June 11 Song of Solomon 5,6,7,8; Philippians 1

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Continuous Growth, Please! | Kim Chipman

S~ I pray that your love will overflow more and more, and that you will keep on growing in knowledge and understanding. For I want you to understand what really matters, so that you may live pure and blameless lives until the day of Christ’s return. Philippians 1:9-10 (NLT)

O~ Paul is writing to the church in Philippi from a Roman prison.

A~ I pray this for my family, my friends, and mySELF now! The drift away from You, from Your ways, from Your love, from understanding, wisdom, and discernment…is SO quick! My natural default is selfish! I want to understand what really matters so I live well for You. I realize what a continual process this will always be! I used to think that spiritual maturity was a place I could arrive, but I’ve come to realize it is a lifelong journey.

P~ I pray my love will overflow more and more

I pray I will keep on growing in knowledge and understanding

I pray I understand what really matters

I pray I live well for You until You return

Thank You for Your Word! I love You!

Motives | Michelle Myers

S~ They preach because they have love, and they know that God gave me the work of defending the Good News.  But the others preach about Christ for selfish and wrong reasons, wanting to make trouble for me in prison. Philippians 1:15-17 (NCV)

O~ Paul realizes that some people’s motives were not right.  They used the Gospel as tool to manipulate others, for their own selfish agenda.

A~ MOTIVES…..not only are my motives, for doing what I do, important, so is knowing what other people’s motives are.  This has been a HUGE….HUGE….HUGE…. issue in multiple relationships.  It has caused A LOT of internal confusion for me.

My motives are not always right.  Many times, when I think they are right; they aren’t.  I think that I am helping someone out, but in turn, I am either enabling them or I am taking on more responsibility for them, than YOU ever intended for me to.

I have also done many things with the right motives, but because of other people’s own internal junk, they have the perception that my motives were self-serving or wrong in some way.  Even when I REALLY have nothing to gain from it, except the satisfaction of serving and glorifying YOU.  YOU have shown me that I am not responsible for their perceptions, nor do I have any power over them.

P~ Thank you God for YOUR wisdom.  Please continue to show me.  I need to know where my motives do and do not align with YOUR will.  I also need the courage and strength to speak my own personal truth, with confidence and security, in knowing who I am in YOU; when people’s perceptions twist my motives into something that is not rational, reasonable, or ever intended.

Thy Will Be Done | Kelley DeAses

S~ Convinced of this, I know that I will remain, and I will continue with all of you for your progress and joy in the faith.  Philippians 1:25 (NIV)

O~ Paul is saying here that to leave this world, with all its troubles and hardships, and be together with Christ for eternity would be a much better thing.  But yet for the sake of others who needed to hear the gospel message, be encouraged in their Christian walk, and be challenged to share and be disciples themselves, Paul knew he needed to remain on earth a bit longer.

A~ More than ever, I feel I have a purpose in life — to share with believers they can hear from God for themselves, and not be content to hear from Him only through a pastor or teacher.  When I have opportunities to talk to people — either in a formal class, a weekly women’s study, or a one-on-one chat — I feel most alive, like I am a true instrument being used by my Father.  At the same time I seem to be coming into my own in terms of this calling, my physical body is beginning to flare up with bouts of illness, soreness, and mysterious maladies.  In the face of this, the temptation is to curl up in a ball and shut out the world.  But I want to remain faithful to what He has called me to: sharing my testimony and His Word at every possible occasion.

P~ Lord, heal my body, please, from this most recent flare-up, so I can get back about the business of sharing You with others.  Or is it Your will I face this adversity to give me an even stronger testimony of Your strength in the face of my frailty?

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

 

Posted on June 11, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Yay Phillipians!! What a great reminder to remember our purpose and motives…and the resulting joyous love is our reward to once again pour out for others, and really, that’s all that really matters.

Leave a Reply

