June 6 Ecclesiastes 1,2,3; Psalms 45; Ephesians 2

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Meaningless Striving | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ Everything under the sun is meaningless, like chasing the wind. Ecclesiastes 1:14 (NLT)

O~ This is coming from King Solomon- who had everything and anything he wanted.  When I read this, I thought, ‘then what is the point?’  The notes in my bible say: “Solomon writing about his own life, discovered that neither his accomplishments nor his wisdom could make him truly happy.  True wisdom is found in God, and true happiness comes from pleasing him.”

A~  A light came on for me with this: I always seem to want things just right.  I want my kids to make wise choices so they will have better things in life and live peacefully. Those things are good, don’t get me wrong, it’s just that I see how I can chase after these things and leave God out.  True happiness is in looking to you.  I don’t know what this will actually look like on a day to day and I don’t think it means I will always have a smile on my face, but I can have peace in my heart knowing I’m doing what you want me to do.

P~ Dear Father, this sounds easier said than done and I realize I have listened to too many voices and opinions about what I should do. Today, I look to you and ask you to show me the way.  Please undo the wrong patterns and renew my thoughts.  In Jesus’ name.  Amen.

What I Get From the Work and Struggle on Earth | Michelle Myers

S~ What do people get for all their work and struggling here on earth? Ecclesiastes 2:22 (NCV)

O/A~ I have asked myself this question many times over the last couple of years.  My loss has not been only financial and materialistic.  Many of my closer family members decided to pick up and move across the country.  My two cats, who were also my first two babies, died within a couple of years of each other.  I had to let go of dreams I had for me, my marriage, and my children.  On the really hard days, I had a hard time seeing the last 20 years of my life as having any purpose.  Yet, when my mind would go there, God would remind me, not only of the relationships that I have left (my husband, children, and two more cats), but also of the new ones that never would have been formed, had I not been uprooted from my teaching position and my previous home.  He has often reminded me of the spiritual lessons, that I have gotten from my many years of teaching at-risk kids.  These lessons have brought me way closer to being the person that I want to be and that God intended for me to be.

Recently, I had the opportunity to learn that I am way more controlling than I ever thought I was.  Who knew?….  Everyone that lived with me….That’s who! ….. In working with a sponsor from one of my support groups, I am able to understand where this comes from and work toward changing some of these behavior patterns that I have become accustomed to.  Some of which, were learned in my childhood.  Some are the result of the loss and chaos that had plagued my life in the last few years.  Either way, what I am going to get out of the struggle and work is way more valuable than what is in my bank account, the size of the house that I live in, or the bells and whistles that came with my vehicle.

As I heal, make progress, and restore relationships that I have done some damage to; I am able to pass the wisdom gained from my work and struggles, on to other spouses of sex addicts and other daughters of impossible mothers. I recognize myself in each one of them. When I see them for the first time and hear their stories; it helps remind me on days, when I feel that it is a waste, that I have not made any progress, etc.; …that I actually have,…….that there is a purpose to this, ……..and that God will not waste any of it.

P~ Thank you God for your lessons.  Honestly, I don’t always like going through them.  Sometimes it just stinks, but not as bad as staying stuck and not making any progress.  I am thankful that you are slowly restoring some things that were lost.  It is not always the way I planned it (control issue).  It is not always as fast as I would like (control issue).  Yet, I DO appreciate it.  Please continue to help me grow, let go, and give up control.  I know this issue robs me and my family of SO. MUCH. PEACE.

JOY | Kim Chipman

S~ So I decided there is nothing better than to enjoy food and drink and to find satisfaction in work. Then I realized that these pleasures are from the hand of God. For who can eat or enjoy anything apart from him? Ecclesiastes 2:24-25 (NLT)

O~ Solomon. Wisest and richest man ever. EVER. And he’s struggling with the meaning of life.

A~ I’ll admit, there are times I’m right there with Solomon, struggling to find the meaning of it all. I do have a difficult time letting go enough to just enjoy sometimes. I know JOY is fruit of your Spirit so I can have it, but it does not come naturally to me…I know it is YOU when I feel it.

Solomon’s conclusion, however, is mine also. I can’t enjoy anything (truly) apart from You. Lots of things are fun or exciting or pleasurable, but apart from You it feels fleeting, empty…like chasing wind.

P~ Lord, help me to feel Your JOY and enjoy these pleasures that are from Your hand. I love You. I need You.

Wonder of Grace | Jill Terry

S~ so that in the ages to come He might show the surpassing riches of His grace in kindness toward us in Christ Jesus. Ephesians 2:7 (NAS)

O~ Jesus died not just for those alive at that point in history but for all who will ever live. Jesus came so that every single person ever born could receive the wonder of His grace.

A~ I hear people say the Bible no longer applies to modern day life. They say it is just a book of random stories written thousands of years ago. I am a voracious reader and no other book has spoken to me or touched my life the way the Bible has. I know there is power in the written Word of God. I have felt it and I have experienced it in my own life.

Every time I open my Bible God speaks to me and every time God has something different to tell me. There is only one reason for this – The Bible is God breathed. Every word in it was delivered through Him for us to receive the message He alone has to offer. The Bible is for everyone and anyone to read and understand the glory of Jesus and the grace and power of His love.

P~ Thank you Lord for the gift of Your Word and for Your Son. Amen

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on June 6, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

