June 14 1 Kings 15; 2 Chronicles 13,14; Philippians 4

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Maacah who? | Nikki Metzger

S~ He (Abijam) reigned in Jerusalem three years.  His mother was Maacah, the daughter of Absalom.  ~1 Kings 15:2 (NLT)

He (Asa) reigned in Jerusalem forty-one years.  His grandmother was Maacah, the daughter of Absalom. ~1 Kings 15:10 (NLT)

O~ Who is Maacah?  Well, the Maacah in these verses was named after her grandma Maacah; the daughter of a king from another land (from 1 Chronicles 3:2).

A~ I don’t know much about either of the Maacah’s, but they came from royalty.  The second Maacah lost her royal position because she worshipped other things besides the Lord.

It just blows my mind the influence this woman had in those times.  Influence to four (4!) generations.  That’s a lot of influence for one person.  I personally think that Maacah’s influence was negative – it lead her family away from Christ.

I see that I’m an influencer on my family and truly generations to come.

So –  it’s not just me living my life for myself – trying to figure out what God has for me.  While I’m doing that, something comes out of that that impacts generations.  Positive or negative.

P~ Father, please do not let Cody and Tasha and their future generations follow the advice of the wicked, or stand around with sinners or join in with mockers.  Let them ALL delight in the law of the Lord, meditating on it day and night.  Let  ALL of my future generations (Cody and Tasha too) be like trees planted along the riverbank, bearing fruit each season.  Their leaves never wither, and they prosper in all they do.  Lord, watch over Cody, Tasha, their spouses, their children, their children’s children, their children’s spouses, their kids, and all future generations.  Direct their paths.

With God On My Side | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ So Judah defeated Israel because they trusted in the Lord,  the God of their ancestors.  2 Chronicles 13:18 (NLT)

O~ This is the scene:  A battle between Judah with 400,000 men, and trusted God and cried out to him for help, and Israel with 800,000 men.

A~ No matter what my circumstances are I need to trust God and turn to him for help.

P~ Dear Jesus,  you are my strength, there isn’t any situation that is too big for you.  Thank you for being there.

Jesus In Me | Jill Terry

S~ Let your gentle spirit be known to all men. The Lord is near. Philippians 4:5 (NAS)

O~ As believers, we are called to portray gentleness, kindness, love and grace.

A~ I saw a meme on Facebook the other day, it said “Don’t treat people like you want to be treated. Treat them like God treats you.”

How very difficult that is. How difficult it is to comprehend how much God loves me. I am called to love others in that same way. It is not easy. When others interact with me or see me go about m daily life,they should see the reflection of Jesus within me. If others can see Jesus through me, then perhaps they will be able to witness the power of Jesus within their own life.

P~ Lord, help me to be compassionate, gentle, kind and to treat others as you have treated me. Amen

Peace, Please! | Kim Chipman

S~ Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus. And now, dear brothers and sisters, one final thing. Fix your thoughts on what is true, and honorable, and right, and pure, and lovely, and admirable. Think about things that are excellent and worthy of praise. Philippians 4:6-8

O/A~ I’m addicted to Your peace. It keeps me seeking, searching, pursuing. So how? Don’t worry – ever. Pray – always. Fix my thoughts on You and Your ways. Put it into practice.

Then? Peace.

P~ I love You!

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on June 14, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

