June 4 Proverbs 28,29; Psalms 60; Romans 16

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Baby Steps | Michelle Myers

S~ Do you see people who speak too quickly?  There is more hope for a foolish person than for them.  Proverbs 29:20 (NCV)

O/A~ Well then, there is more hope for a fool than I.  HA! HA!  Actually, I have made great strides in this area.  I am not even close to where I need to be, but I am getting better.

I got all the information, before exclaiming, “I paid $600 out of pocket for the last crown! And there is NO WAY I am doing anything today, including the $250 for the sealants.  Give me the $30 fluoride treatment and we will call it good for today.   I will have to look at my budget.  I just stuck braces on my kids’ teeth a few months ago!”, when a dentist told me that I need to have a crown removed and redone, that another dentist put on just 14 months earlier.  I have to say, I wish I would have reacted a little calmer than I did.  I may have given more info than the poor guy needed.  However, there was probably a time when I just would have flat out told him that he is crazy.  I didn’t do that.  I waited until I got back to my van, and told it to my husband over the phone.

In regards to my kids, it has been ALONG time since I have raised my voice at them.  I am not as quick to interrupt them.  I have slowed down to listen to them.  I am less controlling of their choices and time.  It has actually been a pretty smooth start to the summer.  (Hope I am not jinxing it.)

With my husband, well, I have a lot of work to do and I need a lot of help with it.  I am getting better at listening.  I am getting better at disengaging when I am triggered, but still have along way to go.  I have a tendency to raise my voice, and I am not even realizing I am doing it.  The stronger my emotions get, the louder my voice gets.  I don’t like it.

My cats, they are cute and furry man babies.  They can do no wrong; therefore, I have no issues in communicating with them.

P~ Big shout out to you God, because the original dentist who did my crown has agreed to replace it for free.  Otherwise, insurance wouldn’t cover another one so soon, and it would have been over a $1,000.  I did not go back to this dentist, because his bed side manner was a little off.  So, please just get me through it.

Thank you for my husband.   I am sure out of fear that I would follow through with my threat to not go back for the sealants, and I would just either find out how much it costs to remove all my teeth and get false ones, or just let them rot until they fall out of my mouth, called the dentist’s office and figured out how we could pay them.  Thank you for our health savings account through his work.

Please just help me with my thoughts, that often come out of my mouth before I have a chance to really process through them.  Especially when I am triggered by something that reminds me of the past.  I used to only hate the dentist, because of the potential sound and pain of the machines.  However, the last few years, I they have also been a big pain in my finances.  Our free 6 month dental visits that are covered by insurance are going way beyond “free”.  I know it is not the dentists doing anything wrong, but it creates a lot of anxiety in me.  Please help me with that anxiety.

I am also grateful for the dental insurance that we do have.  I know that many people all over the world, including the US, do not have access to affordable dental care, if any dental care at all.

With God | Kimi Miller (guest post)

S~ With God we will gain the victory, and he will trample down our enemies. Psalm 60:12 (NIV)

O~ With God.  Isn’t it awesome to think how our circumstances change when we add in “with God”. Throughout the book of Genesis we see how men walked faithfully “with God.” David communicated “with God.” He pleaded “with God” ( 2 Sam 12:16). Mary found favor “with God.” (Luke 1:30) Jesus grew in wisdom and stature and in favor with God and man (Luke 2:52). And of course, “with God all things are possible.” (Mt 19:26, Mk 10:27).

A~ When I am faced with challenges, I need to remember that alone I might be defeated – I might fail. But when I walk through it “with God” anything is possible.

P~ God, there is amazing peace that comes in knowing you are with me and I am with you. I am so grateful for your presence in my life. Help me to stay close to you, and to remember that nothing is impossible for you. I love you! Amen

Surrender | Kim Chipman

S~ With God’s help we will do mighty things, for he will trample down our foes. Psalm 60:12 (NLT)

O/A~ This is exactly the verse I needed to hear today. I’ve been reading the book ‘Restless’ by Jennie Allen and at the beginning she talks about the absolute necessity in surrender. “Until there is surrender, there is no vision.” ~Bill Bright “If we don’t begin with surrender, we inevitably dream with vanity, ego, control.” “Great people do not do great things; God does great things through surrendered people.” “God leads humble souls who are willing to be led.”

This life that I’m experiencing is really Your thing, God. It is ALL for You, but I need to do it WITH You. With Your help You can do mighty things in and through me. If I surrender and let you. I don’t really even know WHAT the mighty things are…or what mighty looks like to You…I trust that through surrender and obedience to do the next thing you lay out for me that my life will be mighty to You and for You.

P~ Lord, help my unbelief! Grow my trust! Thank You for Your Word. Help me to represent You well. Guide my day today, I don’t know what mighty looks like. I love You.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

 

Posted on June 4, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

