May 26 Proverbs 1,2,3; Romans 7

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

My Source For Wisdom | Michelle Myers

S~ Only the LORD gives wisdom; he gives knowledge and understanding. Proverbs 1:6 (NCV)

O~ If only the LORD gives wisdom, then we have to have a pretty tight relationship with Him to know what is wise.

A~ Sometimes I think I hear God speak clearly to me.  Other times, I have a hard time distinguishing between His word and what people are saying.  Then there are times when I am angry and I hear his voice so clearly; yet I don’t follow Him, my emotions take over, and I go my own direction with my words, my voice tone, and my body language.  That is clearly not wise, and usually does not end well.

P~ Thank you God for your grace.  Help me distinguish between your wisdom and that of people/worldly wisdom.  Then help me carry out your word, by taking the time I need to decompress.  This will help me use kind words, keep a calm voice tone, and exhibit loving gestures.

Confidence| Jill Terry

S~ For the LORD will be your confidence And will keep your foot from being caught. Proverbs 3:26 (NAS)

O~ God will hold me up and make me strong when I doubt myself or need help.

A~ I don’t have great self confidence. I was mercilessly bullied for 2.5 years when I was a kid. I finally transferred schools and the bullying stopped. But the damage was done. The bullying did things to my psyche that I still haven’t recovered from completely. I was so desperate to have friends that I chose the worst possible kids to befriend, other kids who were as emotionally damaged as me. I made some terrible choices. Some of those poor choices followed me for years.

I still after 30 plus years find myself doubting people, their intentions and situations that I find myself in. My sweet husband has told me for years that I need to believe in myself, my capabilities and the fact that my friends really are my friends and not just because they feel sorry for me. I have been really working on trying to be more confident and then I read this verse! It blew me away.

God is my confidence. Wow just wow. I don’t need to doubt myself or question motives. I just need to remember God’s got this. God is my confidence. When I trust in Him, the rest will come.

P~ Thank you Lord for having confidence in me when I have such a hard time having it in myself.

In My Weakness | Joni Tyner

S~ And the Holy Spirit helps us in our weakness. For example, we don’t know what God wants us to pray for. But the Holy Spirit prays for us with groanings that cannot be expressed in words. Romans 8:26  (NLT)

O~ 1.True believers are sealed with the Holy Spirit when they believe. (Eph 1:13-14)  He (The Holy Spirit) is our helper.  He was given to us as a gift to help us.

  1. We can’t be good at everything.  We are given certain gifts and our personalities bend us a certain way. We may be really good in one area of obedience and weaker in another. ( Romans 12:6-8) That is why God gives us the Holy Spirit.To help us.
  2. Sometimes life is hard. Crazy hard. Overwhelming. It can overtake us and collapse us so that we can’t even talk, the words can’t be formed.  Our minds, at that moment, can’t even pray, we simply call out, “Jesus”… and we cry and groan and need to be held by our loving Comforter, the Holy Spirit.

 

A~ I was recently on an airplane and a medical emergency developed and they called out to passengers with medical training to help a fellow passenger.  I responded as well as a couple of other passengers who initially appeared to want to take over and make decisions. I have always struggled with my confidence in some areas of my nursing abilities and so I let them take over and I went and sat back down.  My husband gently encouraged me to go back and be available. So I did. I got close to her face and began to comfort and encourage her.  She was quite elderly and was traveling alone.  I stayed with her and she started feeling better about 20 minutes.  I assured her would stay with her until we reached her destination. (her daughter was picking her up at the airport).  I sat down next to her, buckled in, and became her travel buddy.  As she began to feel better, she began to talk…and talk… and talk.  She really quite lonely and seemed to really enjoy my company.  The other responders quickly took off after she seemed to come around.  I simply stayed.

After about 1 hour, she suddenly became ill again and i needed to lay her down and put oxygen on her.  I was able to call her daughter on her cell phone and update her on what was happening and give reassurance. The emergency team met us at the gate and took her away in the ambulance. Sorry to leave you hanging,  but I don’t know the end of the story, either!

As I reflected on this situation the next morning in church, I thought about this verse.  I was initially lacking confidence in my own ability. I didn’t think I had anything to offer and I backed away.  I believe the Holy Spirit knew that Sue (the passenger) needed me and nudged my husband to nudge me to go back.  He was there helping me be what she needed at that moment.  She didn’t lots of high tech medical intervention, (besides, there isn’t anything much on an airplane, just say’n!!)– she needed my gift of encouragement and my natural ability to love and support her.  I was simply responding in a natural way to how the Lord has gifted me.  I initially didn’t know what to do, but the Holy Spirit empowered  me to be there for her. My confidence became stronger and stronger on the flight as I realized I was a great nurse through His Power.   My confidence wasn’t in myself, it was because of Him.

P~ Dear Lord, thank you for this Divine Appointment that I didn’t even realize I was for me.   I was initially frustrated with myself that I didn’t know what to do, that I didn’t pray as I should have.  Yet, You give me grace, You step in and help me in my weakness.  I’m so thankful that I have You, I have so many weaknesses and see the many, many times You’ve intervened for me and brought Glory to a bad situation. I pray for Sue.  I don’t know much about her spiritual life or her current condition, yet You know everything about her.  I pray that You pursue her heart and use every Divine appointment to bring her to You, I pray she is feeling better and not having any serious health issues.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on May 26, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

