May 20 1 Kings 6; 2 Chronicles 3; Psalms 97; Romans 1

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan 

Saved for Him | Robin Laney

S~ Through him and for his name’s sake, we received grace and apostleship to call people from among all the Gentiles to the obedience that comes from faith. Romans 1:5 (NIV)

O~ I first read this verse some time ago and I was struck with the revelation that my salvation was not all about me. I found myself, at that time, resting in his grace, lounging in my assurance of an eternity secured with him. It was wonderful and amazing and I was so grateful for it. But then “for His name’s sake” hit me like a brick upside the head.

I always knew that I was created by God and for relationship with him and that His love for me was so great that He would sacrifice His son for my salvation. It never occurred to me that He had a purpose for my salvation as well. It is not only an incredible gift but also a huge responsibility. We are set apart so that we can share His with others so that they, too, can experience His love, receive His forgiveness, be saved through His grace and be sent out to share with others. It’s a mighty and wonderful plan.

A~ I am so thankful to be part of God’s mighty plan for the salvation of all people. I am humbled that He would choose me and I am reminded by this verse to to sit back and lounge in His grace but to live every day for His name’s sake.

P~ Lord, thank You for Your amazing grace and the great purpose you have for my life. Help me, today and every day, to see the opportunities You have for me to share Your message of forgiveness so that others might experience the full life You have for them and so that they, too, will join in Your army fighting for the salvation of every person.

Encourage each other | Nikki Metzger

S~ When we get together,  I want to encourage you in your faith, but I also want to be encouraged by yours.  ~ Romans 1:12 (NLT)

O/A~ Pure and simple point.  When we get together,  I want to encourage you and be encouraged by you.

P~ Father, as I get together with others today, tomorrow,  for whatever reason,  can you please help me encourage them and for me to be encouraged by them?  Thank You! In Jesus’ Name I pray!

Helping Each Other | Michelle Myers

S~ I mean that I want us to help each other with the faith we have.  Your faith will help me, and my faith will help you. Romans 1:12 (NCV)

O~ As Christians, we are not supposed to judge, argue, and bicker with one another; but help each other.

A~ Recently, I have had opportunity after opportunity to talk with people about sex addiction.  I have been able to tell them my story.  I have been able to assure them, that whatever emotions they are feeling, they are a normal reaction to finding out that someone they cared for, loved, and trusted has this terrible secret and addiction.  I have been able to assure them, that even though they are confused and feel as if they are going crazy; they are not.  I have been able to explain, from what I have researched and experienced, some of how this addiction has impacted their loved one’s thinking and behavior.  I have been able to assure them that this did not happen as a result of something they did or did not do.

Regardless of what their husband does or does not do, I hope to be able to help them understand, that God has a good plan for their life.  They can survive this, whether they stay in the marriage or not.  I want them to know, that God created them for a specific purpose and they have value.  I hope to show them that they can have peace in their mind, heart, and life.

I also want them to know, that it is not easy.  It is hard work.  It can be painful work.  But it is so worth it in the end.  Not because it saved a marriage or everything was fixed (because it is not); but because it has helped me grow and progress more into the person God created me to be.  It has also cultivated a relationship with Him, that goes deeper than any relationship that I have had with another human being.

And, on days that I struggle with knowing these things for myself; I have someone who is also married to a sex addict that I talk and meet with.  She reassures me.  She talks me through things.  She gently points out where my perception, perspective, words, attitude, behavior, etc.; may not be exactly on target.  My husband also has someone who has walked a similar path, that he goes to, when he is struggling.

P~ Thank you God for Victoria.  She has helped me get “unstuck” in so many ways.  Thank you for giving me opportunities to help other hurting people.  This also helps my faith grow and helps me heal.  Please continue to give me strength, wisdom, and guidance when it comes to navigating the road of addiction and in helping others find their way along the same road.

Faith is Life! | Kim Chipman

S~ This Good News tells us how God makes us right in his sight. This is accomplished from start to finish by faith. As the Scriptures say, “It is through faith that a righteous person has life.” Romans 1:17 (NLT)

O~ Paul is writing to the Romans. He starts by reminding them how important faith is – it is how we are made right with God. Then Paul quotes from Habakkuk 2:4 which says “Look at the proud! They trust in themselves, and their lives are crooked. But the righteous will live by their faithfulness to God.”

A~ Faith is the key! Not faith PLUS *anything*. Just faith. This makes the Good news available to EVERYONE!! There are no prerequisites – just have faith. Faith is simple, but not easy. SO MANY things about walking with You are exactly that – simple to understand so anyone can come to You. But there is an enemy and my human nature that make growing in You – growing deep, abiding faith and trust – not easy! But SO worth it!

P~ Thank You for the gifts of the fruit of Your Spirit that multiply in my life when I choose faith. I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

 

Posted on May 20, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

