May 30 Proverbs 13,14,15; Romans 11

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

QUIET! | Kim Chipman

S~ Those who control their tongue will have a long life; opening your mouth can ruin everything. Proverbs 13:3 (NLT)

O/A~ I remember Beth Moore saying in a Bible study something to the effect that as God transforms us often our tongue is the last to fully submit to Him. My words are powerful, I know this. But I OFTEN lose it with my words. I wish I could just STOP TALKING before I ruin everything!

P~ Lord, please help me to give You control over my tongue. Help me to choose to say nothing if I don’t have something kind or constructive or well thought out. I tell my kids this all the time but I know I need work in this area. My mouth is counter productive and I know it. Please have Your way in my heart and my words. I love You.

NO NEED TO PRETEND! | Michelle Myers

S~ Some people pretend to be rich but really have nothing.  Others pretend to be poor but really are wealthy. Proverbs 13:7 (NCV)

O~ Be observant and wise, because people or situations are not always as they would appear to be.

A~ I am getting more and more comfortable being the person God created me to be, which in so many ways, is the opposite of what the world says we should be.  I struggled for many years with trying to fit into a mold and pretend to be something that I wasn’t….an educated, have-it-all together human; a patient mom; a  happily married woman, and a financially more capable person than I was.  Pretending to be anything that you are not is exhausting!

P~ Thank you God for creating me the way you did, and loving me in spite of the way that I am.  Thank you for helping me become more comfortable being the person you created me to be, even though it does not always fit into other people expectations or  selfish plans.  Thank you for showing me that I may not have excessive amounts of money, but I am rich.  I understand that living the life that I live is much more fiscally privileged than most of the world.  I understand that I also have a responsibility to be wise with that privilege, and I ask that you continue to show me how.

I am rich because I have a husband who was willing to fight for our marriage.  I am rich because I have the luxury of having two beautiful girls, with good hearts to drive me crazy! 🙂  I am rich because the worst physical ailments I have are allergy/sinus issues and some minor back problems.  I am blessed because I have insurance that allows me to get the medical treatment I need to help with these ailments.

Thank you God for showing me that I don’t need to pretend to be rich, because  I am rich in so many ways.

Heavy Heart | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ A glad heart makes a happy face; a broken heart crushes the spirit. Proverbs 15:13  (NLT)

A cheerful look brings joy to the heart; good news makes for good health. Proverbs 15:30  (NLT)

O~ These verses stood out because my heart is not very happy and I need God’s help.

A &  P~ Dear Father, I need you.  Please help me sort out this mess of thoughts and emotions that have me feeling very down.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on May 30, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Lord, Please help Luisa today. Hold her close in your arms and help her to know how much you love her. Please help her to deal with whatever is going on in her life and lift her out of the pit. Thank you for the beautiful, loving woman she is.

Leave a Reply

