through the storms. I have always been quite a pessimist. It is just who I was, if there was a bad side to any situation, I found it.

I have seen changes in my outlook on life and I am grateful for it. For example, I have suffered from a chronic illness for 14 years. I used to complain, whine and moan about all of my limitations. However, now I can see how good I have it compared to others with uncontrolled epilepsy. I am unable to work but I am able to go places without the fear of a public seizure due to my type of epilepsy. It took me a long time, but now I can find see the blessing, instead of just seeing the inconvenience of having a chronic illness. I had to learn to look for the blessings in life instead of just looking for the problems.

P~ Thank you Lord for the blessings as well as the pain in my life. Thank you for teaching me to be grateful for the small victories. Amen

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on June 17, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

