May 27 Proverbs 4,5,6; Romans 8

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Keep the Uglies Out | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ Above all else, guard your heart for it affects everything you do. Proverbs 4:23 (NLT)

O~ Solomon tells us to guard our hearts. I picture a building that is being guarded. The guards are there to watch what comes in and to keep danger out.

A~ Things that try to come in my heart: jealousy, bitterness, anger, self-pity, pride. Sometimes I wonder if these things were already in there, because they seem all too familiar and feel as if they are part of me already. I have a choice to guard my heart from allowing them in each time.

P~ Dear Father, you show me with your word that I am not powerless against these strongholds. Show me how to guard well my heart, please. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

He Fills our Gap | Joni Tyner

S~ And the Holy Spirit helps us in our weakness. For example, we don’t know what God wants us to pray for. But the Holy Spirit prays for us with groanings that cannot be expressed in words. Romans 8:26  (NLT)

O~ 1.True believers are sealed with the Holy Spirit when they believe. (Eph 1:13-14)  He (The Holy Spirit) is our helper.  He was given to us as a gift to help us.

2. We can’t be good at everything.  We are given certain gifts and our personalities bend us a certain way. We may be really good in one area of obedience and weaker in another. ( Romans 12:6-8) That is why God gives us the Holy Spirit. To help us.

3. Sometimes life is hard. Crazy hard. Overwhelming. It can overtake us and collapse us so that we can’t even talk, the words can’t be formed.  Our minds, at that moment, can’t even pray, we simply call out, “Jesus”… and we cry and groan and need to be held by our loving Comforter, the Holy Spirit.

A~ I’ve been there. I have lots of weaknesses.  I’m not good at evangelizing, at sharing the salvation plan. I’m not great at praying. I feel awkward and tongue-tied.  There have been times in my life when I KNEW that God was calling me to do something.  As an example, about 13 years ago my dad was dying and the end was near.  He had always said he wouldn’t go to heaven. ( I don’t know exactly why, it’s sometimes the hardest to have those conversations with family.) I was a believer but didn’t know many Bible passages. I was weak in knowledge and sharing and prayer.  I also knew I was the only person who could share and pray with my dad, so I went to the hospital and did my best.  I tried but didn’t do it like I thought I should.  My heart was breaking at my own weakness.  I prayed and he said he believed, but I wasn’t sure I had “did it right”. I was grieved by my inadequacies.   As I shared this experience later in a life group, someone told me about this verse and it comforted me.  The Holy Spirit was there helping me. He was filling in the gap of my weakness.  He saw my sincere heart.

Another time the Holy Spirit comforted me and stood in the gap was when we received a 3am phone call that our son was in jail.  I fell to the floor, I knew I needed Jesus but didn’t even know how to pray for the situation.  I was broken. I was weak.  I simply held my Bible and cried, “Jesus, Jesus, help us.”  I couldn’t find words to express my fear, my disappointment, my pain.  I believe the Father knew all that wasn’t expressed in prayer  in my mother’s heart.

P~ Father, thank you for the precious gift of the Holy Spirit that is there for every single need. I pray all believers will embrace this wonderful gift for their most difficult moments.  Thank you that you will always stand in the gap of my weaknesses.  I want to grow in my weakness and I know You are helping me to push forward.  Thank you for being patient and growing me.

The Ultimate Agenda | Robin Laney

S~ For those God foreknew He also predestined to be conformed to the likeness of His son, that he might be the firstborn among many brothers. Romans 8:29 (NIV)

O~ I recently heard a message on what God has planned for each of us and that is that we be transformed to be more and more like Christ. It’s his agenda, His plan, not just for our sake but for His sake, the sake of the Kingdom, and the salvation of all.

A~ I was saved about 16 years ago. At that time, God showed Himself to me very clearly through the person of Jesus. He drew me in and I surrendered my life to Him. At that moment, the Holy Spirit came into my heart and began immediately to transform me. My priorities began to change along with my passions, my attitudes, my speech, my thoughts, and my actions. It was like my eyes were opened to a whole new world as He prepared me to be set apart and equipped me to be an ambassador for Christ here on earth.

I remember saying to God, in prayer, take all of me and change me fully. Yet, there were parts of who I was that I, for some reason, chose to hang on to. I kept them for myself. Over the years, one by one, these parts that I held, tight fisted, have been released as I have learned more about who Jesus is and as I have trusted God more with my heart. Through His word and the work of the Holy Spirit in me, He continues to show me more and more and I have to make the choice, each time, to either say, “No, I will not let that idea or attitude or sin go, “ or, “Yes! Make me more like you!”

Whatever I think my plan is for my Christian walk, His agenda is and will always be to save me for Himself and transform me more and more into the likeness of Christ. He will not change me against my will. I must cooperate.

P~ Lord, I thank You that You have saved me and for the gift of Your Holy Spirit living in me. Thank You that You love me enough to not leave me the way You found me! Transform me as You see fit, molding me and shaping me for Your purposes. Lord, only You know my heart fully. Expose those areas in my heart that I keep closed off to You so that, one by one, I can open them up to You.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on May 27, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

