June 7 Ecclesiastes 4,5,6; Psalms 18; Ephesians 3

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Quiet and Still | Luisa Penaherrera

S~  As you enter the house of God, keep your ears open and your mouth shut.  So let your words be few.  Ecclesiastes 5:1a, 2b  (NLT)

O & A~  Ssshhh, just listen, be still.  I am here; absorb the peace of my presence.  Acknowledge your smallness, recognize my sovereignty, my reign.  I love you.

P~ Thank you.

The Tranquility of God | Tara Wiley

S~ For he shall not much remember [seriously] the days of his life, because God [Himself] answers and corresponds to the joy of his heart [the tranquillity of God is mirrored in him]. (‭Ecclesiastes‬ ‭5‬:‭20‬ AMP)

O~ This verse ends a tirade of the futility of striving for wealth in this life. In the end, the one meaningful thing is accepting and enjoying what we have as a gift from God. I love how the Amplified version puts it: this contentment is a reflection of the tranquility of God.

A~ Verse 19 states it’s a gift to be healthy enough to enjoy all God has given us. That stings a bit as I consider my history of chronic illness and my current recovery from yet another surgery. But I also have to pause and consider that this passage also exalts the gift of companionship – and right now that’s a gift I am experiencing in spades. A set of incredible meals, thoughtfully prepared with all my family’s allergies in mind… Friends whisking away the kids for generous play dates… Family members who are quick to serve me when I cannot even dress myself or cut my own food… I am so humbled and grateful for these riches around me. And if I could type with more than one thumb I’d keep listing the blessings!!

I’ll be honest: this particular recovery had been tough and I’m only days into what I’ve been promised will be a long haul. I haven’t always had the best attitude.  But when I allow God to shift my perspective, I have that unexplainable joy… And there it is, growing in me: the tranquility of God.

P~ Thank You, Lord, for the riches You have poured out over me. Thank You for the gift of perspective. Thank You for the joy that comes from Your presence, that frees me from getting too inwardly focused and bogged down by my own stuff. Thank You for the contentment that comes from choosing to live out Phillipians 4, from doing all things THROUGH Christ who strengthens me. Thank You that I can look forward to experiencing more of what Your Word promises: Your tranquility will be mirrored in me. Lord, let this miracle happen in me!

Deep Roots | Kim Chipman

S~ I pray that from his glorious, unlimited resources he will empower you with inner strength through his Spirit. Then Christ will make his home in your hearts as you trust in him. Your roots will grow down into God’s love and keep you strong. Ephesians 3:16-17 (NLT)

O~ Paul is writing to the church in Ephesus to encourage and strengthen the believers there.

A~ As I read this today I think of my family – specifically my husband and children…and myself! I desire this for us. I desire to have deep roots of trust and faith. I pray we would all have inner strength that comes from knowing Your love. We are in a monumental spiritual battle. We need You. I need You.

I feel that for myself, knowing (and remembering) how much You love me – inasmuch as I can grasp that – and knowing (like in my soul knowing, not just in  my brain knowing) my identity in You is the key to living in freedom. I cannot live in bondage or in emotional jail of any sort when I know who You are and I know who I am in You and I live in that truth.

P~ I pray that my family and I would know You, know who we are in You, be empowered with inner strength through Your Spirit, and remain strong from deep roots that have grown into Your love. I pray this for all of us. I pray we do not forget so we remain free in You, so we have Your Spirit strength. I love You!

LOVE! | Nikki Metzger

S~ And may you have the power to understand, as all God’s people should, how wide, how long, how high, and how deep His love is. Ephesians 3:18 (NLT)

O~ Paul says that there is power needed to understand the kind of love God has for people.  It’s so easy to read this passage and just gloss right over it.  I understand that 2 + 2 = 4, but to understand His love for me….I need power to understand that.  Then Paul says that ALL God’s people should know HOW MUCH God loves them.

A~ I wonder if every believer really understood (like REALLY understood with their heart) the awesomeness of God’s love for them….would there be any hungry person left on Earth?  Would there be any homeless person anywhere?  Would there be less tears in our world?  I don’t know.

I know I’ve read this verse for 10 years and I don’t fully understand His love for me.  But I get it more today than 10 years ago, and His love has transformed me.

P~ Thank you for this crazy LOVE!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

 

Posted on June 7, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Nikki, I am pondering that statement you made about if every believer really understood how great God’s love is, would there be any hunger in the world? any homeless people? Wow. I agree, when I stop and acknowledge all of His love, it motiviates me to love others more unconditionally which I hope might have a ripple effect for The Kingdom.

    I’m thinking about Carrie sharing about her friend last night. For 13 years, she poured love into this gal and it didn’t seem to make a huge difference. But,… In God’s perfect timing, this young woman blossomed and is now leading other’s to Christ and serving on a mission trip. Through Carrie’s unselfish commitment of love to when it wasn’t fun or easy or convenient, God worked a miracle.

    How Great is Our God.

    HOW GREAT IS OUR GOD!!!!

  2. “Dear Lord, this morning I lift up Tara, please strengthen and heal her body quickly from this surgery. I pray she would have energy and that her pain would be minimal. Thank you for her friends who are showering her family by providing tangible love. Continue to infuse a heart of gratitude into Tara as she looks forward to more healthy days. You are the Great Healer!! I pray that You would receive great glory in Tara’s life. In your precious name, Amen.”

Leave a Reply

