May 29 Proverbs 10,11,12; Romans 10

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Legacy | Kelley DeAses

S~  The memory of the righteous will be a blessing, but the name of the wicked will rot. Proverbs 10:17 (NIV)

O~  Just this morning I finished a booked entitled Same Kind of Different as Me.  It is the autobiographical accounts of two men — Denver Moore, a modern-day slave,  and Ron Hall, an international art dealer and millionaire — whose lives became bound together through one woman, Ron’s wife, Deborah Hall.  Deborah’s single-minded devotion to doing what God laid on her heart to do — draw near to and show love to the homeless and hurting people of the Union Gospel Mission in Fort Worth, Texas — led to hundreds of lives being impacted and God’s glory shining in the midst of that community.  Her memory is indeed a blessing and her legacy lives on as she courageously carried out the good works God set before her.

A~  I was truly inspired by the stories of these real-life saints. God’s movement was blatantly obvious as these men recalled their interwoven testimonies.  But I would bet it was not always obvious to them as they were walking it out; nor is God’s movement always obvious in my own life.  All I can do is sit with Jesus every morning and get my marching orders for that day.  I can be opportunistic when I see an open door.  I can do the next thing He lays on my heart to do.  Right now, that is to teach Bible reading and lead my small group of women in Bible study.  What He does through me in these or other endeavors I may or may not have the benefit of fully knowing, but I can be content in the knowledge He is at work and I get to play a part in His plans.

P~ Father, Thank You for the lives of these sweet servants I got to read about.  And thank You for using me, too, in Your greater plan for showing Your love to the world, one soul at a time.

Speak Life | Joni Tyner

S~ The lips of the godly speak helpful words, But the mouth of the wicked speaks perverse words.  Proverbs 10:32 (NLT)

O~ Solomon, the author of most of the proverbs,  writes often about the power of the tongue.  It can be used to lift others up and inspire them for a lifetime; it can also destroy a person’s life through negative, harsh words.

A~ This isn’t new material.  We all know it…yet it is so easy to slide into the sin of saying hurtful, slanderous things about others.  I desire to be known as an encourager to others, not one who tears down people.  I certainly don’t do this perfectly, but when I read in proverbs, (as well as other parts in the Bible) I am reminded to CONSTANTLY strive to use my words wisely.   Here is a video by TobyMac that I believe expresses this scripture.  The video shows people being hurt by damaging words, there is a scene of kids being mean to another child playing the piano.  There is an exchange of harsh words being a husband and wife on their cell phones.  Finally, it shows protesters shouting harsh words to a man.  The second part of the video shows the same people and what they look like after receiving encouragement.  The video ends with the quote by Brennan Manning.   I posted the video, I hope you have time to check it out!

In every encounter,

We either give life or we drain it,

There is not neutral exchange.

–Brennan Manning

P~ Dear Lord, please help me control my tongue. I want to speak life into others…all people, all the time, and EVERYWHERE!!

Free From Shame  | Kim Chipman

S~ When pride comes, then comes shame; But with the humble is wisdom. Proverbs 11:2 (NKJV)

O~ Pride. Pride says I have it all together and don’t need help. Pride says I’m right. Pride says I’m better, wiser….Pride says ‘I’ve got this’.

A~ The world kind of expects these attitudes. The world wants me to have it all together, to not need help. This is a good thing most of the time! But Your ways are best. You warn that pride leads to SHAME. I struggle with shame. It’s a horrible feeling and I know it well. But You say in humility I will be wise. In knowing I don’t have it all together, I don’t know it all, I need help – this is where freedom from shame can be found. So counter culture. So counter intuitive. Admit, genuinely, that I am DEPENDENT to find freedom. Dependence on you, freedom from shame. Aaaahhhhh.

P~ Lord, I love You! I hate shame. I’m prone to pride. SO prone to pride. I fight it every moment. Help me to find victory in You. I love You!

Be Kind, For My Own Good | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ Your own soul is nourished when you are kind, but you destroy yourself when you are cruel.  Proverbs 11:17  (NLT)

O~ How we treat others affects our own souls.

A~ My Pastor’s sermon this past Sunday was similar to this verse.  My paraphrased version of what he said:  ‘when we stop seeing the humanity of other people we tend to lose some of our own.’

When I feel cheated, taken advantage of and treated badly, it isn’t ok to be mean.  I don’t have to allow those situations to continue, but I can be kind in the process.  Because when I am mean it stays with me.

P~ Dear Father, relationships take work! Please help me to be kind, to fear you first and not people or their reactions.  Please give me discernment.  Thank you.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on May 29, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Joni, I love that song by Toby Mac but had never seen the video. Thank you! That is awesome!

Leave a Reply

