May 19 1 Kings 4,5; 2 Chronicles 2; Psalms 101; 2 Thessalonians 3

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

All Good Things Are From You | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ He has given David a wise son, gifted with skill and understanding… 2 Chronicles 2:12  (NLT)

O~ Solomon did great things, had lots of wisdom, was very organized.  And this all came from God!

A~ I want these things too, but sometimes I chase these things strongly and bypass God.  Then these things become my focus.

P~ Dear Father, all these good things you provide for me.  Forgive me for chasing after things and making them more important.  Thank you for showing me this and bringing my focus back on you.  Amen.

Best Defense | Jill Terry

S~ But the Lord is faithful; He will strengthen you and guard you from the evil one. 2 Thessalonians 3:3 (NLT)

O~ My study Bible says that a mighty battle is being waged by invisible spiritual powers. Our best defense is faith and prayer.

We have God on our side, so we may suffer but we will ultimately be victorious.

A~ God is faithful and eternal. The question is… Am I as faithful to Him? I so desire to be, but I often fall short. Sometimes, I get so bogged down in the daily mess of life that I forget to turn to the only One who can solve all of my problems and calm all of my fears.

I can tell the difference in my responses to daily life when I have neglected to spend time with God. When I neglect God, my life seems to fall apart in an instant. When I spend time with God, my life is sill messy but I feel peace.

P~ Thank you Lord for never giving up on me. For always being there even when I am not as present as I should be. Amen

Lead My Heart | Kim Chipman

S~ May the Lord lead your hearts into a full understanding and expression of the love of God and the patient endurance that comes from Christ. 2 Thessalonians 3:5 (NLT)

O/A~ *a full understanding of the love of God – yes, please! I feel like I get glimpses and at times a greater understanding of Your love. To have FULL understanding of Your love would be amazing!

*a full expression of the love of God – yes, please! I’m sure if I really grasped Your amazing love fully then it’s full expression would be unavoidable. I want my life to express Your love!

*patient endurance that comes from Christ – yes, please! Life can be HARD. I need Your patient endurance! I want to run my race well and I need your power to do it. I want to not only endure to the end, but do it with a patient, loving heart.

P~ Oh, how I need You! I can’t do any of this on my own. This is my prayer today – lead my heart. I love You!

My Responsibility | Michelle Myers

S~ We hear that some people in your group refuse to work.  They do nothing but busy themselves in other people’s lives.  We command those people and beg them in the Lord Jesus Christ to work quietly and earn their own food. 2 Thessalonians 3:11-13 (NCV)

O~ Each one of us has responsibility.

A~ In regards to labor, being responsible for my own work has never really been an issue.  I did not have many people who were going to help me, let alone, do the work for me.  Over time, I have realized and learned how other people have relied upon to do their work.  This has left me out of balance and unhealthy.

In trying to understand why this pattern has repeated itself in multiple relationships, I have had to increase my focus.  The task or physical labor, is not the only aspect that I need to address on a daily, moment by moment basis.  I also need to do emotional and spiritual work.  If I don’t, I won’t heal, get healthy, or be the person God created me to be.  This is how I will “earn” the “food” of peace, serenity, and being the best person I can be.  This is how, I will be able to look back on my life, and not have too many regrets.

What I have found is that emotional and spiritual work can be WAY harder than physical labor.  It is also why many people don’t take responsibility for doing it.  They look toward others to blame.  They busy themselves in other peoples lives, by focusing on their flaws, short comings, problems, etc.

I have made a great deal of progress in figuring this aspect of people out.  It is often painful to be on the receiving end of their blame, judgment, and criticism.  It is also hard to watch them not make much progress in their lives, drive people who love them away, and cheat themselves out of becoming the best person God created them to be.

P~ Thank you God for helping me grow in this area and see YOUR truth.  I know I am not perfect.  When my heart has been wounded, I can respond in an unloving manner.  Help me do my part in responding in a loving manner.  Also, please give me the discernment I need….moment by moment.  I need to remember,  that for some people, it doesn’t matter how I respond…their reaction to what I say, do, or think, will be the same.  I am not responsible for how they respond.  I am only responsible for the way I do.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Posted on May 19, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. That was my verse today, too, Kim! 🙂
    Love you girls so much! Thank you for dedication and obedience to this ministry – He is reaching more people through you than you could ever imagine! May God bless you and keep you in His perfect and loving peace!

Leave a Reply

