May 17 1 Kings 2; 1 Chronicles 29; Psalms 95; 2 Thessalonians 1

Check out our resources page! We have printable reading plans that include a few verses, a couple chapters, or the full reading plan. Each plan is in the same portions of Scripture each day. Get the whole family reading! Start small, but start now!

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan 

Thanking God | Jill Terry

S~ Let us come to him with thanksgiving. Let us sing psalms of praise to him. Psalm 95:2 (NLT)

O~ Come to God with thanks during the good and the bad. We are to continually thank Him for it all, no matter how hard.

A~ Through it all, I am supposed to thank God. I am to thank Him through the troubles with my oldest child. I am to thank Him through my moms prolonged illness. I am to thank Him through my chronic illness. I am to thank Him for the joys in my life. I am to thank Him for my husband, my home and my family. God deserves thanksgiving and praise for it all because without Him, I am nothing.

P~ Thank you Lord for the trials and the joys of my life. Thank you for Your presence and Your grace. In Jesus name I pray. Amen

When I Hear His Voice | Kelley DeAses

S~  Today, if you hear his voice, do not harden your hearts as you did at Meribah, as you did that day at Massah in the desert.  Psalm 95:8 (NIV)

O~  My study Bible provides this annotation in connection with this verse:  “Meribah means quarreling and strife and Massah means testing.  Both refer to where Moses drew water from the rock to satisfy the thirst of the grumbling Israelites.  These places symbolize a generation of unbelieving Israelites.”

A~  When I hear God’s voice, what is my response?  When I have a morning where I wake up early to sit with Him and my open Bible, and He offers me a timely or instructive word, I sometimes get caught up just in knowing He sees me and cares enough to speak into my circumstance at all.  As an extrovert, I have the tendency to want to run and find someone to tell: “God spoke to me!  God spoke to me!”  But that would be to miss the point.  The point is not so much that He spoke to my heart as what did He say.  If I am not pondering those words and then doing what He has told me to do, He might as well not have spoken at all.

P~  Father, I don’t think my heart is hard toward You, but maybe too soft (?).  I would rather revel in the glow of feeling Your presence and hearing Your voice than carry out the assignment you may have imparted.  Help me to be a better doer and not simply a hearer of the Word. (James 1:22).

Perspective is Everything – Robin Laney

S~ Therefore, among God’s churches we boast about your perseverance and faith in all the persecutions and trials you are enduring. All this is evidence that God’s judgment is right, and as a result you will be counted worthy of the Kingdom of God, for which you are suffering. 2 Thessalonians 1:4-5 (NIV)

O~ This life has its joys but it also has great disappointments and many trials and difficulties. Jesus told the disciples that they would have troubles and that a life lived following him would not be easy or comfortable. That goes for us, too. We have a formidable foe who seeks to convince us that God is not for us, that following Christ isn’t worth it and even that there really is no God at all. When we are living our lives all out for the Kingdom of God, we have targets on us. The enemy doesn’t want more people to seek God or follow Christ. He will pour on the messes and play with our minds working hard to get u to turn away from God. If he succeeds, there is one less of us to fight against.

I love how God deals with Satan’s attempts to destroy us. He doesn’t fret about it or count us as collateral damage and move on. He fights for us, giving us more faith when we ask and using each struggle to the Kingdom’s advantage. When we suffer, others can be comforted as we share our testimonies, our character is built up and God’s good use of our struggles helps build our faith in Him. He also promises that He will pay back the trouble to those who have troubled us and he will give us relief one day when we join Him in Heaven

A~ If you are fighting hard for the Kingdom and seeking God but also suffering in your trials, if people are cruel to you, if life is extremely hard, be sure that it is not God who is down on you. It is the enemy persecuting you for your faith in Christ. When you are a force for the Kingdom, God will use your troubles for good when the enemy means it for evil.

Perspective is everything. Persevere and have faith that God has your back even when it doesn’t seem like it. He is good and just and sovereign. In the end, He wins. Our lives are not about us but about Him and His purposes. Following Christ is a pouring out our lives as a living sacrifice so that all will come to know Him.

P~ Father, thank You for loving us so much that You would sacrifice Your Son for our sakes. You are a faithful and loving Father who not only equips us for the mission You have given us but also uses every evil thing the enemy throws at us for good. Give us more faith to believe and give us the strength to persevere, keeping our eye on the prize and to not give up so that the desire of Your heart that all will be saved comes to be.

The Big Picture | Michelle Myers

S~That is why we always pray for you, asking our God to help you live the kind of life he called you to live.  We pray that with his power God will help you do the good things you want and perform the works that come from your faith.” 2 Thessalonians 1:11 (NCV)

O/A~ I could feel this scripture pulling at me, but I had to wait and ask God to show me, what He was trying to say to me.  In the middle of doing one of many tasks that were on my list for the day, it hit me.  My “to do list”, my kids, my husband, slow drivers, slow clerks, cats that want attention….anybody and everything can easily bring about anxiety in me…..when I focus on MY list.

God didn’t call me to live life off of a list, working to complete one task after another.  I know this.  I can see the big picture.  Yet, I need him to remind me to keep my eyes focused on Him and the big picture.  He is much more concerned about how I act, the words I say, or the attitude I display; when my “to do” list gets held up or thrown off track.  The action, words, and attitude are going to say way more about my faith and produce way more fruit from it; than anything on MY list.

P~ Thank you God for giving me the ability to see the big picture.  When I start to turn my attention away from you and the big picture, please remind me, that YOU are the big picture.  This helps me put things into perspective, helps keep the anxiety away, and helps me remember the life that YOU called me to live.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

 

Posted on May 17, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

